Did you know that reading reduces stress?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The True Story Behind Alfred Hitchcock's Psycho - Stranger Than Fiction #1 - cover

The True Story Behind Alfred Hitchcock's Psycho - Stranger Than Fiction #1

Fergus Mason

Publisher: Absolute Crime

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

For movie buffs Alfred Hitchcock will always be associated with a long list of Hollywood classics. Between 1921 and 1976 the English director known as the Master of Suspense released 52 feature films, many of which are still thrilling new audiences today. To most people, though, he's best known for a film that was very different – Psycho. 
 
The most fascinating part of the movie, however, is actually the real story behind it. This book tells the chilling true story behind of the movie.

Other books that might interest you

  • Mandala Zentangle - The Mindful Way to Creativity - cover

    Mandala Zentangle - The Mindful...

    Jane Marbaix

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Zentangle is the drawing art form taking the world by storm. Easy to do and immensely enjoyable,  the Zentangle method can make artists of us all. To create artworks the Zentangle way, you need no drawing skills. The steps are easily taught in a few simple lessons In this follow up to her first book, the immensely successful Zentangle, Certified Zentangle Teacher Jane Marbaix explores the artistic possibilities of Zendalas and shows how beautiful and rewarding artworks can be created from the cosmic forms inherent in mandalas. The mandala-like imagery emphasizes the meditative and therapeutic nature of the Zentangle method.
    Show book
  • The Baddest Bitch in the Room - A Memoir - cover

    The Baddest Bitch in the Room -...

    Sophia Chang

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This book is powerful as hell and the author is a total badass. 
    A poignant blend of memoir and actionable inspiration that goes beyond stories of celebrities and eschews insider gossip for a clear-eyed and open-hearted perspective on motherhood, desire and sexuality, aging, music, and professional life as an Asian woman in a male-dominated industry.
    This author is a juggernaut of self-promotion, confident, well-spoken, experienced, widely and deeply well-connected, and frequently speaks to audiences of hundreds of people (most recently at places like Spotify corporate, Conde Nast corporate, etc) 
    The marketplace has seen outstanding sales for books like The Last Black Unicorn, Let Love Have the Last Word, and Go Ahead in the Rain in recent years; however, there are still very few memoirs published by powerful Asian American women in the arts. The Baddest Bitch in the Room is groundbreaking as one of the only books at the intersection of memoir, personal growth, and inspiration written by a powerful, middle-aged, Asian American pioneer of the music business 
    Catapult is publishing this as TPO after Reese Witherspoon personally persuaded the author to take an audio-only deal with Hello Sunshine / Audible as part of the partnership's 6-title audio-only publication in September 2019; Six weeks after the audio book was released, THE BADDEST BITCH IN THE ROOM was still a #1 Audible bestseller; so this book is also groundbreaking in its very publishing model, an angle we'll be exploring
    To appeal to readers of Brene Brown, Michelle Obama, Nicole Chung, or Elizabeth Gilbert's Big Magic; it's also for fans of hip-hop, including artists Wu-Tang Clan, A Tribe Called Quest, Raphael Saadiq, D'Angelo, and for fans of popular music history 
    Sophia Chang is a Korean-Canadian who left Vancouver for New York in 1987, when she first worked as an assistant to Paul Simon, and from there built her storied career at such record companies as Atlantic, Jive, and Universal Music Group. In 1993, Sophia met a Staten Island rapper named Prince Rakeem, now known as the RZA, founder of the Wu-Tang Clan, perhaps the most revered and influential rap group in hip-hop history. This meeting not only led to a deep, lasting friendship between Sophia and the Wu-Tang Clan that continues to this day, but also took Sophia’s life in new directions. Since then, she has managed Wu-Tang members ODB, GZA, RZA as well as Q-Tip, A Tribe Called Quest, Raphael Saadiq, and D'Angelo. In 1995, Chang left the music business to be trained in kung fu and to manage the USA Shaolin Temple with her then partner with whom she has two children. She currently splits her time between LA and New York
    Catapult's edition will feature expanded content and extensive visuals
    Author will speak at major venues and corporate partners (Spotify, MailChimp, Google, Apple), and we're pitching 92nd St Y, Los Angeles Public Library, Asian American museums and cultural institutions
    Show book
  • Jonas Mekas - Interviews - cover

