Today could be the day that you start a whole year of unlimited reading!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
My Kid Is an Asshole and So Is My Dog - cover

My Kid Is an Asshole and So Is My Dog

Diana Stefano

Publisher: Crazy Ink

  • 1
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

My Kid Is an Asshole, and So Is My Dog 
-- a comedic look at the drama of raising a teenage girl 
I just returned from the mall after school shopping with my soon-to-be sophomore and her friend. I now understand why fathers opt to go camping, roll around in elk urine, and shit in a hole rather than go to the mall three days before school starts. As if the crowds weren't bad enough, my girl decided to wear a flannel that hung lower than her shorts, making it appear that she was walking around naked from the waist down.  
She was flocked by sales people, who, I am sure, were calculating their commissions in their heads.  I mean, why not? Everybody wants to help the girl who arrives pant-less.  Obviously, she needs clothes. 
We're not home half an hour and the vodka I poured for myself is only half gone when she yells down from her room, "Mom, have you seen my push up bra? Maybe we need to go back to the mall." 
It's the moments like these where I'm convinced raising a teen is bullshit, and I wonder if we'll ever come out on the other side even speaking to one another. Pass the vodka. 
There aren't enough warnings in the world for raising teenage girls. Although my mom swears my daughter takes after me, so it's karma. 
Is it karma that I've got two barking dogs? It must be. Have you ever heard a shiu-tzu bark?  I have.  Over and over.  They think they're coyotes.  I swear.  And right now, they're wrestling over some stuffed animal, which is surely about to fling open, so I can pick up little beads all over the carpet while drinking my vodka.  No wait.  They stopped.  One of them had to drag its ass across the floor. Epic. 
It's in the little moments where I earn my parenting badges—the faded stretch marks. 
Ruff, ruff! 
If this is my karma for being such an asshole to my mom, maybe we can get through this too. And if she pays attention in English, instead of scouting for a prom date, she can learn to write her own book—the sequel to this: My Mom Is an Asshole, but Not My Dog.

Other books that might interest you

  • Balancing Acts - A Novel - cover

    Balancing Acts - A Novel

    Zoe Fishman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “Anyone who has wondered, ‘Now what?’ about her life will relate to Zoe Fishman’s ebullient and wise novel Balancing Acts. The pages flew by.”—Valerie Frankel, author of Thin Is the New Happy Zoe Fishman’s Balancing Acts is a must for fans of The Friday Night Knitting Club, The Reading Group, The Jane Austen Book Club, and Girls in Trucks. The charming and poignant stories of four former college friends going through mid-life crises who help each other balance their former dreams with their present lives through the power of yoga and friendship, Balancing Acts brims with wit, sensitivity, and wisdom—with characters women readers can really relate to and take into their hearts.
    Show book
  • Viral - cover

    Viral

    Mike Jeavons

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    Chad McKenna wants to live a quiet life of playing games and watching YouTube. But when a private video of himself ‘enjoying some alone time’ goes viral, he is suddenly thrust into the media spotlight.  
    Chad quickly becomes a reluctant internet celebrity. As the video begins to spread across the internet, it becomes clear that this isn’t your ordinary meme. It’s a virus, and one that will do anything to survive – including murder.  
    If there’s anything worse than a video of yourself masturbating going viral, it’s a rogue robotic army of soldiers that all look like a naked version of yourself, who are willing to go to war with the entire world.  
    And Chad is the only one with the power to stop it.
    Show book
  • Bluffer's Guide to Horseracing - cover

    Bluffer's Guide to Horseracing

    David Ashforth

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Instantly acquire all the knowledge you need to pass as an expert in the world of cats. Never again confuse a Cornish Rex with a type of pasty, a Turkish Angora with a caridgan, or a LaPerm with a bad hair day.
    Show book
  • Away Laughing on a Fast Camel - Even More Confessions of Georgia Nicolson - cover

    Away Laughing on a Fast Camel -...

    Louise Rennison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Sex God has left the country, taking Georgia's heart with him. So she decides to display glaciosity to all boys -- a girl can only have her heart broken so many times. 
    Until she meets Masimo, the new singer for the Stiff Dylans. The Sex God is gone, but here comes the Dreamboat, and Georgia's away laughing on a fast camel (whatever that means).
    Show book
  • Monsters You Should Know - cover

    Monsters You Should Know

    Emma SanCartier

    • 2
    • 46
    • 0
    Meet the world's most unusual monsters in this darkly funny collection of creatures and cryptids from folkloric history. Illustrator Emma SanCartier captures the bizarre and hilarious elements of 17 monsters from around the world in a light, tongue-in-cheek tone, from the Japanese dream-eater Baku and the Persian carnivorous unicorn Shadhavar to the Eastern-European Shurale, a literal tickle monster. Illustrated in lush watercolor, Monsters You Should Know is a perfect primer for the many strange, frightening, and compelling things that go bump in the night.
    Show book
  • Angus Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging - Confessions of Georgia Nicolson - cover

    Angus Thongs and Full-Frontal...

    Louise Rennison

    • 0
    • 17
    • 0
    Angus:My mixed-breed cat, half domestic tabby, half Scottish wildcat. The size of a small Labrador, only mad. 
    Thongs:Stupid underwear. What's the point of them, anyway? They just go up your bum, as far as I can tell. 
    Full-Frontal Snogging:Kissing with all the trimmings, lip to lip, open mouth, tongues ... everything. 
    Her dad's got the mentality of a Teletubby (only not so developed). Her cat, Angus, is trying to eat the poodle next door. And her best friend thinks she looks like an alien -- just because she accidentally shaved off her eyebrows. Ergghhhlack. Still, add a little boy-stalking, teacher-baiting, and full-frontal snogging with a Sex God, and Georgia's year just might turn out to be the most fabbitty fab fab ever!
    Show book