What's better than reading? Reading withour limits :D
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
A Death at a Gentleman's Club - A Euphemia Martins Mystery - cover

A Death at a Gentleman's Club - A Euphemia Martins Mystery

Caroline Dunford

Publisher: Accent Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In the run up to Christmas 1913, Euphemia’s stepfather, the Bishop, proposes a family lunch at his club. Bertram, who is staying with the Mullers, runs her up to town in his car. He decides to let Euphemia confront her family alone before introducing himself as her fiancé. He retreats to the Billiard Room only to be summoned when a murder occurs. The members are very reluctant to call the police and Bertram is asked to sort out what actually happened before the police arrive. He enlists  Euphemia’s help, to her mother’s shock and, to everyone’s surprise, the Bishop’s approval.

Other books that might interest you

  • Murder in Georgetown - cover

    Murder in Georgetown

    Margaret Truman

    • 1
    • 10
    • 0
    The author of Murdered at the FBI delivers a political thriller that “ends with several bangs. It may be deemed the best of Truman’s bestsellers” (Publishers Weekly).   When the corpse of a young woman is found floating down Washington’s C&O Canal, everyone is shocked to learn the victim is none other than Valerie Frolich—a senator’s daughter, Georgetown graduate, and a rising star in the cutthroat world of investigative journalism.  Washington Post reporter Joe Potamos is good at unearthing the skeletons in the nation’s capital, so when he’s assigned the Frolich story, he immediately senses this case is rife with secrets. As he digs further to uncover the truth about Valerie’s death, it soon becomes apparent someone wanted the young, beautiful reporter dead.   And when Joe’s search reveals an evil labyrinth of intrigue involving murder, bribery, kidnapping, and even international espionage, he’ll have to race to find Valerie’s killer—before his own life is snuffed out. “Truman[’s] . . . murder mysteries . . . evoke brilliantly the Washington she knows so well.” —The Houston Post   “Truman does it again!” —United Press International  
    Show book
  • A Conspiracy of Wolves - cover

    A Conspiracy of Wolves

    Candace Robb

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    1374. When a prominent citizen is found dead in the woods, rumours spread like wildfire that wolves are running loose throughout the city. Persuaded out of retirement to investigate, Owen Archer is convinced that a human killer is responsible. Teaming up with Geoffrey Chaucer, Owen’s enquiries will draw him headlong into a deadly conspiracy.
    Show book
  • Blood of the Oak - Duncan McCallum #4 - cover

    Blood of the Oak - Duncan...

    Eliot Pattison

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The year is 1765, at the beginning of the Stamp Tax dissent, the first organized resistance to English rule.
    
     
    Duncan McCallum is drawn into the mystery of a series of murders and kidnappings that are strangely connected to the theft of an Iroquois artifact. In following the trail, he uncovers a network of secret runners supporting the nascent "committees of correspondence," engaged in the first organized political dissent across colonial borders. 
    
     
    When he is captured and thrown into slavery with the kidnapped runners, Duncan encounters a powerful conspiracy of highly placed English aristocrats who are bent on crushing all dissent. Inspired by an aged Native American slave and new African friends, Duncan decides not just to escape but to turn their own intrigue against the London lords.
    
     
    The fourth instalment of the Bone Rattler series moves ever closer to the beginning of the American Revolution.
    
     
    Blood of the Oak takes a fresh view on the birth of the new American nation, suggesting that the "freedom" that became the centerpiece of the Revolution was uniquely American, rising not just from unprecedented political discourse but also from the extraordinary bond with the natural world experienced by frontier settlers and native tribes.
    
     
     
    
     
    Praise for Blood of the Oak:
    
     
     
    
    "The fourth in Pattison's Bone Rattler series combines well-drawn fictional and historical personages in a vivid portrayal of a pivotal year in American history. Historical mystery at its best." — Booklist (Starred Review)
    
     
    "The fourth instalment in Pattison's Bone Rattler series is another complexly plotted historical mystery written in a baroque style highly suggestive of the period and unblinking in its portrayal of American history's dark lessons." — Kirkus
    
     
    ELIOT PATTISON is the author of The Skull Mantra, winner of a Edgar Award and finalist for the Gold Dagger, Water Touching Stone, Bone Rattler, Eye of the Raven and most recently, Original Death. Pattison resides in rural Pennsylvania with his wife, three children, two horses, and two dogs on a colonial-era farm.
    Show book
  • Cold-Blooded - Killer Nashville Noir - cover

    Cold-Blooded - Killer Nashville...

    Jeffery Deaver, Anne Perry,...

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    “Murder, mayhem, and mystery! Every story . . . is filled with suspense, sizzle and startling twists. I loved it!” ―Lisa Jackson, New York Times–bestselling author   Crime comes to the capital of country music in these all-new stories by mystery and thriller stars including Jeffery Deaver, Anne Perry, Robert Dugoni, Donald Bain, Jefferson Bass, and many more.   “Settings include backwoods hollows, late-night recording studios, seedy dives, quiet suburbs, sleek yachts, and tropical islands. Readers will meet Civil War re-enactors, college professors, song writers, spies, and the requisite lawyers and cops, as well as a being that just might be the devil. Among the highlights are Anne Perry’s ‘Shutter Speed,’ which takes the reader back in time to the fashionable haunts of 1930s British aristocracy, with Wallis Simpson and Edward, Prince of Wales, putting in an appearance. In ‘Regression,’ Jeffery Deaver offers a fresh and frightening look at the potential benefits and pitfalls of successful psychiatric treatment, and Mary Burton warms up a cold case in ‘The Keepsake.’ This is a book to keep by your bedside for those nighttime short story cravings.” —Publishers Weekly  Includes stories by Jefferson Bass, Catriona McPherson, Baron R. Birtcher, Donald Bain, C. Hope Clark, Jonathan Stone, Maggie Toussaint, Jeffery Deaver, Blake Fontenay, Jon Jefferson, Anne Perry, Heywood Gould, Dana Chamblee Carpenter, Mary Burton, Jaden Terrell, Robert Dugoni & Paula Gail Benson, Eyre Price, Steven James, Daco, and Clay Stafford
    Show book
  • Great Deception - Detective Cole Sullivan Returns - cover

    Great Deception - Detective Cole...

    Russell Warnberg

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Detective Cole Sullivan faces a challenge that threatens almost everyone close to him. Heading the HIU (Homicide Investigation Unit) headquartered in Augusta, Maine is his job, but this challenge forces him to step out of that role. Due to the dangers to his family he considers a new path and then the Navy comes calling.
    Show book
  • Dead Flowers - cover

    Dead Flowers

    Nicola Monaghan

    • 2
    • 43
    • 0
    She doesn’t trust the police. She used to be one of them.
     
    Hardened by ten years on the murder squad, DNA analyst Doctor Sian Love has seen it all. So when she finds human remains in the basement of her new home, she knows the drill.
     
    Except this time it’s different. This time, it’s personal...
     
    A page-turning cold case investigation, Dead Flowers is an intriguing, multi-layered story perfect for fans of Kate Atkinson’s Case Histories and British crime dramas like Line of Duty and Unforgotten.
     
    Shortlisted for the UEA Crime Fiction Award 2019
     
    --------------------
     
    Praise for Nicola Monaghan's previous works
     
    'A gripping, mile-a-minute British debut. Enthralling' - Kirkus Reviews
     
    'Monaghan's convincing characters swing unpredictably between terrifying and tender, and the often violent encounters usually have a bleakly funny edge' - Independent
    Show book