Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Harbour Master - cover

The Harbour Master

Daniel Pembrey

Publisher: No Exit Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

For fans of John Harvey's Charlie Resnick series and Michael Connelly's Harry Bosch, The Harbour Master is a fast-paced detective investigation set in the evocative locale of Amsterdam.
Henk van der Pol is a 30 year term policeman, a few months off retirement. When he finds a woman's body in Amsterdam Harbour, his detective instincts take over, even though it's not his jurisdiction. Warned off investigating the case, Henk soon realises he can trust nobody, as his search for the killer leads to the involvement of senior police officers, government corruption in the highest places, Hungarian people traffickers, and a deadly threat to his own family. . .
Available since: 09/22/2016.
Print length: 320 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Optical Illusions - Over 80 of the most mind-bending brain-melting illusions ever invented - cover

    Optical Illusions - Over 80 of...

    Tim Leng

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An amazing collection of puzzles to leave you speechless. Blow your mind with this amazing collection of illusions that will challenge your brain's sense of perception and have you wondering what on earth is going on. In Optical?Illusions you will find familiar classics like the impossible staircase, alongside modern takes like the disappearing ghost. There are illusions that will make the page look like it is moving, ones that will create images behind your closed eyes, 3-D images that will jump out of the page, illusions that will challenge your sense of perspective, magic eye puzzles, plus colours and shapes that will appear out of nowhere, making this a must-have for any fan of optical illusions
    Show book
  • Easy Elegant Punchneedle - Stunning Accessories & Three-Dimensional Miniatures - cover

    Easy Elegant Punchneedle -...

    Marinda Stewart

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Take your embroidery to the next level with this guide that focuses on the most delicate and refined elements of punchneedle to achieve detail and realism.   Create elegant accessories, eye-catching home décor, and impressive miniatures with the beautiful, intricate craft of punchneedle embroidery. This book has all the information you need to learn punchneedle embroidery, plus full instructions for twenty creative projects. Learn to make unique three-dimensional flowers and butterflies as well as stylish embellishments that will make any handbag, journal, or other project stand out.
    Show book
  • Mountains of the Mind - Adventures in Reaching the Summit - cover

    Mountains of the Mind -...

    Robert Macfarlane

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The basis for the new documentary film, Mountain: A Breathtaking Voyage into the Extreme.Combining accounts of legendary mountain ascents with vivid descriptions of his own forays into wild, high landscapes, Robert Macfarlane reveals how the mystery of the world's highest places has come to grip the Western imagination—and perennially draws legions of adventurers up the most perilous slopes.His story begins three centuries ago, when mountains were feared as the forbidding abodes of dragons and other mysterious beasts. In the mid-1700s the attentions of both science and poetry sparked a passion for mountains; Jean-Jacques Rousseau and Lord Byron extolled the sublime experiences to be had on high; and by 1924 the death on Mount Everest of an Englishman named George Mallory came to symbolize the heroic ideals of his day. Macfarlane also reflects on fear, risk, and the shattering beauty of ice and snow, the competition and contemplation of the climb, and the strange alternate reality of high altitude, magically enveloping us in the allure of mountains at every level.
    Show book
  • Gastropolis - Food & New York City - cover

    Gastropolis - Food & New York City

    Annie Hauck-Lawson, Jonathan...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This irresistible sampling of NYC’s rich food heritage takes readers on a cultural and historical journey from Brooklyn to the Bronx and beyond.   Whether you're digging into a slice of cherry cheesecake, burning your tongue on a piece of Jamaican jerk chicken, or slurping the broth from a juicy soup dumpling, eating in New York City is a culinary adventure unlike any other in the world.Gastropolis explores the historical, cultural, and personal relationship between New Yorkers and the food they eat. Beginning with the origins of local favorites, such as Mt. Olympus bagels and Puerto Rican lasagna, the book looks back to early farming practices and the pre-European fare of the Leni Lenape. Essays trace the function of place and memory in Asian cuisine, the rise of Jewish food icons, the evolution of food enterprises in Harlem, the relationship between restaurant dining and identity, and the role of peddlers and markets in guiding the ingredients of our meals. Touching on everything from religion to nutrition; agriculture to economics; and politics to psychology, Gastropolis tells a multifaceted story of immigration, amalgamation, and the making of New York’s distinctively delicious flavor
    Show book
  • Shadow Lines - Searching For the Book Beyond the Shelf - cover

    Shadow Lines - Searching For the...

    Nicholas Royle

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    'Shadow Lines very much celebrates the world of books' —Telegraph
    Nicholas Royle's love of second-hand books and the 'inclusions' he finds inside them, their presence betrayed by 'shadow lines', is about making connections. Someone has scribbled a number in a book? He'll text or call. An old address? He'll return the book to where it used to live. Follow him as he walks between bookshops, reading as he goes, on the hunt for treasure, for ways to make us feel closer – to the books on our shelves, to each other and to our own lives.
    Share in Royle's enthusiasm for the Rev W Awdry's Railway Series, Penguin Modern Stories and Paul Auster's cult classic, The New York Trilogy, as well as books in art and film.
    The brilliant follow-up to the instant classic, White Spines.
    Praise for Shadow Lines
    ★★★★★ 'What links Bin Laden's bodyguard to an Oxfam bookshop in London?What links Bin Laden's bodyguard to an Oxfam bookshop in London?. In Shadow Lines, Nicholas Royle tracks down the owners of objects slipped into second-hand books – with amusing and surprising results.' —Ian Sansom The Telegraph
    If you love books, bookshops and browsing, this is your perfect all-year gift – head to your happy place with a copy Shadow Lines today! (Note: 'inclusions' not supplied.)
    Show book
  • Did You Know That…? - "Revised and Expanded" Edition: Surprising-But-True Facts About History Science Inventions Geography Origins Art Music and More - cover

    Did You Know That…? - "Revised...

    Marko Perko

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Did You Know That . . . ?: “Revised and Expanded” Edition: Surprising-But-True Facts About History, Science, Inventions, Geography, Origins, Art, Music, and More is an uncommon compendium of knowledge that will astound, demystify, edify, and debunk. It is a book of ambitious design that is both eminently informative and vastly entertaining. Assiduously researched, it will be the arbiter of disagreements and will stand cherished misconceptions right on their heads. It will also expose factoids, unmask present-day orthodoxy, identify misinformation, clarify the confusing, and present new information. Did You Know That . . . ? is all you need to know . . . for knowledge is power!  
    Show book