Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
It's All Right Now - A Novel - cover

It's All Right Now - A Novel

Charles Chadwick

Publisher: HarperCollins e-books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Meet Tom Ripple, a man with an uncommon outlook on his common life. Through the vividness of his voice and his growing sense of the sorrow and absurdity of the world, Tom Ripple becomes an unusually appealing antihero, aware of his ordinariness and the limits of his intelligence, with a ribald sense of humor, and a clumsiness in his attempts at emotional connection with others. He is a bewildered everyman navigating his way through modern times. By turns poignant, funny, heartbreaking, and profound, It's All Right Now is a towering achievement and a singular work of the imagination.
Available since: 10/13/2009.
Print length: 692 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Pocket Dictionary of the Vulgar Tongue - cover

    A Pocket Dictionary of the...

    Francis Grose

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A profane guide to the slang from eighteenth-century London’s backstreets and taverns and how to use the antique jargon and curse words in modern conversation.   This slang dictionary gathers the most amusing and useful terms from English history and helpfully presents them to be used in the conversations of today.   Originally published in 1785, A Classical Dictionary of the Vulgar Tongue was one of the first lexicons of English slang, compiled by a militia captain who collected the terms he overheard on his late-night excursions to London’s slums, dockyards, and taverns. Now the legacy lives on in this colorful pocket dictionary.  Learn the origin of phrases like “birthday suit” and discover slang lost to time  An unexpected marriage of lowbrow humor and highbrow wit A Pocket Dictionary of the Vulgar Tongue is perfect for enlivening contemporary conversation with historical phrases; it includes a topical list of words for money, drunkenness, the amorous congress, male and female naughty bits, and so on.  A funny book for wordplay, language, swearing, and insult fans, as well as fans of British humor and culture  Perfect for those who loved How to Speak Brit: The Quintessential Guide to the King’s English, Cockney Slang, and Other Flummoxing British Phrases by Christopher J. Moore; Knickers in a Twist: A Dictionary of British Slang by Jonathan Bernstein; and The Official Dictionary of Sarcasm by James Napoli
    Show book
  • Community Klepto - A Novel - cover

    Community Klepto - A Novel

    Kelly I Hitchcock

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This recording has been digitally produced by DeepZen Limited, using a synthesized version of an audiobook narrator’s voice under license. DeepZen uses Emotive Speech Technology to create digital narrations that offer a similar listening experience to human narration.  
     
    Ann Josephson is a twenty-five-year-old sociopath whose compulsive kleptomania manifests itself in the most unlikely of places: the community center where she works out every day. The walls of the community center insulate her from the terrors of the outside world, which include her freelance work as a graphic artist; her socialite parents, who pay the better part of her living expenses; her therapist, who devotedly punches the clock; and the dark void of romantic relationships.As Ann battles the inner demons that plague her millennial psyche, she must also battle the fiends that plague her at the gym: the loudly grunting beefcake who can’t be bothered to drop his weights at a reasonable volume, the naked old lady in the locker room using a towel as butt floss, the housewife in yoga pants that obviate the need for yoga wheeling her double stroller up and down the indoor track. Set in suburban Kansas City in the early 2010s, Community Klepto—a droll combination of Bridget Jones’ Diary and Choke—makes incarnate the characters and shenanigans that go on in every gym in the world.
    Show book
  • Uncle John's Bathroom Reader Plunges into the Presidency - cover

    Uncle John's Bathroom Reader...

    Institute Bathroom Readers'

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Three cheers for the red, white, and bloopers . . . A US treasury of gaffes, goofs, and weird White House trivia!   If they advertised the job opening for President of the United States, the ad would be pretty short. The only basic requirements are to be a natural-born American citizen and at least thirty-five years old. Now you can learn about some of the successful applicants in this special “Chief Executive” edition of Uncle John’s Bathroom Reader!   We’ve dug up the most compelling and confounding dirt . . . er . . . statistics on these otherwise ordinary men who achieved great power. Which ones used it wisely? Which ones squandered it? And which ones would have rather been fishing? You’ll get an up-close and personal look at each Oval Officer. From the birth of the country to modern-day yuks, Uncle John’s Bathroom Reader Plunges into the Presidency is packed with more than 300 pages of amusing anecdotes, little-known history, fun quizzes, and more! Read about . . .   * Ford’s famous fall and other presidential gaffes * White House ghosts * Homer Simpson takes on the presidency * Ails of the chiefs * Was President Buchanan gay? * Chief Executive Culinary Delights * Mr. President at the bat * Prezzy lols (“If I were two-faced, would I be wearing this one?” —Abraham Lincoln) and much, much more!
    Show book
  • Indiscretions of Archie - cover

    Indiscretions of Archie

    P. G. Wodehouse

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It wasn't Archie's fault really. It's true he went to America and fell in love with Lucille, the daughter of a millionaire hotel proprietor and if he did marry her--well, what else was there to do?From his point of view, the whole thing was a thoroughly good egg; but Mr. Brewster, his father-in-law, thought differently, Archie had neither money nor occupation, which was distasteful in the eyes of the industrious Mr. Brewster; but the real bar was the fact that he had once adversely criticised one of his hotels. Archie does his best to heal the breach; but, being something of an ass, genus priceless, he finds it almost beyond his powers to placate "the man-eating fish" whom Providence has given him as a father-in-law. (Summary from the Gutenberg text)
    Show book
  • Third Person - cover

    Third Person

    Henry James

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Third Person is an amusing spoof on spooking. The 'ghostly man about the house' in whom two increasingly competitive maiden ladies come to take a proprietary interest is as unlikely to inspire terror as the wraith in one of James's earliest tales. The anticlimactic crisis may need a footnote for younger readers: a Tauchnitz was an unauthorized continental paperback edition of a british or american book which, purely for copyright reasons, was not supposed to be brought back to England. To think of this as smuggling certainly placed, for James's contemporaries, the crimes of the ghostly third person in a hilarious perspective. (Summary by Anthony Orr)
    Show book
  • Date with Malice - cover

    Date with Malice

    Julia Chapman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Suspicious goings-on at a retirement home lead to an intriguing investigation in Date with Malice, the second cosy crime novel in Julia Chapman's Dales Detective series. Perfect for fans of Richard Osman's The Thursday Murder Club and M.C. Beaton.'A Yorkshire Agatha Raisin' - DalesmanIt’s dark in the Dales this winter . . .When Mrs Shepherd arrives at the Dales Detective Agency, quite convinced that someone is trying to kill her, Samson O’Brien dismisses her fears as the ramblings of a confused elderly lady. But after a series of disturbing incidents at Fellside Court retirement home, he begins to wonder if there is something to her claims after all . . .With Christmas around the corner, Samson is thrown into a complex investigation. One that will require him to regain the trust of the Dales community. Faced with no choice, he enlists the help of a local – the tempestuous Delilah Metcalfe.Against the backdrop of a Yorkshire winter, Samson and Delilah must work together once again if they are to uncover the malevolence threatening the elderly residents of Bruncliffe. Could the danger be perilously close to home?Filled with wit, warmth and a cast of charming characters, continue the crime capers with Date with Mystery. Praise for The Dales Detective series:'Bags of Yorkshire charm and wit' Northern Echo'A classic whodunit set in the spectacular landscape of the Yorkshire Dales' Cath Staincliffe'Full of dry wit and clever plotting' Countryside'Chapman delivers on every level' Lancashire Evening Post'Enlivened with numerous subplots, the story moves at a cracking pace' Daily Mail
    Show book