Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Edward Abbey Bestsellers - Fire on the Mountain The Monkey Wrench Gang Hayduke Lives! - cover

Edward Abbey Bestsellers - Fire on the Mountain The Monkey Wrench Gang Hayduke Lives!

Edward Abbey

Publisher: RosettaBooks

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Three wild and suspenseful novels about standing your ground against the forces of destruction by the author of Desert Solitaire.   From the beloved author and passionate advocate for the wilderness, these three novels follow some very memorable characters in their battles against strip miners, clear cutters, and government agencies destroying the environment:  Fire on the Mountain: A New Mexico man faces off against everyone from the Atomic Energy Commission to the U.S. Air Force in a battle to keep his land . . .   “One of the very best writers to deal with the American West.”—The Washington Post  The Monkey Wrench Gang: A motley crew of saboteurs wreak outrageous havoc on the corporations destroying the wilderness in this “wildly funny” tale (The Houston Chronicle).   “Mixes comedy and chaos with enough chase sequences to leave you hungering for more.”—The San Francisco Chronicle  Hayduke Lives!: George Washington Hayduke, ex-Green Beret, was last seen clinging to a rock face in the wilds of Utah as an armed posse hunted him down for his eco-radical crimes. Now he’s back, with a fiery need for vengeance . . .   “Abbey’s latter-day Luddites, introduced in his novel The Monkey Wrench Gang, are back—and not a moment too soon.” —The New York Times   “I laughed out loud reading this book.” —Los Angeles Times Book Review

Other books that might interest you

  • Small Fry - cover

    Small Fry

    Anton Chekhov

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Honored Sir, Father and Benefactor, a petty clerk called Nevyrazimov sitting in his office on the Easter Eve in the company of a cockroach scurrying the table, muses upon what he might do to make it in the world.
    Show book
  • Cats on Instagram - cover

    Cats on Instagram

    @cats_of_instagram

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From the popular Instagram profile comes this collection of adorable cat photos to warm the hearts of cat lovers everywhere. 
     
    Cat lovers, rejoice! This irresistible book compiles more than four hundred photos from the hugely popular Instagram profile @cats_of_instagram into a keepsake treasure. Playful categories including “bowties,” “surprise!,” and “happy cats” showcase all the charm and delightful quirks of the wide world of cats. This is an ebook that will have feline fans smiling in recognition, surprise, and appreciation.
    Show book
  • Mum's Big Break - cover

    Mum's Big Break

    Louise Emma Clarke

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Life in the spotlight was never going to be easy... 
     
    Jess's life was turned upside down when her blog went viral. Now, with hundreds of thousands of followers, Jess is now navigating the trials and tribulations of a world online. 
     
    Being a mummy blogger was originally an escape, but now it seems to be turning into a career. And after one wrong post on her social media channels, Jess discovers that life in the spotlight isn't always peachy. 
     
    With a new baby on the way, the possibility of starring in a reality TV show and a husband who's struggling with his wife's new-found fame, Jess has a lot going on. 
     
    Jess needs to decide whether this is everything she wanted it to be or whether this is all a bit too much for her? Can Jess persevere against the haters, rise up above the pettiness and find the perfect balance of life in the real world and life online? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Suzy K Quinn, Fiona Gibson and Gill Simms.
    Show book
  • Classic Book of Rude Jokes - Crass Humor for the Discriminating Jokester - cover

    Classic Book of Rude Jokes -...

    Scott McNeely

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A compendium of the best of the most offensive humor out there, from the author of Ultimate Book of Jokes. 
     
    For jokesters who like their humor on the dark side, this Classic Book of Rude Jokes compiles the most hilariously crass jokes out there in one compact volume. Scott McNeely, author of Ultimate Book of Jokes, has mined decades of rude joke history in search of the best of the worst jokes that were too shocking to include in his first collection. From dirty blonde jokes and tasteless religious jokes to the just plain sick and twisted, no one escapes offense in this collection of gags that is sure to please even the crudest comedian.
    Show book
  • Three Men in a Boat (To Say Nothing of the Dog) - cover

    Three Men in a Boat (To Say...

    Jerome K.

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Martyrs to hypochondria and general seediness, J. and his friends George and Harris decide that a jaunt up the Thames would suit them just fine. But when they set off, they can hardly predict the troubles that lie ahead with tow-ropes, unreliable weather forecasts, and tins of pineapple chunks-not to mention the devastation left in the wake of J.'s small fox-terrier Montmorency. Three Men in a Boat (To Say Nothing of the Dog) was an instant success when it appeared in 1889, and, with its benign escapism, authorial discursions, and wonderful evocation of the late-Victorian clerking classes, it hilariously captured the spirit of its age.
    Show book
  • Rubber Legs and White Tail-Hairs - cover

    Rubber Legs and White Tail-Hairs

    Patrick McManus

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    America’s most hilarious sportsman returns with this collection of insights about youth, the great outdoors, and the philosophy of fileting fish. When best-selling author Patrick McManus looks at a subject, you’re sure to come away with an outrageously new perspective.  In “Muldoon in Love” McManus examines how third-grade crushes can have a disastrous effect on show-and-tell. In “The Big Fix” he explores the insidious relationship between women and flat tires. In “What’s in a Name, Moonbeam?” he welcomes into the world a new grandchi ... er ... a new small relative.  Norman Dietz’s droll narration of these and two dozen more adventures by the author of How I Got This Way  and The Night the Bear Ate Goombaw  will have listeners—and maybe even a wolf or two—howling.
    Show book