Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Turn of the Tide - The Story of How Margaret Solved Her Problem - cover

The Turn of the Tide - The Story of How Margaret Solved Her Problem

Eleanor H. Porter

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

"The Turn of the Tide" is a 1908 romance novel by Eleanor Emily Hodgman Porter, an American novelist, mostly known for her novels Pollyanna and Just David. Being mostly famous for children prose her romance novels, often full of exciting adventures, like "The Turn of the Tide", were also a great success. 
Available since: 11/26/2019.
Print length: 370 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Dark Flood - cover

    The Dark Flood

    Deon Meyer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Disappearances ensnare two South African detectives in a web of corruption in this stunning thriller by the Barry Award–winning author of The Last Hunt.   Assigned to investigate the disappearance of a young university student and brilliant computer programmer detectives Benny Griessel and Vaughn Cupido hit dead ends. But the trail—including the death of a fellow police officer—leads to a series of gun heists and the alarming absence of certain weapons from the police registry, the ramifications of which could be devastating.   As Griessel and Cupido intensify their search, real estate agent Sandra Steenberg confronts her own crisis: state corruption has caused the real estate market to crash, exacerbating the dire financial straits facing her family. She puts aside her misgivings to work for a notorious billionaire and playboy, only to have him disappear on her. Now Griessel is forced to juggle between the man’s bitter wife, protective lawyer, and Steenberg, the last person to see him alive.   With propulsive and intricate plotting, sharp prose, and an ending that takes one’s breath away just when the dust seems to have settled, The Dark Flood spotlights the state capture and corruption that has overtaken the country, lending political weight to a powerful story.  Praise for the Benny Griessel series   “[An] outstanding series.” —The Wall Street Journal   “Deon Meyer is one of the unsung masters.” —Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times–bestselling author   “The undisputed champion of South African crime. Meyer grabs you by the throat and never lets you go.” —Wilbur Smith, New York Times–bestselling author
    Show book
  • The King's Witch - cover

    The King's Witch

    Tracy Borman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In the acclaimed historian’s debut novel, a lady-in-waiting in the court of King James is caught up in the Gunpowder Plot of 1605.England, 1603. Nursing Queen Elizabeth through her last days, court healer Frances Gorges dreams of her parents’ country estate, where she first learned to use the medicinal secrets of flowers and herbs. Frances is happy to stay at home when King James of Scotland succeeds to the throne of England. His court may be shockingly decadent, but his intolerant Puritanism sees witchcraft in many of the old customs—punishable by death. When her ambitious uncle sends Frances back to the royal palace as a nanny to the princess, she is a ready target for the twisted scheming of the Privy Seal, Lord Cecil. As a dark campaign to destroy both King and Parliament gains momentum, Frances is surrounded by danger. She finding happiness only with the King’s precocious daughter, and with Tom Wintour, the one courtier she feels she can trust. But even he has secrets to hide…
    Show book
  • Broken - A Heart Stopping Psychological Thriller with a Killer Twist - cover

    Broken - A Heart Stopping...

    Betsy Reavley

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A hauntingly horrific tale of a troubled young woman who escapes—into a nightmare . . . 
     
    Not everyone can be saved . . . 
     
    Annabel, a troubled young woman trying to put her life back together, decides to take a trip to England’s coast to clear her head and get away from her mother. But when she arrives in the little seaside town, she discovers a series of grisly murders have taken place and police are searching for a twisted killer. After a fateful meeting with a mysterious stranger, Jude, the course of her life changes, and soon she finds peace in a world away from the misery she has known. But when Jude comes under suspicion from the police, and her idyllic world is threatened, Annabel’s happy existence starts to become a nightmare. Can Annabel escape her painful past or is her fate sealed? And why is she haunted by horrific visions when she seems on the verge of finding happiness? 
     
    This astonishing novel will take you on a shattering journey through Annabel’s fight for survival and will ask if the greatest threat we pose is to ourselves. 
     
    This is a revised edition of a book previously published as Beneath The Watery Moon. 
     
