Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The First Accounts of New World - Good Newes From New England Of Plymouth Plantation Mourt's Relation - cover

The First Accounts of New World - Good Newes From New England Of Plymouth Plantation Mourt's Relation

Edward Winslow, William Bradford

Publisher: Madison & Adams Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The First Accounts of New World is a unique collection of the earliest historical accounts from colonial America. It includes three autobiographical works of two prominent colonial leaders, Edward Winslow andWilliam Bradford - Good Newes From New England, Of Plymouth Plantation and Mourt's Relation. These diaries describe the story of the Pilgrims from 1608, when they settled in the Dutch Republic on the European mainland through the 1620 Mayflower voyage to the New World, until the year 1647.
Available since: 07/01/2022.
Print length: 655 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Nose For Trouble - Sotheby’s Lehman Brothers and My Life of Redefining Adversity - cover

    A Nose For Trouble - Sotheby’s...

    Michael Ainslie

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This is the remarkable memoir of Michael Ainslie, a man who has always embraced the adventures and misadventures of business and life. In A Nose for Trouble, he describes his personal experience with several high profile events, including the 2008 bankruptcy filing of Lehman Brothers: He was one of ten people in the Lehman boardroom on the evening of September 14, 2008 who saw firsthand the events that led to the largest bankruptcy filing in US history. And he offers readers an insider’s view of the situations surrounding the price-fixing scandal between Sotheby’s and Christie’s, a scandal that rocked the art world and sent the ex-chair of Sotheby’s to prison.Ainslie also shares about his early beginnings in life; his career as president, CEO, and board member across numerous companies and institutions; and his work to transform kids’ lives through The Posse Foundation. Whether he’s being carried out of his high school graduation on a stretcher, escaping a riot in Vietnam, facing death threats in NYC, battling a worldwide oil embargo, meeting with First Lady Nancy Reagan on the day her husband was shot, or revamping the USTA, Ainslie’s memoir shows that sometimes, the greatest lessons in life are a direct result of the adversities we face.A Nose for Trouble is about accepting a challenge, redefining misfortune, and rising above. In this fascinating life story of leadership and change, Michael Ainslie teaches readers that the best parts of ourselves often come out of our hardest moments.
    Show book
  • Found - A Life in Mountain Rescue - cover

    Found - A Life in Mountain Rescue

    Bree Loewen

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Mountain search-and-rescue volunteer Bree Loewen's to-do list isn't quite the same as most people's. On any given day, it might include:● Go grocery shopping● Bake pie seen on Pinterest● Figure out what to do with my life● Rescue climbers caught in avalanche on Chair Peak● Pick up Vivi at Mom'sA former Mount Rainier climbing ranger and trained leader in mountain search-and-rescue, Bree shares the drama and the camaraderie of this work, as well as the challenges of trying to fit her other roles as wife and mother into what is still largely a masculine environment. In a fearless voice—disarming yet laced with dark humor—Bree guides us through intense recoveries, vivid wilderness landscapes, and the warmth she discovers in motherhood, community, and purpose.
    Show book
  • Resilience - Navigating Life Loss and the Road to Success - cover

    Resilience - Navigating Life...

    Lisa Lisson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An inspiring book for readers of Sheryl Sandberg and Arlene Dickinson
     
    Lisa Lisson’s life seemed perfect: she had married her high school sweetheart, applied her marketing degree to a position at FedEx Express Canada, and risen to become a vice president (and would ultimately become president) of the company. One night, after putting their four children to bed, her husband, Patrick, marvelled that their lives seemed perfectly happy.
     
    Just a few hours later, everything changed.
     
    One moment Lisa was sleeping beside Patrick, and the next, she was kneeling on the floor beside his unconscious body frantically administering CPR. Patrick had had a massive heart attack and was in a coma, and the doctors were blunt: there was no hope. But for the next two years, Lisa stood by his side and awaited a miracle, while continuing to balance life as a high-powered executive and mother of four.
     
    Part leadership guide, part memoir of loss, and part personal empowerment primer on how to achieve your goals no matter what the universe throws at you, Resilience is an inspirational story about how to rise to the top in a man’s world, triumph over adversity, lead a fulfilling life, and live each day with purpose and gratitude.
    Show book
  • The Hour of Land - A Personal Topography of America's National Parks - cover

    The Hour of Land - A Personal...

    Terry Tempest Williams

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    For years, America's national parks have provided public breathing spaces in a world in which such spaces are steadily disappearing, which is why close to 300 million people visit the parks each year. Now, to honor the centennial of the National Park Service, Terry Tempest Williams, the author of the beloved memoir When Women Were Birds, returns with The Hour of Land, a literary celebration of our national parks, what they mean to us, and what we mean to them.Through twelve carefully chosen parks, from Yellowstone in Wyoming to Acadia in Maine to Big Bend in Texas, Tempest Williams creates a series of lyrical portraits that illuminate the unique grandeur of each place while delving into what it means to shape a landscape with its own evolutionary history into something of our own making. Part memoir, part natural history, and part social critique, The Hour of Land is a meditation and manifesto on why wild lands matter to the soul of America. Our national parks stand at the intersection of humanity and wildness, and there's no one better than Tempest Williams to guide us there.
    Show book
  • Wicked New Orleans - The Dark Side of the Big Easy - cover

    Wicked New Orleans - The Dark...

    Troy Taylor

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The author of Haunted New Orleans digs up NOLA’s long and lawless history—from pirates and prostitutes to mobsters and murderers.    Since as early as the 1700s, New Orleans has been a city filled with sin and vice. Those first pioneering citizens of the Big Easy were thieves, vagabonds, and criminals of all kinds. By the time Louisiana fell under American control, New Orleans had become a city of debauchery and corruption camouflaged by decadence. It was also considered one of the country’s most dangerous cities, with a reputation of crime and loose morals. Rampant gambling and prostitution were the norm in nineteenth-century New Orleans, and over one-third of today’s French Quarter was considered a hotbed of sin. Tales in this volume include that of the notorious Axeman who plagued the streets of the Crescent City in the early 1900s and Kate Townsend, a prostitute who was murdered by her own lover, a man who later was awarded her inheritance. Troy Taylor takes a look back at New Orleans’s early wicked days and historic crimes.   Includes photos
    Show book
  • King Arthur - Man or Myth - cover

    King Arthur - Man or Myth

    Tony Sullivan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An investigation of the evidence for King Arthur based on the earliest written sources rather than later myths and legends.This book differs from the usual Arthur theories in that it favors no particular conjecture simply analyses and clarifies the evidence presenting it all in chronological order. Starting from Roman Britain, the evidence shows how the legend evolved and at what point concepts such as Camelot, Excalibur and Merlin were added.It covers the historical records from the end of Roman Britain using contemporary sources such as they are, from 400-800, including Gallic Chronicles, Gildas and Bede. It details the first written reference to Arthur in the Historia Brittonum c.800 and the later Annales Cambriae in the tenth century showing the evolution of the legend in later Welsh and French stories.While not starting from or aiming at a specific person, the book compares the possibility of Arthur being purely fictional with a historical figure alongside a list of possible suspects. The evidence is presented and the reader is invited to make up their own mind before a discussion of the author’s own assessment.“What impressed me about this book is Sullivan’s passion for this subject and his willingness to go the extra mile to show both sides of the argument . . . It was extremely fascinating to see how he treated this book like a criminal investigation, using different fields of study to figure out the origins of the legend, how it evolved, and whether or not there was a king named Arthur.” —Adventures of a Tudor Nerd
    Show book