Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Last Respects - cover

Last Respects

Catherine Aird

Publisher: Open Road Media Mystery & Thriller

  • 2
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

In this C. D. Sloan Mystery by CWA Diamond Dagger winner Catherine Aird, a body is found in the river—but the victim didn’t drown  When local fisherman Horace Boller decided to row his boat out on the tidal backwash of the river one morning, he couldn’t have meant to land a catch like this. What he ended up with was a body floating on the river’s surface. And judging by the state of the corpse, the death was not a recent one.   The strange thing is, the coroner report indicates that drowning was not the cause of death. It’s up to the intrepid C. D. Sloan—and his markedly less intrepid assistant, Constable Crosby—to investigate.   Along the way, Calleshire’s most successful pair of puzzle-solving policemen will contend with a handful of additional strange deaths, befuddling municipal building codes, an antiquarian with interesting views on local history, and a fisherman who has his own motivation for helping (or perhaps hindering) the investigation. Can C. D. Sloan get to the bottom of this waterlogged killing?
Available since: 06/02/2015.
Print length: 186 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Rebellium - cover

    Rebellium

    Jim Mosquera

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Rebellium: A realistic thriller, alarmingly true to our times. The 2nd book in the Chandler Scott series. 
    The President of the United States issued a shocking Executive Order to freeze the 2020 election. The nation is pushing back in unprecedented ways. Journalist Chandler Scott, after being fired as an international TV reporter, is approached by an old friend to navigate the dangerous world of secessionists and patriot groups.  
    He encounters a mysterious cyber character sowing chaos. A government whistleblower leads Chandler to a chilling discovery of a sinister operation that will shock the nation. 
    In a fast-paced thriller, Chandler Scott continues his quest for the dream story. But his mentors may not be able to save him. Will he sacrifice his career, his love, and his life? 
    Fans of Tom Clancy, Stieg Larsson, The Black Mirror, and The Man in the High Castle will love the Chandler Scott series. As the USA faces tumultuous social, political, and economic challenges, readers will connect with the alarmingly realistic plight of Chandler’s world.
    Show book
  • The Man in the Queue - Inspector Alan Grant Book 1 - cover

    The Man in the Queue - Inspector...

    Josephine Tey

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The first of Josephine Tey's Inspector Grant mysteries concerns the murder of a man, standing in a ticket queue for a London musical comedy. With his customary tenacity, Grant pursues his suspects through the length of Britain and the labyrinth of the city.
    Show book
  • The Dublin Murder Mysteries Books One to Three - No Simple Death No Obvious Cause and No Past Forgiven - cover

    The Dublin Murder Mysteries...

    Valerie Keogh

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The first three police thrillers in the compelling series starring Irish detective Mike West. 
     
    This three-in-one volume of gritty, atmospheric mysteries featuring Garda Síochána detective Mike West includes: 
     
    No Simple Death 
     
    West follows a case from Dublin to Cornwall—but the suspect keeps disappearing into the mist . . .  
     
    Previously published under the title That One May Smile 
     
    No Obvious Cause 
     
    In the Dublin suburbs, West copes with a series of inexplicable crimes—and the return of a woman from his past . . .  
     
    Previously published under the title Close Ranks 
     
    No Past Forgiven 
     
    Detective Garda Sergeant Mike West takes the woman he loves on a seaside getaway, but when one of the locals meets a bizarre end, it becomes a working vacation. 
     
    Previously published under the title Murder on Clare Island
    Show book
  • A Stranger Here Below - A Gideon Stoltz Mystery - cover

    A Stranger Here Below - A Gideon...

    Charles Fergus

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Set in 1835 in the Pennsylvania town of Adamant, Fergus’s first novel in a new mystery series introduces Sheriff Gideon Stoltz, who, as a young deputy, is thrust into his position by the death of the previous sheriff. Gideon faces his first real challenge as death rocks the small town again when the respected judge Hiram Biddle commits suicide. No one is more distraught than Gideon, whom the old judge had befriended as a mentor and hunting partner. Gideon is regarded with suspicion as an outsider: he’s new to town, and Pennsylvania Dutch in the back-country Scotch-Irish settlement. And he found the judge’s body. 
     
    Making things even tougher is the way the judge’s death stirs up vivid memories of Gideon’s mother’s murder, the trauma that drove him west from his home in the settled Dutch country of eastern Pennsylvania. He had also discovered her body. 
     
    At first Gideon simply wants to learn why Judge Biddle killed himself. But as he finds out more about the judge’s past, he realizes that his friend's suicide was spurred by much more than the man’s despair. Gideon’s quest soon becomes more complex as it takes him down a dangerous path into the past. 
     
    A Stranger Here Below is so atmospheric, so compelling and convincing, that readers will taste the grit of the dirt roads, cringe at the unsanitary conditions and medical superstitions that inflame a flu epidemic, and marvel at the immensely arduous task of carrying out an investigation using the primitive tools of the early 1800s. Fergus leaves us breathlessly waiting for the next Gideon Stoltz mystery.
    Show book
  • Witches in the Kitchen - cover

    Witches in the Kitchen

    Danielle Garrett

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A magical inn bursting with paranormal delight. A picture-perfect seaside town filled with humans who don't know about their witchy neighbors. This cozy fantasy series has mystery, magic, and a splash of romance!Up until a week ago, my only knowledge of magic came from the movies. Unfortunately, it didn't stay that way.A bout of insomnia leads to witnessing a scene that belongs in a vampire flick—only, the fangs looked way more realistic. One second, I was running for my life, and the next, I found myself choking on a hairball in the back of an SUV.That's right . . . a hairball. See, my body's been hiding a pretty big secret, and I'm some kind of witch. One that turns into a cat when under duress. Apparently, my choices are fight, flight, or . . . fur.Overnight, I find myself thrust into a world of magic and mayhem beyond my most wild sleep-deprived delirium. Until the murderous vampire is captured, I'm placed into some kind of witch-ness protection program, and sent to live in a house full of actual monsters.What's the worst that could happen?Hey, at least running for my life will help me squeeze in my cardio.
    Show book
  • The Pearl Diver - cover

    The Pearl Diver

    Jeff Talarigo

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In 1948, a nineteen-year-old pearl diver's dreams of spending her life combing the waters of Japan’s Inland Sea are shattered when she discovers she has leprosy. By law, she is exiled to an island leprosarium, where she is stripped of her dignity and instructed to forget her past. Her name is erased from her family records, and she is forced to select a new one. To the two thousand patients on the island of Nagashima, she becomes Miss Fuji.  Although drugs arrest the course of Miss Fuji's disease, she cannot leave the colony. Instead, she becomes a caretaker to the other patients, and through the example of their courage, she gains insight into the deep wellspring of strength she will need to reclaim her freedom. Written with precision and eloquence, The Pearl Diver is a dazzling meditation on isolation and community, cruelty and compassion.
    Show book