Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket (Annotated) - cover

The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket (Annotated)

Edgar Allan Poe

Publisher: ePembaBooks

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This edition includes the following editor's analysis: The literary impact of "The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket"


Originally published in 1838, “The Narrative of Arthur Gordon Pym of Nantucket” is the only complete novel written by American writer Edgar Allan Poe.

Arthur Gordon Pym lives on Nantucket, a whaling and fishing island, and his best friend, Augustus, is the son of a whaling ship captain. The two boys drunkenly sail out on Pym’s little boat, Ariel, on Augustus’s impulse. They get caught in a storm, and Augustus passes out drunk. A whaling ship, the Penguin, passes by and rescues the boys, who agree later not to tell their parents.
After that experience, Pym’s imagination runs wild, and he follows Augustus as a stowaway aboard the Grampus. Various adventures and misadventures befall Pym, including shipwreck, mutiny, and cannibalism, before he is saved by the crew of the Jane Guy. Aboard this vessel, Pym and a sailor named Dirk Peters continue their adventures farther south…

Critics had mixed reviews on the book, some saying it was too gruesome and relied too heavily on other books and tropes, while others enjoyed the excitement. However, it became an influential work for many significant authors, including Melville and Verne.
Available since: 02/08/2022.

Other books that might interest you

  • One Checkered Flag - A Counting Book About Racing - cover

    One Checkered Flag - A Counting...

    Michael Dahl

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A counting book featuring things found at a car race, from one black-and-white checkered flag to twelve reporters. Readers are invited to find hidden numbers on an illustrated activity page.
    Show book
  • The Adventures of Andy Ant - The Swimming Hole Disaster - cover

    The Adventures of Andy Ant - The...

    Gerald D. O'Nan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this beautifully illustrated children’s book, a boy and his adventurous ant friend learn the value of listening to their moms and dads. 
     
    Andy Ant, a little ant with big ideas, and his human friend, Joey, will delight your children with their exciting adventures. In The Swimming Hole Disaster, Andy and Joey learn the importance of following directions and obeying their parents. Both Joey’s mom and Andy’s dad gave them specific instructions meant to keep them safe. Will Andy Ant go down the street drain and be lost forever because he and Joey did not obey? 
     
    The imaginative stories in the fun and colorful Adventures of Andy Ant series by Gerald D. O’Nan will both entertain your children and help them learn valuable life lessons.
    Show book
  • Mission to Marathon - cover

    Mission to Marathon

    Geoffrey Trease

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A story set in Ancient Greece. When news reaches Athens that 
    Persian ships are about to invade Greece at Marathon, Philip knows that 
    his uncle and grandmother are in great danger. As his brothers and 
    father are busy preparing for war, he is the only one who can cross the 
    mountains and warn his family. The race is on...but will he reach them 
    in time?
    Show book
  • Data Runner - cover

    Data Runner

    Sam A. Patel

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this YA cyberpunk novel for fans of William Gibson, a genius teenager looking to help his father gets caught up in a dangerous web. In the not-too-distant future, in what was once the old City of New York, megacorporations have taken over everything.  Now even the internet is owned, and the only way to transmit sensitive information is by a network of highly skilled couriers called “data runners” who run it over the sneakernet.  It is a dangerous gig in a dirty world, but Jack Nill doesn’t have much choice in the matter. A brilliant young math whiz and champion of parkour, Jack must become one of these data runners in order to get his father out of a major gambling debt.  When a mysterious stranger loads Jack’s chip with a cryptic cargo that everybody wants, he soon becomes the key figure in a conspiracy that could affect the entire North American Alliance.  Now it’s all up to Jack.  With the help of his best friend, Dexter, and a girl who runs under the name Red Tail, Jack will have to use all his skills to outrun the retrievers and uncover the truth before they catch him and clip him for good.One of BuzzFeed’s Greatest Science Fiction Books of 2020
    Show book
  • Simon Thorn and the Shark's Cave - cover

    Simon Thorn and the Shark's Cave

    Aimée Carter

    • 1
    • 11
    • 0
    "Simon Thorn is a hero worthy of a young Harry Potter, and readers are bound to be delighted." --Booklist on Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den 
     
    For fans of Rick Riordan and Spirit Animals, this thrilling follow-up to Simon Thorn and the Viper's Pit continues the adventures of a boy who can shapeshift into an animal. 
     
    Simon Thorn has only recently discovered that he's an Animalgam, a member of a secret race of people who can shift into animals, and found a home where he truly belongs. But not everything is as good as it seems. Simon's evil grandfather, Orion, is bent on taking over the entire animal kingdom, and to do so, he'll need to gather the pieces of a terrible weapon--one that could shred the very foundations of the Animalgams' world. . . unless Simon can gather the pieces first.  
     
    So when Simon's dolphin Animalgam friend Jam is summoned home to the underwater kingdom's headquarters, Avalon, Simon sees it as an opportunity to secure another piece. But as soon as he and his friends arrive in Avalon, their search is complicated by Jam's strict family--and a potential traitor. Can they locate the piece before it falls into Orion's hands and puts the entire underwater kingdom at risk? 
     
    With plenty of action and adventure and characters full of heart, this story is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and the Spirit Animals series. 
     
    Don't miss the other books in the Simon Thorn series: 
    Simon Thorn and the Wolf's Den 
    Simon Thorn and the Viper's Pit 
    Simon Thorn and the Shark's Cave
    Show book
  • Belly Laugh Funniest Grossest Jokes for Kids - 350 Hilarious Jokes! - cover

    Belly Laugh Funniest Grossest...

    Press Sky Pony

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A hilarious collection of 350 unique gross jokes, complete with hysterical illustrations and a laugh noise button! How do you make a tissue dance? Put a little boogie in it! What did one toilet say to the other toilet? You look a bit flushed! Belly Laugh Funniest, Grossest Jokes for Kids is full of hilarious and disgusting fun! From snappy one-liners to hilarious puns, this collection is complete with 350 jokes for kids and is complemented by sidesplitting line drawings. Perfect for long car rides, rainy days, and hanging out with friends, this book is sure to bring laughter and fun into your home. For kids ages five and up, this book is perfect for home, school, or really anywhere! Also included is a laughing-sound button for added entertainment!
    Show book