Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Shenkin - cover

Shenkin

Davey Davis

Publisher: Clink Street Publishing

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Daniel Shenkin born into a working class community of the 19th century scarred and buried in the bowels of the coal mines and forged in the Ironworks of his black South Wales valley. He gambles, loves and bare knuckle fights for survival. He is determined to form a union. The protest he leads turns into a revolt. Working men and soldiers are killed or wounded. Together with his side kick the giant of a man Regan O'Hara he is sentenced to transportation for a term of 20 years in the penal colonies of Australia. His grounding in brutality is completed on the prison hulks and the convict ship the Runnymede. The ship is captained by the tyrant Josiah Moxey and joint owned by the decadent Lord Feltsham. They have smuggled loot from London on to the ship and Shenkin knows to much. They want him dead but Shenkin's pride,determination and two fisted approach, while even in chains, sees him survive. He finds love in the form of Elizabeth Moxey the niece of the captain and the friendship of the ship's doctor. His resilience proves to much for Moxey and Lord Felthsham to handle on their own. They enlist the dregs of the convict ship and sadistic guards of the penal prison to kill him. It is a roller coaster of an adventure in the cold bowels of the earth then on the sea and land. Everything is against him his background, the sovereign state, the men that are out to kill him, but he carries his pride in his two fists. Shenkin is a dangerous man a 19th century ' rebel with a cause ' his cause is to survive - don't stand in his way.
Available since: 07/28/2022.
Print length: 320 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • I'll See You in Paris - A Novel - cover

    I'll See You in Paris - A Novel

    Michelle Gable

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Three women, born generations apart.One mysterious book that threads their lives together.A journey of love, discovery, and truth… 
    I'll See You in Paris is based on the real life of Gladys Spencer-Churchill, the Duchess of Marlborough, a woman whose life was so rich and storied it could fill several books. Nearly a century after Gladys's heyday, a young woman's quest to understand the legendary Duchess takes her from a charming hamlet in the English countryside, to a dilapidated manse kept behind barbed wire, and ultimately to Paris, where answers will be found at last. In the end, she not only solves the riddle of the Duchess, but uncovers the missing pieces in her own life. 
    At once a great love story and literary mystery, I'll See You in Paris will entertain and delight, with an unexpected ending that will leave readers satisfied and eager for Gable's next novel.
    Show book
  • The Devil in the Marshalsea - cover

    The Devil in the Marshalsea

    Antonia Hodgson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It's 1727. Tom Hawkins is damned if he's going to follow in his father's footsteps and become a country parson. Not for him a quiet life of prayer and propriety. His preference is for wine, women, and cards. But there's a sense of honor there too, and Tom won't pull family strings to get himself out of debt—not even when faced with the appalling horrors of London's notorious debtors' prison: The Marshalsea Gaol. 
    Within moments of his arrival in the Marshalsea, Hawkins learns there's a murderer on the loose, a ghost is haunting the gaol, and that he'll have to scrounge up the money to pay for his food, bed, and drink. He's quick to accept an offer of free room and board from the mysterious Samuel Fleet—only to find out just hours later that it was Fleet's last roommate who turned up dead. Tom's choice is clear: get to the truth of the murder—or be the next to die.
    Show book
  • Anne of Avonlea - Anne 2 - cover

    Anne of Avonlea - Anne 2

    L. M. Montgomery

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Following Anne of Green Gables (1908), the book covers the second chapter in the life of Anne Shirley. This book follows Anne from the age of 16 to 18, during the two years that she teaches at Avonlea school. It includes many of the characters from Anne of Green Gables, as well as new ones like Mr. Harrison, Miss Lavendar Lewis, Paul Irving, and the twins Dora and Davy  ...
    Show book
  • The Sect of Angels - cover

    The Sect of Angels

    Andrea Camilleri

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In this dark yet humorous novel based on a true story, a man uncovers a sordid conspiracy in a Sicilian village, but not everyone wants to know the truth. 
     
    Lawyer and journalist Matteo Teresi discovers the existence of a secret sect whose members include priests, politicians, and regional VIPs. During the early morning hours, when the town’s churches are closed, the “Sect of the Angels” meets in the sacristy to carry out their holy office: initiating devout virgins into the rites of married life. Preying on their victims’ naivete, the hooded “elect” commit ignominious acts while promising the young women divine grace. 
     
    In 1901, at a time of immense changes in Sicilian society, the scandal breaks nationwide. But far from being hailed as a hero, Teresi is accused of disrupting the status quo and irrationally blamed for an outbreak of disease and a series of calamities. From the salons, churches and social clubs of Sicily to the country’s highest courts, Camilleri’s novel is a fast-paced, at times funny, passionately rendered portrait of the machinations of power and the difficult destiny of a local hero. 
     
    Praise for The Sect of Angels 
     
    “A devastating portrait of how political power, the mafia, Catholic cover-ups, and family shame kept rural Sicily in a medieval time warp long into the twentieth century.” —Foreword Reviews
    Show book
  • Sixty Blades of Grass - cover

    Sixty Blades of Grass

    Elizabeth Millane

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The bond between a Dutch teenager and her father is tested as the Resistance wages its secret war on the Nazis.During the Second World War, Rika, a seventeen-year-old Dutch Resistance fighter, paints in fields overlooking the busy rail yards. Hidden in her artwork is information crucial to the Dutch Underground about the concentration camps and Jewish prisoner transports.But Rika's covert activities aren't the only thing on her mind. In these uncertain times, even trusting family is risky. She suspects her father of collaborating with the Germans and is determined to uncover the truth.Across town, her German-born father is also living a double life. But his desire to keep his daughter safe proves inadequate when he invites a German colonel into his home with terrible consequences . . . With no one to rely on or turn to, Rika knows her greatest challenge has only just begun as she must fight for her own survival . . . Inspired by the author's own family history, this is a riveting, heartrending novel of danger and betrayal that explores what it takes to lay down one's life for another in the most harrowing of circumstances.
    Show book
  • Murder in the Queen's Wardrobe - cover

    Murder in the Queen's Wardrobe

    Kathy Lynn Emerson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A female spymaster in Tudor England faces mortal danger in a mystery “recommended . . . for readers of Fiona Buckley, Karen Harper, and Amanda Carmack” (Library Journal).   London, 1582: Mistress Rosamond Jaffrey, a talented and well-educated woman of independent means, is recruited by Queen Elizabeth I’s spymaster, Sir Francis Walsingham, to be lady-in-waiting to Lady Mary, a cousin of the queen. With her talent in languages and knowledge of ciphers and codes, she will be integral to the spymaster as an intelligence gatherer, being able to get close to Lady Mary just at the time when she is being courted by Russia’s Ivan the Terrible.   But there are some nobles at court who will do anything they can to thwart such an alliance, and Rosamond soon realizes the extent of the danger, when a prominent official is murdered and then an attempt is made on both her and Lady Mary’s lives. In her quest to protect her ward—and her estranged husband—Rosamond must put herself in mortal peril . . .   “First-rate storytelling, a fine choice for historical-mystery fans.” —Booklist   “A diverting series, with lots of twists and turns and Tudor tidbits.” —Kirkus Reviews
    Show book