Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Greatest Classics of Science Fiction - Exploring Timeless Worlds and Futuristic Visions - cover

The Greatest Classics of Science Fiction - Exploring Timeless Worlds and Futuristic Visions

Jules Verne, Mark Twain, Robert Louis Stevenson, Edgar Allan Poe, William Hope Hodgson, George MacDonald, Jack London, Arthur Conan Doyle, Ayn Rand, David Lindsay, Edward Bellamy, Charlotte Perkins Gilman, Abraham Merritt, H. G. Wells, H. Rider Haggard, Mary Shelley, Edward Bulwer-Lytton, Edwin A. Abbott, Hugh Benson

Translator Lewis Page Mercier, Agnes D. Kingston

Publisher: Good Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Greatest Classics of Science Fiction' encapsulates an extraordinary array of imaginative explorations into what was, what is, and what could be, presented through a prism of genres ranging from adventure and mystery to dystopian futures. This collection is not only a testament to the speculative and pioneering spirit of its authors but also a monument to the diversity and depth of early science fiction. Among the standout pieces are tales that laid the foundations for entire subgenres, exploring themes of technology, society, and the human condition with unmatched inventiveness and foresight, all without attributing greatness to a single voice but rather celebrating the collective genius at work. The authors represented in this anthology, including Jules Verne, H.G. Wells, and Mary Shelley, among others, are titans of literature whose individual contributions to the genre have become landmarks of cultural and historical significance. Their backgrounds, ranging from the romantic adventurers and keen observers of the human psyche to visionary dreamers, unite to form a tapestry that reflects the multifaceted concerns and aspirations of the eras they lived in. This convergence of minds aligns with several major literary and social movements, from the romanticism of the 19th century to the early modernist waves of the 20th, each bringing a unique flavor to the science fiction genre. 'The Greatest Classics of Science Fiction' is not merely an anthology; it is an invitation to witness the convergence of visionary minds who have shaped not only science fiction but also our understanding of the world through speculative thought. Readers seeking to immerse themselves in the roots of science fiction will find this collection an invaluable compendium, offering insights into the human condition while exploring the limitless possibilities of the imagination. It is an essential read for those who wish to appreciate the breadth and depth of a genre that continues to question, challenge, and entertain.
Available since: 11/19/2023.
Print length: 4354 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • My Next Life as a Villainess: All Routes Lead to Doom! Volume 1 - cover

    My Next Life as a Villainess:...

    Satoru Yamaguchi

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After hitting her head particularly hard one day, Duke Claes' daughter, Katarina, suddenly recalls all the memories of her past life: that of a teenage Japanese girl. Just before her untimely death, this girl recalls playing an otome game... that is exactly like the world she's living in now!She is now Katarina Claes, the antagonist of the otome game, who nastily hounded the protagonist until the end. Knowing all the possible outcomes of the game, she realizes that every single possible route ends with Katarina being murdered or exiled! In order to avoid these Catastrophic Bad Ends, she has to use her knowledge of the game and her own wiles, starting with breaking off this engagement with the prince...Will Katarina survive while making her way through this world, where bad flags trip at every turn? Find out in this reverse-harem rom-com, led by everybody's favorite villainess!
    Show book
  • 2 Hard To Bear - A Menage Shifter Billionaire Paranormal Romance - cover

    2 Hard To Bear - A Menage...

    Selina Coffey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Enjoy this steamy menage bear shifter series by bestselling paranormal romance author Selina Coffey!
    
    And I did as I was told. I closed my eyes and felt Hollis take my hand and raise it to his lips. He placed a chaste kiss there that spoke so much to me that I didn’t know I was crying until the warm tears slipped down my cheeks. I would not ever see either one of them again. And that was my cross to bear.
    
    Determined to get back to normal, Ivy throws herself back into her work. But Hollis nor Winslow will allow her to forget the heat of their passionate night nor the emotions unlocked that night. Ivy doesn’t know how to feel or what she wants. Hollis wants her for himself and Winslow has made it clear that he has no plans to share. So how will she choose? Because whether she admits it or not, she’s fallen hard, in love with two men who harbor a deadly secret that will ultimately make her question not only her reality but her sanity as well.
    
