Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Little Dorrit - With Appreciations and Criticisms By G K Chesterton - cover

Little Dorrit - With Appreciations and Criticisms By G K Chesterton

Charles Dickens, G. K. Chesterton

Publisher: Read & Co. Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Originally published as a serial from 1855 to 1857,  Dickens's novel “Little Dorrit” tells the story of Amy Dorrit, the youngest child of her family born and raised in a debtors prison whose life is changed when she meets Arthur Clennam, returning home from a 20-year absence. “Little Dorrit” heavily criticises societal shortcomings of the time, in particular the existence of debtors prisons—where Dickens's own father was incarcerated. This classic work is being republished now in a new edition complete with an introductory chapter from “Appreciations and Criticisms of the Works of Charles Dickens” by G. K. Chesterton.

Charles John Huffam Dickens (1812–1870) was an English writer and social critic famous for having created some of the world's most well-known fictional characters. His works became unprecedentedly popular during his life, and today he is commonly regarded as the greatest Victorian-era novelist. Although perhaps better known for such works as “Oliver Twist” or “A Christmas Carol”, Dickens first gained success with the 1836 serial publication of “The Pickwick Papers”, which turned him almost overnight into an international literary celebrity thanks to his humour, satire, and astute observations concerning society and character.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Mackerel Plaza - A Novel - cover

    The Mackerel Plaza - A Novel

    Peter De Vries

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An irresistible comedy about faith, desire, and middle-class morality from the man described by Kingsley Amis as “the funniest serious writer to be found on either side of the Atlantic” Pity the poor reverend Andrew Mackerel of the People’s Liberal Church of Avalon, Connecticut. His is the first split-level church in America, a bastion of modern thought and sophisticated virtue, yet even his prosperous parishioners are not immune to the backsliding evangelism infecting other parts of the country. One misguided congregant wants to sing hymns to hospital patients. Another goes so far as to put up a billboard with the message “Jesus Saves” written in phosphorescent green-and-orange letters. How is Mackerel supposed to write sermons with a vulgarity like that staring him in the face? Worse yet, the recently widowed pastor has fallen in love with Molly Calico, a former actress turned city hall clerk, well before the church is ready to stop mourning Mackerel’s saintly wife. Plans are under way for a shopping mall and memorial plaza commemorating the dear departed, and Mackerel must go to ever-greater lengths to keep his new romance a secret and his new paramour happy. Meanwhile, it is becoming clear that his devoted sister-in-law, Hester, has plans of her own when it comes to the reverend’s matrimonial future. As Mackerel twists and turns to get what he wants and avoid what he does not, the plot of this rollicking portrait of suburban piety kicks into high—and hilarious—gear.
    Show book
  • #VERYFAT #VERYBRAVE - The Fat Girl's Guide to Being #Brave and Not a Dejected Melancholy Down-in-the-Dumps Weeping Fat Girl in a Bikini - cover

    #VERYFAT #VERYBRAVE - The Fat...

    Nicole Byer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The actress, comedian, and podcaster extraordinaire's guide to being a #brave, bikini-wearing badass.If you’ve ever seen a fat person post a bikini shot on social media, you already know that they are #verybrave, because apparently existing in a fat body in public is #brave. I, Nicole Byer, wrote this book to 1. share my impressive bikini collection and my hot body with the world and 2. help other people feel #brave by embracing their body as it is. In this book, I share my journey to becoming #brave, give you my hot tips and tricks—on how to find the perfect bikini, how to find your own #bravery, and how to handle haters—and serve you over 100 bikini looks. 
    Show book
  • Twisted Agenda: Shocking Page-Turning International Crime Thriller - cover

    Twisted Agenda: Shocking...

