The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
No Smoke Without Fire - a gripping and addictive psychological thriller - cover

No Smoke Without Fire - a gripping and addictive psychological thriller

Claire S. Lewis

Publisher: Aria

  • 1
  • 7
  • 0

Summary

You can't run forever... 
 
Celeste has been running from her past for seven years. But now her past has found her. 
 
For seven years, Celeste has battled her guilt and shame over the tragic events that led to her little brother's death. But when her high-school boyfriend comes back into her life just as she gains a stalker, she wonders if there's more to the story than she realized. 
 
Celeste is determined to discover the truth – but she's about to find out that when you play with fire, you get burned... 
 
Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient, Sleep and Whisper Man.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Accident - A heart-stopping thriller with shocking secrets that will keep you hooked - cover

    The Accident - A heart-stopping...

    Dawn Goodwin

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A tragic accident, an unbearable loss and a marriage in crisis – but who can she trust or is she all alone? A gripping, debut psychological thriller that will keep you hooked. Perfect for the fans of Paula Hawkins and S.J. Watson. 
     
    Veronica Pullman's comfortable suburban life comes to a shuddering halt when her young daughter, Grace, tragically dies in a car accident. 
     
    Months later, unable to come to terms with her daughter's death, detached from her husband and alienated from her friends and family, a chance encounter on a rainy street pushes her into an unlikely new friendship. 
     
    Scarlet is everything Veronica could've been: feisty, adventurous, unpredictable. But as she approaches what would have been Grace's 10th birthday, it becomes clear to Veronica that the friendship she thought was saving her life could be costing her everything. 
     
    Consumed by grief and left questioning her own sanity, is there anyone she can really trust or is someone out to torment her as part of their twisted game? 
     
    'This novel is a beautifully written, if disturbing, exploration of how grief affects friendships, marriage and the main character's sense of self' Anita Davison.
    Show book
  • Zero Zone - A Novel - cover

    Zero Zone - A Novel

    Scott O'Connor

    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    When one of Jess Shepard’s critically-acclaimed art installations in the desert is hijacked by individuals experiencing a “religious awakening” inside, her artwork is turned into a media sensation for all the wrong reasons. She tries to move past the incident, the violent fallout, and the guilt of having inadvertently caused this pain; but she is forced to confront it head-on when she’s asked to help one of the very same individuals who distorted her artwork. 
    For fans of California noir, as well as art-world thrillers like those by B.A. Shapiro and Maria Hummel’s Still Lives and fictional cult narratives like The Girls, Zero Zone expertly joins the hazy atmosphere of the 1960/70’s art scene with the heart-pounding, goosebump-inducing reading experience of literary thrillers like Woman No. 7 
    Inspired by an incredibly positive experience at the James Turell Ganzfeld room at LACMA, and a contrasting, unsettling encounter with a reader at a public Q&A for one of his books, Scott O’Connor’s Zero Zone probes the responsibility of the artist. We celebrate the positive impact of art, but what about the negative experiences, and negative impacts that art can have? What, if anything, does the artist owe those impacted by their art in either direction? 
    Scott O’Connor is the Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Award winning-author of Untouchable, and his work has appeared in The New York Times Magazine, The Los Angeles Review of Books, and elsewhere. He is based in Altadena, CA. 
    Acquired by Counterpoint Editor in Chief Dan Smetanka, editor of Maria Hummel’s Still Lives
    Show book
  • The Malykant Mysteries - Complete Series - cover

    The Malykant Mysteries -...

    Charlotte E. English

    • 1
    • 7
    • 0
    To catch a killer, send a monster.
     
    There's a realm. Wreathed in ice and snow, drowning in the dark, Assevan needs a different kind of hero.
     
    There's a god. Merciless and cold, and quick to anger, the Lord of the Dead insists upon one thing only: vengeance for a murdered soul.
     
    And there's a man. A ruthless killer, Konrad is detective, judge and executioner in one. Dauntless, relentless, monstrous, he stands alone against the dark.
     
    Meet the Malykant. Justice will be served. 
     
    For the first time, all twelve Konrad Savast murder mysteries are collected in one volume! This gigantic compendium includes:
     
    DEATH'S DETECTIVE: The Rostikov Legacy, The Ivanov Diamond, Myrrolen’s Ghost Circus and Ghostspeaker
     
    DEATH'S AVENGER: The Corpse Thieves, The Spirit of Solstice, The House at Divoro and Snowbound 
     
    DEATH'S EXECUTIONER: The Zolin Conspiracy, The Tarasov Despite, The Malefic Curse and Shandral 
     
    Dive deep into Konrad's icy world. Binge the whole series in one volume. 
    Show book
  • The Leap - cover

    The Leap

    Sophie Avory

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The same golden September morning the town pathologists' teenage daugher is discovered hanging off a tree in the woods above Assisi (Umbria, Italy), the high-powered planning director of Perugia narrowly escapes death in a paragliding accident.  Commissario Lorenzetti senses foul play.  The police department is overstretched and he asks his best friend and fellow investigator Sister Lucia to look into the suicide.  But will her judgement be clouded by her own guilty secret?
     
    This is a story about leaps - real and metaphorical, taken and not taken.
    Show book
  • The Malefic Curse - cover

    The Malefic Curse

    Charlotte E. English

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Konrad Savast is the Malykant: the most secret servant of the God of Death. His job? To track down the foulest of murderers and bring them to The Malykt's Justice. No mercy. No quarter.
     
    Something is gravely amiss in the city of Ekamet.
     
    The body of a homeless man lies under a bridge, torn to pieces. The serpents say it’s not murder — not exactly. A merciless, violent death dealt by something... not human.
     
    The trail leads into the Spiritlands, and Konrad must follow — whatever dangers await. And the dangers will prove severe. For something ancient and evil stalks the city at night; in hunting it, the Malykant may learn more than he ever wanted to know about the past...
    Show book
  • Cleaning the Gold - A Jack Reacher and Will Trent Short Story - cover

    Cleaning the Gold - A Jack...

    Karin Slaughter, Lee Child

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    THE NEW SHORT STORY FROM KARIN SLAUGHTER AND LEE CHILD!  
    Jack Reacher and Will Trent 
      
    Twice the action. 
    Twice the drama. 
    Double the trouble.  
    Will Trent is undercover at Fort Knox. His assignment: to investigate a twenty-two-year-old murder.  His suspect's name: Jack Reacher. 
    Jack Reacher is in Fort Knox on his own mission: to bring down a dangerous criminal ring operating at the heart of America’s military.  Except now Will Trent is on the scene. 
    But there’s a bigger conspiracy at play – one that neither the special agent nor the ex-military cop could have anticipated. And the only option is for Jack Reacher and Will Trent to team up and play nicely. If they can…
    Show book