Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Petronella and the Janjilons - cover

Petronella and the Janjilons

Cheryl Bentley

Publisher: Sparkling Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Janjilons are not what they seem. They look like a type of monkey but they are really children. How did they turn into Janjilons? And could it happen to anyone?
 
Behind this mystery is someone evil, Judge Ormerod who wants to be the next Duke of Westshire. With the help of three weird sisters, he has to rid the land of clever children from being an obstacle to him. The Janjilons work for him as the three sisters mete out punishment and keep them locked up.
 
Petronella starts to look into these strange happenings. But time is running out because when the Judge no longer needs the Janjilons, they will be destroyed.
 
Reviews
 
“What happens next? You’ll have to jump on this fast moving fairy tale thriller to find out!”  Bill Baker, Maine, USA
 
"... a great book for reluctant readers ... A good fantasy read with good vs. evil"  Ann Klausing, Books-a-Million
 
"Loved this book - engaged with it straight away - especially liked Betty. Delightful book. Well recommended."  Lorraine Baker, Bookseller, Wales
 
"There are three witches, a hidden school and a lot of evil in this story.  You'll meet characters that will surprise you and the ending is great ... Ms. Bentley does not write boring books.  I can see a young one reading this book more than once.  Maybe they can even write a story of their own..."  Jo Ann Hakola, The Book Faerie

Other books that might interest you

  • The Good Girls - cover

    The Good Girls

    Sara Shepard

    • 5
    • 53
    • 0
    Don’t miss the Freeform TV series, Pretty Little Liars: The Perfectionists!  
    From Sara Shepard, author of the #1 New York Times bestselling Pretty Little Liars, comes the shocking finish to The Perfectionists, a series perfect for fans of One of Us Is Lying and We Were Liars—with an ending you’ll have to read to believe! 
    Mackenzie, Ava, Caitlin, Julie, and Parker have done some not-so-perfect things. But even though they all talked about killing rich bully Nolan Hotchkiss, they didn’t actually go through with it. It’s just a coincidence that Nolan died in exactly the way they planned . . . right? 
    Except Nolan wasn’t the only one they fantasized about killing. When someone else they named dies, the girls wonder if they’re being framed. Or are they about to become the killer’s next targets? 
     
    Show book
  • Pretty Little Liars #3: Perfect - cover

    Pretty Little Liars #3: Perfect

    Sara Shepard

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    #1 New York Times bestselling series 
    The third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series that inspired the hit ABC Family TV show Pretty Little Liars. 
    In Rosewood, Pennsylvania, four perfect-looking girls aren’t nearly as perfect as they seem. Aria can't resist her forbidden ex. Hanna is on the verge of losing her BFF. Emily is freaking out over a simple kiss. And Spencer can’t keep her hands off anything that belongs to her sister. Although they try to keep their scandalous secrets hidden, someone named “A” has the dirt to bury them all alive…and it may be too late to outrun the truth. 
     
    Full of unexpected twists and shocking revelations, Perfect is the third book in New York Times bestselling author Sara Shepard’s compelling Pretty Little Liars series. 
    Show book
  • Epic Fail - cover

    Epic Fail

    Claire LaZebnik

    • 4
    • 135
    • 0
    Pride and Prejudice goes Hollywood in this winning romantic comedy inspired by Jane Austen’s classic. In her teen fiction debut, the author of Knitting Under the Influence goes back to high school for a tale of sisters, misinformation, and star-crossed love. 
    Will Elise’s love life be an epic win or an epic fail? 
    At Coral Tree Prep in Los Angeles, who your parents are can make or break you.  
    Case in point: As the son of Hollywood royalty, Derek Edwards is pretty much prince of the school—not that he deigns to acknowledge many of his loyal subjects. 
    As the daughter of the new principal, Elise Benton isn’t exactly on everyone’s must-sit-next-to-at-lunch list. 
    When Elise’s beautiful sister catches the eye of the prince’s best friend, Elise gets to spend a lot of time with Derek, making her the envy of every girl on campus. Except she refuses to fall for any of his rare smiles and instead warms up to his enemy, the surprisingly charming social outcast Webster Grant. 
    But in this hilarious tale of fitting in and flirting, not all snubs are undeserved, not all celebrity brats are bratty, and pride and prejudice can get in the way of true love for only so long.
    Show book
  • Being a Superhero Ser um Super-Herói - English Portuguese - Portugal - cover

    Being a Superhero Ser um...

    Liz Shmuilov, KidKiddos Books

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    English Portuguese (Portugal) bilingual children's book. Perfect for kids studying English or Portuguese as their second language.
     
    Many children dream of becoming superheroes. In this children’s book, Ron and his best friend Maya go through a fun journey to become heroes. They learn important superhero rules which help them complete their first mission. They work together and help Maya’s brother, learning new things about themselves. Do you want to become a superhero too?
    Show book
  • Seedfolks - cover

    Seedfolks

    Paul Fleischman

    • 5
    • 205
    • 0
    ALA Best Book for Young Adults ∙ School Library Journal Best Book ∙ Publishers Weekly Best Book ∙ IRA/CBC Children's Choice ∙ NCTE Notable Children's Book in the Language Arts 
    A Vietnamese girl plants six lima beans in a Cleveland vacant lot. Looking down on the immigrant-filled neighborhood, a Romanian woman watches suspiciously. A school janitor gets involved, then a Guatemalan family. Then muscle-bound Curtis, trying to win back Lateesha. Pregnant Maricela. Amir from India. A sense of community sprouts and spreads.   
    Newbery-winning author Paul Fleischman uses thirteen speakers to bring to life a community garden's founding and first year. The book's short length, diverse cast, and suitability for adults as well as children have led it to be used in countless one-book reads in schools and in cities across the country. 
    Seedfolks has been drawn upon to teach tolerance, read in ESL classes, promoted by urban gardeners, and performed in schools and on stages from South Africa to Broadway. 
    The book's many tributaries—from the author's immigrant grandfather to his adoption of two brothers from Mexico—are detailed in his forthcoming memoir, No Map, Great Trip: A Young Writer's Road to Page One. 
    "The size of this slim volume belies the profound message of hope it contains."  —Christian Science Monitor 
    And don’t miss Joyful Noise: Poems for Two Voices, the Newbery Medal-winning poetry collection!
    Show book
  • Victoria and the Rogue - cover

    Victoria and the Rogue

    Meg Cabot

    • 0
    • 15
    • 0
    Victoria 
    Growing up in far-off India, wealthy young heiress Lady Victoria Arbuthnot was accustomed to handling her own affairs -- not to mention everyone else's. But in her sixteenth year, Vicky is unceremoniously shipped off to London to find a husband. With her usual aplomb, however, Lady Victoria gets herself engaged to the perfect English gentleman, even before setting foot on British soil. 
    The Rogue 
    Hugo Rothschild, ninth earl of Malfrey, is everything a girl could want in a future husband: he is handsome and worldly, if not rich. Lady Victoria has everything just as she'd like it. That is, if raffish young ship captain Jacob Carstairs would leave well enough alone. 
    Jacob's meddling is nothing short of exasperating, and Victoria is mystified by his persistence. But when it becomes clear that young Lord Malfrey just might not be all that he's professed to be, Victoria is forced to admit, for the first time in her life, that she is wrong. Not only about her fiance, but about the reason behind the handsome ship captain's interference.
    Show book