Discover new books each day!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Eutopia - A Novel of Terrible Optimism - cover

Eutopia - A Novel of Terrible Optimism

David Nickle

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

This debut horror novel by the author of short story collection Monstrous Affections “establishes him as a worthy heir to the mantle of Stephen King” (National Post).   Set in 1911, Eutopia “mixes utopian vision, rustic Americana, and pure creepiness. . . . Nickle blends Little House on the Prairie with distillates of Rosemary’s Baby and The X-Files to create a chilling survival-of-the-fittest story” (Publishers Weekly).   Situated on the edge of the woods and mountains of northern Idaho, the tiny settlement of Eliada is an industrialist’s attempt to create heaven on earth. But its secrets are soon to be unveiled, as Jason Thistledown, the sole survivor of a mysterious plague in Montana, and Andrew Waggoner, a black doctor nearly lynched by the KKK, delve beneath the façade of the utopian mill town. What they discover is science warped by ideology—and an unearthly monster that preys on the faith of its own true believers . . .   “A story of piano-wire suspense, grotesque horrors, and, above all, visceral insight into the race politics of American horror, and how they are bound up with the American project itself.” —Cory Doctorow, Boing Boing  Praise for David Nickle   “His stories are dark, wildly imaginative, and deeply compassionate—even when they’re laced with righteous anger.” —Nathan Ballingrud, author of Wounds “David Nickle is Canada’s answer to Stephen King. His writing charms even as it slices like a blade between the ribs: sharp, subtle, and never less than devastating.” —Helen Marshall, author of Gifts for the One Who Comes After

Other books that might interest you

  • Lovecraft Country - A Novel - cover

    Lovecraft Country - A Novel

    Matt Ruff

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Now an HBO® Series from J.J. Abrams (Executive Producer of Westworld), Misha Green (Creator of Underground) and Jordan Peele (Director of Get Out) 
    The critically acclaimed cult novelist makes visceral the terrors of life in Jim Crow America and its lingering effects in this brilliant and wondrous work of the imagination that melds historical fiction, pulp noir, and Lovecraftian horror and fantasy. 
    Chicago, 1954. When his father Montrose goes missing, 22-year-old Army veteran Atticus Turner embarks on a road trip to New England to find him, accompanied by his Uncle George—publisher of The Safe Negro Travel Guide—and his childhood friend Letitia. On their journey to the manor of Mr. Braithwhite—heir to the estate that owned one of Atticus’s ancestors—they encounter both mundane terrors of white America and malevolent spirits that seem straight out of the weird tales George devours. 
    At the manor, Atticus discovers his father in chains, held prisoner by a secret cabal named the Order of the Ancient Dawn—led by Samuel Braithwhite and his son Caleb—which has gathered to orchestrate a ritual that shockingly centers on Atticus. And his one hope of salvation may be the seed of his—and the whole Turner clan’s—destruction. 
    A chimerical blend of magic, power, hope, and freedom that stretches across time, touching diverse members of two black families, Lovecraft Country is a devastating kaleidoscopic portrait of racism—the terrifying specter that continues to haunt us today.
    Show book
  • Before The Echo - cover

    Before The Echo

    Alex Westmore

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    The supernatural world has ruptured. On the horizon looms a battle from which there is no return.
     
     
     
    A powerful band of deadly supernaturals has united, ready to reveal their existence to the natural world, and prepare to take their place at the head of humanity.
     
     
     
    By force.
     
     
     
    All that stands in their way is a small cadre of supernaturals from the Louisiana Bayou who have yet to be fully trained. To successfully make their stand, the novice supers will need to call on other paranormal beings who live in and around Savannah; allies from the darkest corners of the paranormal world.
     
     
     
    As lives are lost and the balance of power starts to tip, the young paranormals and their supernatural counterparts must dig in for a war that could change everything.
     
     
     
    When supers turn against supers, only the powerful will survive.
    Show book
  • The Rift Uprising - The Rift Uprising Trilogy Book 1 - cover

    The Rift Uprising - The Rift...

