Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Sleepless Stars - cover

The Sleepless Stars

CJ Lyons

Publisher: Edgy Reads

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The series finale featuring “a heroine you’ll never forget and a story that whips by at bullet speed” by the New York Times–bestselling author (Tess Gerritsen). 
 
When you have no time left, you realize what you’re really living for . . .  
 
For Dr. Angela Rossi the past holds only pain and the future promises only an early death as Fatal Insomnia consumes her. 
 
But Angie will never stop fighting. Especially now that she’s learned that her disease—and the disease she’s discovered in dozens of young children—isn’t a quirk of heredity but rather the creation of an unknown cabal.  
 
While Angie explores the betrayals and lies that led to the Fatal Insomnia epidemic, Devon Price, whose daughter is also infected, uses his street skills to hunt those responsible. He’ll do anything to save his daughter. Lie, cheat, steal, kill . . . it doesn’t matter. Not as long as Esme is saved. 
 
In the end, their only hope might be a desperate deal with the devil: the cabal behind the man-made Fatal Insomnia epidemic. A deal paid with blood. A deal not everyone will survive. 
 
Praise for the Fatal Insomnia series 
 
“CJ Lyons scores a major triumph . . . a remarkable medical thriller equal to the very best of Robin Cook or Michael Crichton. This intelligent, well-crafted novel, based on a startlingly original premise, builds up tension to the breaking point and beyond, delivering plenty of surprises along the way. Totally absorbing and impossible to put down.” —Douglas Preston, #1 New York Times–bestselling author
Available since: 07/01/2016.
Print length: 330 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Fatal Decree - cover

    Fatal Decree

    H. Terrell Griffin

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When a serial killer shows up on Longboat Key after a twelve-year absence, Matt Royal is stymied. The first woman killed on Longboat Key has ties to a secretive government agency for which Matt's best friend, Jock Algren, works. Was this a coincidence or was she a targeted kill? 
    Matt's friend, Longboat Key detective Jennifer Diane (J.D.) Duncan, investigates the murders—but also seems to be a target of the killer. Why? And where has the killer been for the past twelve years? And why has he come to Longboat Key when his earlier kills were all in Miami? The mystery deepens when Guatemalan gangbangers try to kill Matt and J.D. and suspicions grow that Mexican drug cartels are somehow involved. 
    The director of Jock's agency orders him to do whatever is necessary to find the killer because of the death of the woman with connections to the agency. Will Jock simply take out the murderer or allow J.D. and the law to arrest, try, and convict the bad guys? 
    Matt's life is further complicated by J.D.'s growing dissatisfaction with island living—and her thoughts of returning to Miami.
    Show book
  • Lacey Doyle Cozy Mystery Bundle A: Murder in the Manor (#1) Death and a Dog (#2) and Crime in the Café (#3) - cover

    Lacey Doyle Cozy Mystery Bundle...

    Fiona Grace

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A bundle of books #1 (MURDER IN THE MANOR), #2 (DEATH AND A DOG), and #3 (CRIME IN THE CAFÉ) in Fiona Grace’s Lacey Doyle cozy mystery series. This bundle offers books one, two, and three in one convenient file, with over 150,000 words of reading.In MURDER IN THE MANOR (Book #1), Lacey Doyle, 39 years old and freshly divorced, needs a drastic change. She needs to quit her job, leave her horrendous boss and New York City, and walk away from the fast life. Making good on her childhood promise to herself, she decides to walk away from it all, and to relive a beloved childhood vacation in the quaint English seaside town of Wilfordshire. Wilfordshire is exactly as Lacey remembers it, with its ageless architecture, cobblestone streets, and with nature at its doorstep. Lacey doesn’t want to go back home—and spontaneously, she decides to stay, and to give her childhood dream a try: she will open her own antique shop. Lacey finally feels that her life is taking a step in the right direction—until her new star customer turns up dead. As the newcomer in town, all eyes are on Lacey, and it’s up to her to clear her own name.In DEATH AND A DOG (Book #2), spring is in the air. With last month’s murder mystery behind Lacey, a new best friend in her English shepherd, and a budding relationship with the chef across the street, it seems like everything’s finally settling into place. Lacey is so excited for her first major auction, especially when a valuable, mystery artifact enters her catalogue. All seems to go without a hitch, until two mysterious bidders arrive from out of town—and one of them winds up dead. With the small village plunged into chaos, and with the reputation of her business at stake, can Lacey and her trusty dog partner solve the crime and restore her name?In CRIME IN THE CAFÉ (Book #3), summer is nearly here, and Lacey has fallen more in love with the town and with her chef boyfriend. She has even made a best friend: the new owner of a local B&B. And when her friend needs her services for the decoration of her inn, buying nearly everything in Lacey’s antique shop, her business even gets an extra boost. Everything’s going perfectly—until someone mysteriously dies in her friend’s new B&B. Their village turned upside down and her new friend’s livelihood now in jeopardy, it’s up to Lacey and her dog to get to the bottom of the mystery.Book #4 in the series—VEXED ON A VISIT—is also available!
    Show book
  • The Decoy - The Crime Mystery You Don't Want to Miss - cover

    The Decoy - The Crime Mystery...

