Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
This Is NPR - The First Forty Years - cover

This Is NPR - The First Forty Years

Cokie Roberts, Noah Adams, David Folkenflik, Ari Shapiro, Susan Stamberg, John Ydstie, Renée Montagne

Publisher: Chronicle Books LLC

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A celebration of National Public Radio “full of short histories from familiar names . . . [a] retrospective illustrating just how much they have given us” (Publishers Weekly). 
 
“Always put the listener first” has been NPR’s mantra since its inception in 1970, and the result is that its programming attracts tens of millions of listeners every week. This beautifully designed volume chronicles the first forty years of NPR’s storied history, featuring dozens of behind-the-scenes photos, essays, and original reporting by a who’s who of NPR staff and correspondents, and transcripts of memorable interviews. Beyond an entertaining and inspiring tribute to NPR’s remarkable history, this book is an intimate look at the news and stories that have shaped our world, from the people who were on the ground and on the air.  
 
With contributions from: Steve Inskeep * Neal Conan * Robert Siegel * Nina Totenberg * Linda Wertheimer * Scott Simon * Melissa Block * P.J. O’Rourke * David Sedaris * Sylvia Poggioli * Ira Flatow * Paula Poundstone * Daniel Schorr * and many more  
 
One of Cool Hunter’s Top Five Books of the Year
Available since: 08/24/2012.
Print length: 256 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • So Conceived and So Dedicated - Intellectual Life in the Civil War-Era North - cover

    So Conceived and So Dedicated -...

    Lorien Foote, Kanisorn...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Outstanding essays” exploring how educated Northerners viewed, and discussed, the Civil War (Michael B. Ballard, Civil War News).   With contributions from multiple historians, this volume addresses the role intellectuals played in framing the Civil War and implementing their vision of a victorious Union. Broadly defining “intellectuals” to encompass doctors, lawyers, sketch artists, college professors, health reformers, and religious leaders, the essays address how these thinkers disseminated their ideas, sometimes using commercial or popular venues and organizations to implement what they believed.   To what extent did educated Americans believe that the Civil War exposed the failure of old ideas? Did the Civil War promote new strains of authoritarianism in northern intellectual life, or reinforce democratic individualism? How did it affect northerners’ conception of nationalism and their understanding of their relationship to the state? These essays explore myriad topics, including:   *How antebellum ideas about the environment and the body influenced conceptions of democratic health *How leaders of the Irish American community reconciled their support of the United States and the Republican Party with their allegiances to Ireland and their fellow Irish immigrants *How intellectual leaders of the northern African American community explained secession, civil war, and emancipation *The influence of southern ideals on northern intellectuals *Wartime and postwar views from college and university campuses—and the ideological acrobatics that professors at Midwestern universities had to perform in order to keep their students from leaving the classroom *How northern sketch artists helped influence the changing perceptions of African American soldiers over the course of the war   Collectively, So Conceived and So Dedicated offers an in-depth look at this part of the nation’s intellectual history—and suggests that antebellum modes of thinking remained vital and tenacious well after the Civil War.
    Show book
  • The Millionaires' Unit - The Aristocratic Flyboys Who Fought the Great War and Invented American Air Power - cover

    The Millionaires' Unit - The...

    Marc Wortman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Millionaires' Unit is the story of a gilded generation of young men from the zenith of privilege: a Rockerfeller, the son of the head of the Union Pacific Railroad, several who counted friends and relatives among presidents and statesmen of the day. They had it all and, remarkably by modern standards, they were prepared to risk it all to fight a distant war in France. Driven by the belief that their membership in the American elite required certain sacrifice, schooled in heroism and the nature of leadership, they determined to be first into the conflict, leading the way ahead of America's declaration that it would join the war. At the heart of the group was the Yale flying club, six of whom are the heroes of this book. They would share rivalries over girlfriends, jealousies over membership in Skull and Bones, and fierce ambition to be the most daring young man over the battlefields of France, where the casualties among flyers were chillingly high. One of the six would go on to become the principal architect of the American Air Force's first strategic bomber force. Others would bring home decorations and tales of high life experiences in Paris. Some would not return, having made the greatest sacrifice of all in perhaps the last noble war. For readers of Flyboys, The Greatest Generation, or Flags of Our Fathers, this patriotic, romantic, absorbing book is narrative military history of the best kind.
    Show book
  • Summary of Homo Deus - A Brief History of Tomorrow by Yuval Noah Harari - cover

    Summary of Homo Deus - A Brief...

