Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Darkwater - cover

Darkwater

Dorothy Eden

Publisher: Open Road Media Romance

  • 0
  • 7
  • 0

Summary

This classic Gothic romance, hailed by the Boston Globe as “a gem of its species,” tells the spine-tingling story of a young woman caught up in an English manor’s shadowed, violent past—and confronted by the very real dangers that lie within  Fanny Davenport has lived at Darkwater ever since she was brought there as a young orphan. She both loves and detests the forbidding English estate on the moors, haunted by the death of its long-ago mistress. When the scream of a bird caught in the chimney pierces the gloom one night, she knows it to be a harbinger of violent things to come.  It all begins when Fanny boards a ship to pick up two Chinese children who have been entrusted to her uncle’s care. But Adam Marsh, the handsome stranger who hands over the sister and brother, may be an imposter. Then the children’s elderly amah disappears. The reappearance of Adam Marsh only raises more questions. Can Fanny trust him? Is he her only ally against a cunning killer waiting to claim one more life?

Other books that might interest you

  • Undeniable Love - cover

    Undeniable Love

    Emeline Piaget

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    Wyatt Greenlaw is your typical good looking "All-American" type who meets someone that could possibly be the woman of his dreams, and he can't remember her. Stephane Trudeau was simply minding her own business when he stumbled into her world and changed it forever.How can Wyatt find happiness with the dream woman he can't remember and will she even want him when he does?
    Show book
  • The Major's Daughter (The Fort Reno Series Book #3) - cover

    The Major's Daughter (The Fort...

    Regina Jennings

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Caroline Adams returns to Indian Territory after tiring of confining society life. She wants adventure, and when she and her friend Amber come across swaggering outlaw Frisco Smith, they find his dreams for the new territory are very persuasive. With the much-anticipated land run pending, they may just join the rush. Growing up parentless, all Frisco Smith wanted was a place to call his own. It's no wonder that he fought to open the Unassigned Lands. After years of sneaking across the border, he's even managed to put in a dugout house on a hidden piece of property he's poised to claim. When the gun sounds, everyone's best plans are thrown out the window in the chaos of the run. Caroline and Frisco soon find themselves battling over a claim--and both dig in their heels. Settling the rightful ownership will bring these two closer than they ever expected and change their ideas of what a true home looks like.
    Show book
  • An Offer From a Gentleman With 2nd Epilogue - cover

    An Offer From a Gentleman With...

    Julia Quinn

    • 5
    • 62
    • 0
    Sophie Beckett never dreamed she'd be able to sneak into Lady Bridgerton's famed masquerade ball—or that "Prince Charming" would be waiting there for her! Though the daughter of an earl, Sophie has been relegated to the role of servant by her disdainful stepmother. But now, spinning in the strong arms of the debonair and devastatingly handsome Benedict Bridgerton, she feels like royalty. Alas, she knows all enchantments must end when the clock strikes midnight. 
    Who was that extraordinary woman? Ever since that magical night, a radiant vision in silver has blinded Benedict to the attractions of any other—except, perhaps, this alluring and oddly familiar beauty dressed in housemaid's garb whom he feels compelled to rescue from a most disagreeable situation. He has sworn to find and wed his mystery miss, but this breathtaking maid makes him weak with wanting her. Yet, if he offers her his heart, will Benedict sacrifice his only chance for a fairy tale love?
    Show book
  • Say Yes to the Marquess - Castles Ever After - cover

    Say Yes to the Marquess -...

    Tessa Dare

    • 5
    • 44
    • 0
    Your presence is requested at romantic Twill Castle for the wedding of Miss Clio Whitmore and . . . and . . . ? 
    After eight years of waiting for Piers Brandon, the wandering Marquess of Granville, to set a wedding date, Clio Whitmore has had enough. She's inherited a castle, scraped together some pride, and made plans to break her engagement. 
    Not if Rafe Brandon can help it. A ruthless prizefighter and notorious rake, Rafe is determined that Clio will marry his brother—even if he has to plan the dratted wedding himself. 
    So how does a hardened fighter cure a reluctant bride's cold feet?   He starts with flowers. Ladies can't have too many flowers. Or harps. Or cakes.   He lets her know she'll make a beautiful, desirable bride— and tries not to picture her as his.   He doesn't kiss her.   If he kisses her, he definitely doesn't kiss her again.   When all else fails, he puts her in a stunning gown and vows not to be nearby when the gown comes off.   And no matter what—he doesn't fall in disastrous, hopeless love with the one woman he can never call his own.
    Show book
  • A Dangerous Beauty - cover

    A Dangerous Beauty

    Sophia Nash

    • 2
    • 13
    • 0
    Love, n. A temporary insanity curable by marriage or by the removal of the patient from the influences under which he incurred the disorder. 
    The Devil's Dictionary, Ambrose Bierce 
    A Courageous Outcast . . . 
    Rosamunde Baird has lost everything and has no choice but to accept an invitation to spend a season with a dowager duchess and her clandestine ladies club. Determined to stay in the shadows and live quietly, she has sworn never again to come face to face with adventure and temptation, two things that brought her ruin years ago. But then the Duke of Helston dangles before her the very things she craves most . . . 
    Lord Fire & Ice . . . 
    Mysterious Luc St. Aubyn has a much-deserved reputation for exuding blistering passion at night and frost the morning after. What demons drive this audacious war hero to hide secrets about the dowager's club and his devilish dictionary? When he's blindsided by his reactions to a virtuous siren, he has no choice but to reveal all during a scandal that will doom them . . . or save them, if only they dare to believe in love.
    Show book
  • Shades of Trust - Trust Series Books 1-4 - cover

    Shades of Trust - Trust Series...

    Cristiane Serruya

    • 10
    • 43
    • 0
    Two billionaires who never fail to get what they want. They both want the same woman. Only one can have her.
     
    Ethan, an international steel tycoon with a traumatic past, doesn’t believe he can love a woman, or be loved by one—until he meets Sophia.
     
    Alistair, a powerful but guilt-ridden banker, has no trouble finding one-night stands to indulge him in his desire to dole out punishment and appease his tortured soul. Now he’ll do anything to have Sophia—if only once.
     
    Sophia, a young, wealthy Brazilian widow with partial amnesia, lives a lonely existence in London, torn between her love for a dead man and the fear of being discovered after a tragic accident.
     
    When their paths cross Sophia’s, Ethan and Alistair must each either overcome his guilt, fear, and pain and learn to see himself through forgiving eyes—or finally succumb to misery, alone.
     
    Ethan doesn’t believe he’s worthy of love. Alistair doesn’t believe anyone else is. Sophia will prove them both wrong. And then she must make a choice.
     
    A sizzling suspenseful romance for fans of Fifty Shades of Grey and Steel Brothers! If you like authors Barbara Freethy, Jill Shalvis, and Helen Hardt, you’ll love Shades of Trust by USA Today bestselling author Cristiane Serruya! 
    Show book