    Florrie Palmer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A retired lawyer becomes an amateur sleuth when her rural village is plagued by mysterious deaths in this cozy mystery by the author of Cliff Edge. 
     
    In the rural English village of Heronsford, Eliza and Jay Armstrong live in the farmhouse Eliza grew up in. Her now elderly mother lives in a small, converted barn close by. Surrounded by friends, the Armstrongs appear to have an idyllic life. But when two members of their social group die in suspicious circumstances, a cloud falls over the village. Are the deaths linked? And were they really accidents? One of the villagers believes they have the answers and is prepared to risk everything to get to the truth . . .  
     
    The Decoy is a gripping, suspenseful, cozy mystery perfect for fans of authors like J.R. Ellis, Claire Chase and Betty Rowlands.
    Show book
  • The Secret of Dr Vaux's Intrigue - cover

    The Secret of Dr Vaux's Intrigue

    William Le Queux

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    William Le Queux (1864 - 1927) was an Anglo-French journalist and writer, diplomat, traveller, flying buff and wireless pioneer who broadcast music from his own station long before radio was generally available.He was phenomenally successful as a novelist and short story writer, and many of his tales are based on his own exploits, albeit vastly exaggerated. He is widely recongnized as one of the first creators of the spy story genre, in which his diplomatic background, familiarity with European high society and his interest in technology combined to create a rich tapestry for his intrigues.InThe Secret of Dr. Vaux's Intrigue a British spy pits his wits against a French Cabinet Minister to acquire details of negotiations between France and Russia which will be essential to prevent a war in Europe.
    Show book
  • Don't Cry Now - cover

    Don't Cry Now

    Joy Fielding

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From a New York Times–bestseller, a “suburban supermom in peril, from a master of the supermom-in-peril genre...Domestic menace at its most menacing” (Kirkus Reviews). 
     
    “You’re in danger. You and Amanda.” 
     
    The warning draws Bonnie Wheeler to a place she has never been: 
     
    To the brutally slain body of her husband’s ex-wife . . . 
     
    To the shattering of her perfect world by a murdered woman’s secrets . . . 
     
    To a place where every truth becomes a lie—and every loved one is a stranger . . . 
     
    To a gathering darkness that threatens her innocent child—and herself . . . 
     
    To a home where nothing is safe, and there’s no one she can trust. 
     
    No one. 
     
    Praise for Joy Fielding: 
     
    “Joy Fielding [is] Canada’s answer to the late, great Mary Higgins Clark.” —Sarah Weinman, The New York Times Book Review 
     
    “We can always count on Joy Fielding to turn out a well-dressed, well-developed psychological suspense novel.” —The Globe and Mail 
     
    “Fielding masterfully manipulates our expectations.” —The Washington Post 
     
    “Joy Fielding has long been a go-to author for me. She never fails to deliver an edge-of-your-seat read.” —Karen Robards, New York Times–bestselling author of Darkness 
     
    “It is Fielding’s ability to get under the skin of her characters—and her readers—that has made her such a dependably bestselling author.” —The Calgary Herald 
     
    “Fielding has made the woman-in-jeopardy genre her own.” —People
    Show book
  • Killing Season - cover

    Killing Season

    L.T. Vargus, Tim McBain

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Two days. Fourteen dead. The next victim could be you. 
    The first bullet punches through the windshield of an SUV. A head shot. The driver's death is instantaneous. And it's only the beginning. 
    A sniper along I-20 kills eight and causes a 36 car pileup. Brutal. Efficient. 
    The next morning, the same individual stalks through a grocery store parking lot with a handgun. He takes out six innocent shoppers along with the store's front window before fleeing without a trace. 
    By the time Special Agent Violet Darger arrives in Atlanta, the city teeters toward panic. The vacant streets and restaurants paint an eerie picture. No one dares to venture out. 
    A killer walks among them. A shadow. And the public cowers just the way he wants them to. 
    Once more Agent Darger must identify with a murderer, must stare into the darkness to anticipate his next move. Putting herself in his head may be the only way to stop him. 
    The longer she takes, the higher the death toll. He will kill again and again. 
    But what hatred drives a man to such desperate, violent acts? And what price must one pay to invite that chaos inside themselves? 
    A page-turner packed with heart-stopping suspense. Fans of John Sandford, Karin Slaughter, Gillian Flynn, and Lisa Gardner should check out the Violet Darger series.
    Show book