    Amy S. Foster

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    “High emotional stakes and an intriguing premise make this first entry in Foster’s new trilogy a solid next read for those who enjoyed Pierce Brown’s Red Rising or Veronica Roth’s Divergent." -- Library Journal 
    An alternate reality that feels all-too-real, The Rift Uprising is the explosive start to a new trilogy that blurs the line between parallel universes—not to mention YA and adult science fiction—from acclaimed lyricist and storyteller Amy S. Foster. 
    Normal seventeen-year-old girls go to high school, binge watch TV shows all weekend, and flirt with everyone on the face of the Earth. But Ryn Whitaker is trying to save it. 
    Ryn is a Citadel. A soldier. A liar. Ryn and her fellow Citadels were specially chosen and trained to guard a Rift—one of fourteen unpredictable tears in the fabric of the universe that serve as doorways to alternate Earths. Unbeknownst to her family, Ryn leaves for school each day and then reports for duty as an elite, cybernetically-altered soldier who can run faster, jump farther, and fight better than a Navy SEAL—which comes in handy when she’s not sure if axe-wielding Vikings or any number of other scared and often dangerous beings come through the Rift. A fine-tuned weapon, Ryn is a picture-perfect Citadel. 
    But that’s all about to change. 
    When a young man named Ezra is pulled through the Rift, Ryn finds herself immediately drawn to him, despite her training. What starts as a physical attraction quickly grows deeper, and Ezra’s curiosity throws Ryn off balance when he starts questioning the Rifts, the mysterious organization that oversees them, and the Citadels themselves—questions that lead Ryn to wonder if the lies she’s been telling her family are just the surface of a much bigger lie told to her. As Ryn and Ezra desperately try to get to that truth, they discover that each revelation blurs the line between the villains and the heroes even more.  
     
    Show book
  • Born to Bite - An Argeneau Novel - cover

    Born to Bite - An Argeneau Novel

    Lynsay Sands

    • 4
    • 16
    • 0
    “Lynsay Sands writes books that keep readers coming back for more.” —Katie MacAlister, USA Today Bestselling Author of A Girl’s Guide to VampiresThe Argeneau vampire family is back in Born to Bite by USA Today and New York Times bestseller Lynsay Sands. One of the premier names in contemporary paranormal romance, the incomparable Sands blends steamy passion with mystery, as a sexy, chopper-riding Enforcer investigates a breathtaking immortal whose previous three wives all have had trouble remaining  undead. Are you hooked on Charlaine Harris and her Sookie Stackhouse books? Then Lynsay Sands and Born to Bite are exactly what you’re hungry for.
    Show book
  • Earth Strike - Star Carrier: Book One - cover

    Earth Strike - Star Carrier:...

    Ian Douglas

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In the vein of the hit television show Battlestar Galactica comes Earth Strike—the first book in the action-packed Star Carrier science fiction series by Ian Douglas, author of the popular Inheritance, Heritage, and Legacy Trilogies and one of the most adept writers of military sf working today. Earth Strike rockets readers into a vast  and deadly intergalactic battle, as humankind attempts to bring down an evil empire and establish itself as the new major power. Fans of Robert Heinlein’s Starship Troopers and Joe Haldeman’s The Forever War, welcome aboard the Star Carrier!
    Show book
  • Dragonsphere - cover

    Dragonsphere

    Richard Fierce

    • 2
    • 3
    • 0
    The soul of a powerful dragon has escaped its magical prison. 
     
    The creature’s wrath knows no bounds and spreads across two enemy kingdoms, forcing an unlikely alliance.
     
    Calderon and Velkyn, the two young men charged with the safeguard of the sphere that held the dragon captive, must leave everything they’ve known in a quest to recapture the beast before it takes physical form.
     
    Will they be able to stop events beyond their power, or will both kingdoms be destroyed by the dragon’s rage?
    Show book