Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Soul Thief - cover

The Soul Thief

Cecelia Holland

Publisher: Canelo Adventure

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

A devastating Viking raid leads Corban on an epic quest – the first in an extraordinary adventure series.Corban and Mav are twins born to the lord of an Irish coastal farmstead. Mav has the Second Sight, and is her father's favourite; Corban, however, is a deep disappointment. Exiled for refusing his father's command to take up his sword in the name of the High King, he is long gone when the dreadful Viking dragon ships unleash fire and slaughter on his people.His home destroyed, Corban must embark on an epic quest to save his sister from slavery. From the far coast of Ireland to the occupied village of Dublin, all the way across the sea to the Kingdom of the Danes, Corban is drawn to the trail of his sister, fighting for his life and striving to earn the influence and money he will need to buy her freedom.In a violent and uncaring world, everything is at stake.The Soul Thief, first in the Life and Times of Corban Loosestrife series, is perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Samantha Shannon and Giles Kristian.Praise for The Soul Thief‘A potent blend of fantasy, history, and romance… a rousing, vivid tale rich with Nordic lore’ Publishers Weekly‘Elements of romance, mysticism, and suspense are interwoven into one superlative, spine-tingling adventure’ Booklist‘Holland fleshes out a lively account of the time of Eric Bloodaxe. Recommended’ Library Journal
Available since: 02/25/2019.
Print length: 308 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Classic Short Stories - Volume 22 - Hear Literature Come Alive In An Hour With These Classic Short Story Collections - cover

    Classic Short Stories - Volume...

    H. P. Lovecraft, Mary Elizabeth...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Stories are one of mankind’s greatest artistic achievements.  Whether written down or spoken they have an ability to capture our imagination and thoughts, and take us on incredible journeys in the space of a phrase and the turn of a page. 
     
    Within a few words of text or speech, new worlds and characters form, propelling a narrative to a conclusion with intricate ease. Finely crafted, perfectly formed these Miniature Masterpieces, at first thought, seem remarkably easy to conjure up. But ask any writer and they will tell you that distilling the essence of narrative and characters into a short story is one of the hardest acts of their literary craft.  Many attempt, but few achieve.
    Show book
  • Night Before Christmas - cover

    Night Before Christmas

    Matthew W. Grant

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    FBI Agent Ross Benson just wants to have a normal Christmas – not one with dead bodies under the tree. Not one in which he is stalked by a serial killer. Not one which dredges up every unbearable memory he's tried to repress. 
    Unfortunately for Agent Benson, the murderer known as the crazed Christmas Eve Killer has other plans. The determined and mysterious killer taunts the FBI agent with gruesome twists on classic Christmas carols describing the bloody holiday crimes. 
    Find out who gets exactly what they deserve for Christmas when Agent Benson's hopes for a happy holiday season are once again in jeopardy. 
    Remember, 'tis the season to be gory.
    Show book
  • A Calm and Normal Heart - Stories - cover

    A Calm and Normal Heart - Stories

    Chelsea T. Hicks

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From Oklahoma to California, the heroes of A Calm & Normal Heart are modern-day adventurers—seeking out new places to call their own inside a nation to which they do not entirely belong. A member of the Osage tribe, author Chelsea T. Hicks's stories are compelled by an overlooked diaspora happening inside America itself: that of young Native people. In stories like "Superdrunk," "Tsexope," and "Wets'a," iPhone lifestyles comingle with ancestral connection, strengthening relationships or pushing people apart, while generational trauma haunts individual paths. Broken partnerships and polyamorous desire signal a fraught era of modern love, even as old ways continue to influence how people assess compatibility. And in "By Alcatraz," a Native student finds herself alone on campus over Thanksgiving break, seeking out new friendships during a national holiday she does not recognize. Leaping back in time, "A Fresh Start Ruined" inhabits the life of Florence, an Osage woman attempting to hide her origins while social climbing in mid-century Oklahoma. And in "House of RGB" a young professional settles into a new home, intent on claiming her independence after a breakup, even if her ancestors can't seem to get out of her way.
    Show book
  • Jeeves and the Unwanted Guest - Classic Tales Edition - cover

    Jeeves and the Unwanted Guest -...

    P. G. Wodehouse

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Jeeves stays his hand. Yes, that’s right. Even though a particularly well upholstered friend of Aunt Agatha chucks her bleary-eyed milk sot of a son Bertie for a month. Jeeves refuses to rally to the cause. Of course, if Bertie would simply throw out the offensive tie and hat, things might be smoothed over soon enough. But Bertie, just this once, has decided to be firm.
    Show book
  • Ambrose Bierce - A Short Story Collection - Volume 2 - A Horseman in the Sky & Other Stories - cover

    Ambrose Bierce - A Short Story...