    Escape into a spellbinding menage billionaire bear shifter romance, where two powerful men find themselves irresistibly drawn to an outsider they shouldn't desire. Get lost in the seductive whirlwind of their forbidden connection, and unravel the hidden depths of their burning passion!
    
    The reading order of this series is as follows:
    1. Shift Quickie
    2. 2 Hard To Bear
    3. Bearly Over
    
    This is an adult only steamy bear shifter short story, appealing to readers who love fated mates, billionaire romance, forbidden and sizzling hot romances with a twist. Perfect for fans of Lara Adrian, Zoe Chant, Terry Bolryder, Renee Rose and Brenda K Davies.
    Show book
  • Villainess Level 99: I May Be the Hidden Boss but I'm Not the Demon Lord Act 2 (Light Novel) - cover

    Villainess Level 99: I May Be...

    Satori Tanabata

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Despite the rocky start to her life at the Academy, Yumiella Dolkness has safely managed to graduate, and now she’s on to the next chapter of her life—stepping into her new role as countess! Yumiella’s determined to learn how to properly manage Dolkness County, her family’s estate, but she soon finds there’s quite a lot of work that needs to be done. Decades of neglect from her parents have left the county in shambles, and now it’s up to her to whip things back into shape!
     
    Yet, even beyond that, Yumiella’s life isn’t all fun and games. Back in the Royal Capital, a group of corrupt aristocrats have begun to push for the second prince, Prince Edwin, to succeed Valschein’s throne, and they appear to be planning something even more sinister behind the scenes...
     
    Still, whether she’s dealing with a mysterious shadow group or problems with her county, Yumiella will handle it in the same way she always does—by using her level 99 strength!
    Show book
  • Beatless: Volume 1 - cover

    Beatless: Volume 1

    Satoshi Hase

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Boy meets girl... you know how it goes. But while the boy (Arato) might be a typical 17-year-old, the girl (Lacia) is a beautiful android equipped with an enormous black device that defies human understanding.Set 100 years from now, BEATLESS depicts a familiar yet futuristic vision of Japan in which society is run by incredibly human-looking robots, known as hIE. Most people regard them as mere convenient tools. Yet some hIE–like Lacia–now appear bearing technology that far surpasses anything regular humans can produce.Humans and ultra-advanced artificial beings: who is the master and who is the servant? Who made Lacia, and what ties her fate together with Arato? Bewildered by the turmoil of danger and mystery that Lacia brings into his life, Arato will find himself forced to make choices with profound implications not just for himself, but for all of humanity.
    Show book
  • My Next Life as a Villainess: All Routes Lead to Doom! Volume 12 (Light Novel) - cover

    My Next Life as a Villainess:...

    Satoru Yamaguchi

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After reincarnating as the villainess of the otome game Fortune Lover and spending the last ten years dodging Catastrophic Bad Ends, Katarina Claes believed she was finally in the clear... Alas, the game has a sequel.
     
    Katarina was looking forward to a peaceful career at the Magical Ministry, interspersed with sunny days spent tilling the earth of her vegetable garden—but fate has now brought her new potential Bad Ends and an array of new powers befitting a villainess. The latest threat emerges in the form of a power-hungry nobleman seeking to exert influence over the Kingdom of Sorcié’s royal family. Meanwhile, a challenger appears to contest Katarina’s protracted engagement to Prince Jeord! What’s more, this rival turns out to be someone Katarina knows very well...
    Show book
  • Fake Saint of the Year: You Wanted the Perfect Saint? Too Bad! Volume 1 - cover

    Fake Saint of the Year: You...

    kabedondaikou

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After yet another late night of playing his favorite dating sim, Fudou Niito—a self-proclaimed lazy NEET—suddenly wakes up to find himself inside the game! Stranger still, he hasn’t been reincarnated as the main character, Verner, or as his beloved waifu, Eterna... Instead, he’s Ellize, the absolutely awful fake saint who stole Eterna’s rightful place and made her life a living hell!
     
    And so, Niito now has one goal: change the story to ensure the game’s tragic heroine finally gets the happy ending she deserves! To do that, he’ll have to play matchmaker for Verner and Eterna while also boosting the saint’s popularity! Can this imposter scheme his way into a happy future for his favorite character?
    Show book