    Damian McNicholl

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    'A compelling and entertaining romp... thoroughly engrossing.' --Patricia Wood, shortlisted for the 2008 Orange Prize 
    'A beautifully paced and balanced novel.' --Seamus Deane, Booker Prize shortlistee 
    Desperate to escape his predetermined existence, Danny decides to break out from life in Northern Ireland, and move to London. He then meets Piper, a friendly and outgoing American girl on a quest of her own. 
    Two very different worlds are thrown together as Danny is willingly absorbed into unfamiliar territory. However, when the Hammersmith Bridge is bombed, Piper disappears without a trace and Danny finds himself the centre of a police investigation, hounded by whispers of the IRA. 
    Dark and humorous, Danny and Piper's story is one of dysfunctional parenting, clashing motives and twenty-something's negotiating love and big city life. 
    Perfect for fans of Vince Flynn, Tom Clancy and Brad Thor
    Show book
  • Crazy Bosses and Sun Tzu - cover

    Crazy Bosses and Sun Tzu

    Stanley Bing

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The ancient Chinese philosopher Sun Tzu taught that readiness is all, that knowledge of oneself and the enemy is the foundation of strength, and that those who fight best are those wise enough not to fight at all. These people were revered and known as "warrior-sages." Now, we refer to them as "suckers." Sun Tzu Was a Sissy teaches you how to wage war, win, and enjoy the plunder in the real world. Students of Master Stanley Bing will learn how to plan and execute battles that hurt other people a lot and advance their flags and those of their friends. Every other book on the "Art of War" bows low to Sun Tzu. This one tells him to get lost.
    Show book
  • Love Voltaire Us Apart - A Philosopher’s Guide to Relationships - cover

    Love Voltaire Us Apart - A...

    Julia Edelman

    • 2
    • 0
    • 0
    What would Kant’s sexts look like? How would Jean-Paul Sartre and Simone de Beauvoir break up? What would Confucius think of Tinder?
    
    
    Love Voltaire Us Apart is a hilarious spoof relationship guide with a philosophical edge, made up of philosophers’ love letters, advice columns and breakup letters.
    
    
    From Confucius learning the Golden Rules of dating to Simone de Beauvoir considering bangs after breaking up with Jean-Paul Sartre, comedy writer Julia Edelman views the love lives of prominent philosophers through a clever and contemporary lens. She points out that Margaret Fuller is the “Carrie” of transcendentalism, and Nietzsche will always find a way to make a bad breakup infinitely worse.
    
    
    “Getting Meta(Physical)—Who is Your Philosopher Crush?” is the only quiz you’ll need to find your soul mate, and “How To Know if Your Man is Writing a Manifesto” will show you how to avoid losing your relationship to imminent revolution.
    
    
    Based on Edelman’s New Yorker article, “Excerpts from Philosophers’ Breakup Letters Throughout History”, Love Voltaire Us Apart is funny, smart, refreshingly original, and brought to life with charming illustrations by Hallie Bateman.
    Show book
  • Last of the Summer Moët - romantic comedy from the author of The Governess - cover

    Last of the Summer Moët -...

    Wendy Holden

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    TREAT YOURSELF to a sparkling romantic comedy... Last of the Summer Moët  is a bottle of champagne in book form! 
     
    'Effing marvellous' JILLY COOPER. 'Funny and smart' INDIA KNIGHT. 'Total bliss' DAILY MAIL. 
     
    Wendy Holden's warm and funny comic heroine Laura Lake is back. And this time, she's gone rural... 
     
    Laura Lake, editor of glossy magazine Society, is always on the hunt for scandalous scoops to fill her pages. Now she's discovered a top-secret village in the English countryside where the rich and famous own weekend retreats. Where film stars, Turner-prize winners and billionaires park their helicopters outside the gastropub and buy £100 sourdough loaves from the deli. 
     
    Outsiders are strictly forbidden. But luckily Laura's best friend Lulu, a logo-obsessed socialite with a heart as huge as her sunglasses, suddenly fancies a quiet life in the country... 
     
    But life in this enchanted rural idyll is harder than it looks. A brawl at the world's poshest pub quiz nearly brings down the government. And gossip from rehearsals of the midsummer pantomime threatens to tear the village apart... 
     
    Can Laura write her exposé before the snobbish villagers blow her cover and suss her true identity? 
     
    WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT WENDY HOLDEN: 
     
    'A brilliant, funny read ... Perfect escapism from the daily grind' 
     
    'Move over Sophie Kinsella - there's a new Chick Lit queen in town' 
     
    'Escapism in its purest form ... A little gem' 
     
    'Pure fun, escapism and self indulgence. Delicious!'
    Show book