    Jonas Mekas - Interviews

    Gregory R. Smulewicz-Zucker

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A refugee from post–World War II Europe who immigrated to the US in 1949, Jonas Mekas (1922–2019) became one of America's foremost champions of independent cinema and one of its most innovative filmmakers. An admired poet in his native Lithuania, Mekas began recording his life on film shortly after his arrival in New York. Through his work as the author of the Village Voice’s “Movie Journal” column, editor of Film Culture magazine, and founder of Anthology Film Archives and the Film-Makers’ Cooperative, Mekas played a vital role in the promotion of avant-garde and independent films. His early films, Guns of the Trees and The Brig, challenged the structure of traditional narrative filmmaking. He is best known for his “diary films,” including Walden (Diaries, Notes, and Sketches); Reminiscences of a Journey to Lithuania; and As I Was Moving Ahead Occasionally I Saw Brief Glimpses of Beauty. His films, writings, and the institutions he built have influenced generations of filmmakers, poets, artists, musicians, critics, and scholars. In Jonas Mekas: Interviews, volume editor Gregory R. Smulewicz-Zucker collects eighteen interviews covering almost sixty years of the filmmaker’s career. Mekas discusses his remarkable life as a refugee from Nazi- and Soviet-occupied Lithuania, his role as one of the major figures in the development of the American avant-garde, and his thoughts about his own work. In conversation with scholars, journalists, and other prominent artists, Mekas speaks of his passion for artistic expression and uncompromising vision for a liberated cinema. These interviews preserve Mekas’s voice so that it might speak to future generations of artists and intellectuals.
    Show book
  • The Grace of the Italian Renaissance - cover

    The Grace of the Italian...

    Ita Mac Carthy

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    How grace shaped the Renaissance in Italy"Grace" emerges as a keyword in the culture and society of sixteenth-century Italy. The Grace of the Italian Renaissance explores how it conveys and connects the most pressing ethical, social and aesthetic concerns of an age concerned with the reactivation of ancient ideas in a changing world. The book reassesses artists such as Francesco del Cossa, Raphael and Michelangelo and explores anew writers like Castiglione, Ariosto, Tullia d'Aragona and Vittoria Colonna. It shows how these artists and writers put grace at the heart of their work.Grace, Ita Mac Carthy argues, came to be as contested as it was prized across a range of Renaissance Italian contexts. It characterised emerging styles in literature and the visual arts, shaped ideas about how best to behave at court and sparked controversy about social harmony and human salvation. For all these reasons, grace abounded in the Italian Renaissance, yet it remained hard to define. Mac Carthy explores what grace meant to theologians, artists, writers and philosophers, showing how it influenced their thinking about themselves, each other and the world.Ambitiously conceived and elegantly written, this book portrays grace not as a stable formula of expression but as a web of interventions in culture and society.
    Show book
  • SAP MM TCodes - cover

    SAP MM TCodes

    Gaurav Mehra

    • 0
    • 9
    • 1
    SAP MM is known as SAP Material Management system. SAP MM role in business process is as follows: 
    A business process in SAP is termed as “Module”. 
    SAP Materials Management (MM) is a part of Logistics area and helps to manage the procurement activity of an organization from procurement. 
    It supports all aspects of material management (planning, control etc). 
    It is the backbone of the Logistics area which incorporates modules like Sales and Distribution, Production Planning, Plant Maintenance, Project Systems, Warehouse Management which are extremely obsessed on Materials Management module.
    Show book
  • Zentangle Basics Expanded Workbook Edition - cover

    Zentangle Basics Expanded...

    Suzanne McNeill

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The book that started it all—and inspired 9 sequels—is back in a new edition
     
    This series from the #1 bestselling tangle author is leading the Zentangle® trend
     
    Fox Chapel has sold more than 500,000 copies of Zentangle® books
     
    Will fit in paper departments in craft stores, a prime location
     
    Expanded workbook edition offers 16 new interactive bonus pages
     
    25 original tangles
    Show book