    Suitable for readers over 18 only. This book contains graphic scenes and of acts of violence which some readers may find disturbing.
    Show book
  • A Slice of Murder - cover

    A Slice of Murder

    Marissa De Luna

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A groom-to-be is cut down at his engagement party, and solving the case won’t be a piece of cake . . . Shilpa Silanki’s talent is making sure that special occasions are accompanied by special cakes, and her first booking after her move to Devon, England—where she’s inherited a house in Otter’s Reach—is a posh engagement party for Mason Connolly and Harriet Drew. Unfortunately, a knife has been used for something other than cutting the cake. Now Shilpa is working to uncover layers of secrets and scandals in hopes of identifying the killer who permanently parted Mason and Harriet—and before she’s done, someone else might get iced . . .
    Show book
  • The Healer's Saga Books One to Three - The Healer's Secret The Healer's Curse and the Healer's Awakening - cover

    The Healer's Saga Books One to...

    Helen Pryke

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The first three books of the enchanting saga exploring the magical and mysterious history of one family rooted in Tuscany. 
     
    The Healer’s Secret 
     
    Jennifer’s life isn’t going as she planned. Fired from her job and on the brink of divorce, her only salvation lies at the bottom of a wine bottle. When her mother insists she get away from everything, Jennifer reluctantly agrees to explore her Italian roots in Tuscany. 
     
    Staying in her family’s centuries-old cottage, she becomes embroiled in a mysterious tragedy involving her great-grandmother. As she delves further into her ancestors’ history, she discovers there is more to her heritage than meets the eye. 
     
    Ghosts from the past could give Jennifer something she thought she’d never have: a future. But that depends on whether she can resist temptation and avoid slipping back into her old ways . . .  
     
    The Healer’s Curse 
     
    The year is 1348, and the plague is set to sweep through England, leaving tragedy in its wake. Unaware of what awaits her, Agnes is in love and betrothed to Ted. But her life is about to be torn apart . . .  
     
    Jennifer’s life has changed for the better since she arrived in Italy. She’s put her past behind her and can finally look forward to a brighter future with boyfriend Francesco and her Italian relatives. If it wasn’t for the disturbing visions she keeps having of a pregnant young girl. To find out who she is, Jennifer knows she must once again travel into the past, but this time she’s afraid she may not come back . . .  
     
    The Healer’s Awakening 
     
    Since Ginevra Innocenti’s death, the cottage has lain empty and abandoned in the woods. Until the day Ginevra’s granddaughter, Sara, sees a dragonfly in the depths of winter. Intrigued, she follows it and discovers the forgotten cottage. When Sara learns that her grandmother was once a healer, a series of events is set in motion that could lead to the end of the family legacy. As long-hidden secrets are revealed, Sara starts to doubt everything she once believed in. Her mind in turmoil, she no longer knows whether she can follow in the footsteps of her ancestors. Disowned by her parents, it’s time to make a difficult decision. But rumours leave Sara fearing for her future. Will the curse of the Innocenti strike her family once more? 
     
    Helen Pryke is also the author of the Maggie Turner mysteries. The Healer Series is a compelling saga with a touch of romance. It’s the perfect read for fans of authors like Philippa Gregory, Lindsey Jayne Ashford and Dinah Jefferies.
    Show book
  • Girl in Bed Three - cover

    Girl in Bed Three

    Sarah Sheridan

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    “Wow . . . had me gripped from the first page . . . I honestly couldn't stop reading.” —Goodreads reviewer, five starsA victim of crime may actually be a criminal in this twisting tale of psychological suspense by the author of Devil’s Play. When Sophie Macreavey wakes up in the hospital, suffering from stab wounds, detectives are quick to question her—hoping to make sense of the horrific scene where she was found. Sophie’s adoptive parents and sister are dead. Her brothers are missing. Sophie can’t remember anything—but reveals the abusive nightmare she’s been through as part of the family. The social worker assigned to her case eventually brings Sophie home, but soon notices discrepancies in Sophie’s story. She claims she hadn’t been allowed to use technology, yet there’s a social media account, extensive messages between herself and a boy, and videos of Sophie online. The more that comes out, the worse it looks for Sophie. She has told some lies. But will the full truth be uncovered?
    Show book