As many books as you want!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Developmental Mindset - The Revival of Financial Activism in South Korea - cover

Developmental Mindset - The Revival of Financial Activism in South Korea

Elizabeth Thurbon

Publisher: Cornell University Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Asian financial crisis of 1997–1998 was supposed to be the death knell for the developmental state. The International Monetary Fund supplied emergency funds for shattered economies but demanded that states liberalize financial markets and withdraw from direct involvement in the economy. Financial liberalization was meant to spell the end of strategic industry policy and the state-directed "policy lending" it involved. Yet, largely unremarked by analysts, South Korea has since seen a striking revival of financial activism. Policy lending by state-owned development banks has returned the state to the core of the financial system. Korean development banks now account for one quarter of all loans and take the lead in providing low-cost finance to local manufacturing firms in strategic industries. Elizabeth Thurbon argues that an ideational analysis can help explain this renewed financial activism. She demonstrates the presence of a "developmental mindset" on the part of political leaders and policy elites in Korea. This mindset involves shared ways of thinking about the purpose of finance and its relationship to the productive economy. The developmental mindset has a long history in Korea but is subject to the vicissitudes of political and economic circumstances. Thurbon traces the structural, institutional, political, and ideational factors that have strengthened and at times weakened the developmental consensus, culminating in the revival of financial activism in Korea. In doing so, Thurbon offers a novel defense of the developmental state idea and a new framework for investigating the emergence and evolution of developmental states. She also canvasses the implications of the Korean experience for wider debates concerning the future of financial activism in an era of financialization, energy insecurity, and climate change.

Other books that might interest you

  • At Wit's End - The Deadly Discourse on the Jewish Joke - cover

    At Wit's End - The Deadly...

    Louis Kaplan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This book explores the fascinating discourse on Jewish wit in the twentieth century when the Jewish joke became the subject of serious humanistic inquiry and inserted itself into the cultural and political debates among Germans and Jews against the ideologically-charged backdrop of anti-Semitism, the Jewish question, and the Holocaust.
    Show book
  • Theory of Thought - Symbolism - cover

    Theory of Thought - Symbolism

    Jason Shaw

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Theory of Thought presents a simplified way of understanding the impact of symbolism upon society. It employs a new methodology of using basic shapes and concepts to reveal a unique theory of symbols helping to explain human philosophy, religion, and mathematics. 
     
    It explains how all things and ideas are created and governed by some basic patterns. Discover the simple architecture of the 'hyperdimensional' symbols that rule the world and their forces of attraction that pull directly on the minds of all people.
    Show book
  • Imagining the Future of Climate Change - World-Making through Science Fiction and Activism - cover

    Imagining the Future of Climate...

    Shelley Streeby

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From the 1960s to the present, activists, artists, and science fiction writers have imagined the consequences of climate change and its impacts on our future. Authors such as Octavia Butler and Leslie Marmon Silko, movie directors such as Bong Joon-Ho, and creators of digital media such as the makers of the Maori web series Anamata Future News have all envisioned future worlds during and after environmental collapse, engaging audiences to think about the earth’s sustainability. As public awareness of climate change has grown, so has the popularity of works of climate fiction that connect science with activism. Today, real-world social movements helmed by Indigenous people and people of color are leading the way against the greatest threat to our environment: the fossil fuel industry. Their stories and movements—in the real world and through science fiction—help us all better understand the relationship between activism and culture, and how both can be valuable tools in creating our future. Imagining the Future of Climate Change introduces readers to the history and most significant flashpoints in climate justice through speculative fictions and social movements, exploring post-disaster possibilities and the art of world-making.
    Show book
  • Teaching a Stone to Talk - Expeditions and Encounters - cover

    Teaching a Stone to Talk -...

    Annie Dillard

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Here, in this compelling assembly of writings, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Annie Dillard explores the world of natural facts and human meanings.
    Show book
  • Blackwatertown - cover

    Blackwatertown

    Paul Waters

    • 0
    • 5
    • 0
    Blackwatertown is atmospheric crime fiction that will appeal to fans of Maurice Leitch, James Ellroy, Andrea Camilleri and Lee Child. 
    Author available for events, talks and signings in the UK and Ireland – and by arrangement elsewhere. 
    Twitter: @paulwaters99 
    Facebook: @paulwatersauthor 
    Instagram: @paul_waters_author
    Show book
  • Mind Hacking - How to Change Your Mind Become a Master of Your Emotions Achieve the Goals You Want & Start Living to Your Full Potential - cover

    Mind Hacking - How to Change...

    Tiffany Adams

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Are you sick and tired of watching your life pass you by? Pay close attention here, because the life of your dreams is closer than you might think…
     
    We've all been there, life is overwhelming, complicated, confusing, and yes, within it all you still seemingly have all that a person should ever need to feel happy and fulfilled.
     
    But for some reason, you just don't feel this way.
     
    Hours spent trying to figure it out, to no avail. Days and weeks, even months on end of you trying technique after technique and personal growth tactic after personal growth tactic - but still nothing.
     
    There's an emptiness inside of you that you can't seem to escape and no matter what you do, it just seems to keep getting worse.
     
    If this sounds eerily familiar to you, I'd like you to take a moment with me here as we acknowledge together that it doesn't have to be this way.
     
    You can have the life of your dreams. You can master your emotions and you can begin honestly living to your fullest potential.
     
    Or maybe none of the above resonates with you at all, maybe you love your life and are simply trying to upgrade the way your mind functions.
     
    In either case, the answer to a life of fulfillment, gratitude, and undeniable happiness protruding from every pore of your being is simply this - you need to understand your mind.
     
    Once you understand it, you can hack it. You can change your mind in whatever fashion you like, and begin thinking however you want to think, about whatever you want to think about.
     
    In Mind Hacking, you'll discover:
     
    - The groundbreaking truth of your emotions and how they affect your thought patterns
     
    - The most straightforward guide to facing your emotional triggers and rewriting your thought process loops that is out there
     
    - Powerful tools for separating yourself from your mind
     
    - How to make a S.M.A.R.T. plan and keep yourself on track with P.A.C.T.
     
    - The ultimate guide to reading someone's mind
     
    - An idiotproof path to rebuilding self-worth
     
    - The stunning science behind Mind Hacking
     
    - The most important things not to do when rewriting your brain, saving you valuable time and energy
     
    … and so much more.
     
    Mind Hacking is the #1 guide to understanding your mind and your emotions so that you can navigate your life in any direction you want.
     
    No more wondering if it's possible, no more daydreaming of a future where things might get easier. No more of this comparing yourself to others and feeling incomplete as a result.
     
    A life of achievement, one where all of your goals and aspirations are a complete and total reality is not the stuff of fiction here folks.
     
    It is yours for the taking - if you would understand your mind and begin to actively take back control.
     
    If you want to leave behind all the nonsense dreaming and instead place yourself inside your fullest potential then check out this guidebook right now.
    Show book