    Ambrose Bierce

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ambrose Gwinnett Bierce was born on 24th June 1842 at Horse Cave Creek in Meigs County, Ohio. His parents were poor but they introduced him to literature at an early age, instilling in him a deep appreciation of books, the written word and the elegance of language.  
     
    Growing up in Koscuisko County, Indiana poverty and religion were defining features of his childhood, and he would later describe his parents as “unwashed savages” and fanatically religious, showing him little affection but always quick to punish. He came to resent religion, and his introduction to literature appears to be their only positive effect. 
     
    At age 15 Bierce left home to become a printer’s devil, mixing ink and fetching type at The Northern Indian, a small Ohio paper. Falsely accused of theft he returned to his farm and spent time sending out work in the hopes of being published. 
     
    His Uncle Lucius advised he be sent to the Kentucky Military Institute. A year later he was commissioned as an Officer.  As the Civil War started Bierce enlisted in the 9th Indiana Infantry Regiment.  
     
    In April 1862 Bierce fought at the Battle of Shiloh, an experience which, though terrifying, became the source of several short stories. Two years later he sustained a serious head wound and was off duty for several months. He was discharged in early 1865.  
     
    A later expedition to inspect military outposts across the Great Plains took him all the way to San Francisco. He remained there to become involved with publishing and editing and to marry, Mary Ellen on Christmas Day 1871.  They had a child, Day, the following year.  
     
    In 1872 the family moved to England for 3 years where he wrote for Fun magazine. His son, Leigh, was born, and first book, ‘The Fiend’s Delight’, was published. 
    They returned to San Francisco and to work for a number of papers where he gained admiration for his crime reporting. In 1887 he began a column at the William Randolph Hearst’s San Francisco Examiner.  
     
    Bierce’s marriage fell apart when he discovered compromising letters to his wife from a secret admirer. The following year, 1889 his son Day committed suicide, depressed by romantic rejection. 
     
    In 1891 Bierce wrote and published the collection of 26 short stories which included ‘An Occurrence at Owl Creek Bridge’.  Success and further works including poetry followed.  
     
    Bierce with Hearst’s resources helped uncover a financial plot by a railroad to turn 130 million dollars of loans into a handout. Confronted by the railroad and asked to name his price Bierce answered “my price is $130 million dollars. If, when you are ready to pay, I happen to be out of town, you may hand it over to my friend, the Treasurer of the United States”.  
     
    He now began his first foray as a fabulist, publishing ‘Fantastic Fables’ in 1899.  But tragedy again struck two years later when his second son Leigh died of pneumonia relating to his alcoholism. 
     
    He continued to write short stories and poetry and also published ‘The Devil’s Dictionary’.  
     
    At the age of 71, in 1913 Bierce departed from Washington, D.C., for a tour of the battlefields where he had fought during the civil war. At the city of Chihuahua he wrote his last known communication, a letter to a friend. It’s closing words were “as to me, I leave here tomorrow for an unknown destination,” Ambrose Bierce then vanished without trace. p>1 - Ambrose Bierce - An Introduction 
    2 - A Horseman in the Sky by Ambrose Bierce 
    3 - The Middle Toe of the Right Foot by Ambrose Bierce 
    4 - John Mortonson's Funeral by Ambrose Bierce 
    5 - Revenge by Ambrose Bierce 
    6 - The Boarded Window by Ambrose Bierce 
    7 - One Summer Night by Ambrose Bierce 
    8 - The Story of a Conscience by Ambrose Bierce
    Show book
  • Anne of Avonlea - cover

    Anne of Avonlea

    Lucy Maud Montgomery

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    At sixteen, Anne is grown up...almost. Her gray eyes shine like evening stars, but her red hair is still as peppery as her temper. In the years since she arrived at Green Gables as a freckle-faced orphan, she has earned the love of the people of Avonlea and a reputation for getting into scrapes. But when Anne begins her job as the new schoolteacher, the real test of her character begins. 
    Along with teaching the three Rs, she is learning how complicated life can be when she meddles in someone else's romance, finds two new orphans at Green Gables, and wonders about the strange behaviour of the very handsome Gilbert Blythe. As Anne enters womanhood, her adventures touch the heart and the funny bone.
    Show book