    Readtrepreneur Publishing

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Homo Deus: A Brief History of Tomorrow by Yuval Noah Harari - Book Summary - Readtrepreneur(Disclaimer: This is NOT the original book, but an unofficial summary.)Mankind is undoubtedly one interesting species. We have managed to overcome and even come up with solutions to major world problems like famine, plague, and war. This book Homo Deus discusses the evolution of man over the years; from simple-minded beings who believed in God to intelligent man who questions God's existence and would rather rely on Science and data computation to get their answers.(Note: This summary is wholly written and published by Readtrepreneur It is not affiliated with the original author in any way)"History began when humans invented gods, and will end when humans become gods." - Yuval Noah HarariHomo Deus tells us of the journey throughout man's quest for power as they attempt to become more godlike, and the reasons behind why they could accomplish so much. Humankind has always thought of themselves as more superior than the other species and believed that their existence has great meaning and meant for a higher purpose.P.S. Open your eyes and mind as you learn more about our own species - mankind. As we read along, Homo Deus will make us ponder - Are we really that great as we think? Are we bettering ourselves, or self-destructing?The Time for Thinking is Over! Time for Action! Scroll Up Now and Click on the "Buy now with 1-Click" Button to Download your Copy Right Away!Why Choose Us, Readtrepreneur?? Highest Quality Summaries? Delivers Amazing Knowledge? Awesome Refresher? Clear And ConciseDisclaimer Once Again: This book is meant for a great companionship of the original book or to simply get the gist of the original book.
    Show book
  • The Voyage of the James Caird - cover

    The Voyage of the James Caird

    Sir Ernest Shackleton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Sir Ernest Henry Shackleton (1874 – 1922) was a polar explorer who led three British expeditions to the Antarctic. "The Voyage of the James Caird" is the story of Shackleton's 1916 failed attempt at a crossing of Antarctica from sea to sea via the pole. The expedition turned to disaster when Shackleton's ship, Endurance, became trapped in pack ice and was slowly crushed. The crew escaped by camping on the sea ice until it disintegrated, then by launching the lifeboats to reach Elephant Island. From there a party led by Shackleton set sail for the inhabited island of South Georgia, a stormy ocean voyage of 720 nautical miles and Shackleton's most famous exploit.
    Show book
  • Love and Asperger's - Practical Strategies To Help Couples Understand Each Other and Strengthen Their Connection - cover

    Love and Asperger's - Practical...

    Kate McNulty LCSW

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Everyday techniques to strengthen empathy and connection in neurodiverse couplesLife with a partner whose neurotype is different than yours is filled with moments that are surprising, unique, and sometimes challenging. If one of you is on the Autism Spectrum and the other is neurotypical, this Aspergers books is a helpful and inclusive guide to understanding the nature of your relationship and navigating its particular obstacles—while keeping your love for each other at the center of everything.Even though Aspergers is no longer an official diagnosis, many people—like you or your partner—may still fit the Aspergers profile and identify with the term. This book is designed with you in mind, featuring expert advice from relationship therapist Kate McNulty. In Love and Asperger's, you'll find engaging scenarios of couples experiencing similar challenges, combined with practical, evidenced-based solutions that address the needs and perspectives of both partners equally.
    Show book
  • The Shapeless Unease - A Year of Not Sleeping - cover

    The Shapeless Unease - A Year of...

    Samantha Harvey

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Samantha Harvey’s insomnia arrived, seemingly, from nowhere; for a year she has spent her nights chasing sleep that rarely comes. She’s tried everything to appease it. Nothing is helping.  What happens when one of the basic human needs goes unmet? For Samantha Harvey, extreme sleep deprivation resulted in a raw clarity about life itself.  Original and profound, The Shapeless Unease is a startlingly insightful exploration of memory, writing and influence, death and grief, and the will to survive.
    Show book