Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Monsters of Greek Mythology Volume One - cover

Monsters of Greek Mythology Volume One

Bernard Evslin

Publisher: Graymalkin Media

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This first volume of Bernard Evslin’s award-winning series introduces the monsters, demons, gods, and heroes of Greek mythology Athena, wise and powerful daughter of Zeus, is the most feared of all the goddesses. Poseidon, the “earth shaker,” rules the sea with his thunderous wrath. Each wants to control Olympus absolutely. Obsessed with destroying Poseidon, Athena summons her crows by day and owls by night to spy on his vast water realm. The long-simmering feud spawns a multitude of monsters, the most terrifying of which is the brass-headed colossus Amycus. This classic work features a sprawling cast of gods and mortals waging battle on land and by sea, from Zeus to the Titan god Prometheus, from Hades, who guards the gates of hell, to Circe, immortal weaver of spells, to the great war chief Ulysses, who sails in search of his long-lost home. Monsters of Greek Mythology brings to life fearsome creatures like giant, flame-spitting wingless dragons, a spider named Arachne, goats and swordfish endowed with magical properties, and the Cyclopes—one-eyed male and female goliaths even more powerful than the Titans.
Available since: 04/13/2023.
Print length: 950 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Glint - cover

    Glint

    Ann Coburn

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Ellie and her little brother Danny spend their lonely days making up stories about a young girl in a world of dragons and shape-shifters, a girl as brave and cunning as they would like to be. Five years later Danny disappears. The police have no clues. They fear he is dead, but Ellie knows better. She also knows that she is the only one who can find him. At the same time, in the world Danny and Ellie imagined, a young girl named Argent sets off on a quest of her own to reclaim a stolen dragon hatchling.As each girl makes her way closer to her goal, the boundaries between the worlds of fantasy and reality begin to blur until it's unclear where one world ends and the other begins. Gripping, compelling, and utterly absorbing, Glint is the story of two worlds—and two heroines—that readers will never forget.
    Show book
  • Digger and Me - cover

    Digger and Me

    Ros Roberts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Where do I feel at home?
    When I'm sitting with my dog, Digger.
    James splits his life between his mum's and his dad's houses. It's far from perfect. Especially now Dad doesn't have time for bike rides with him any more and Mum's always with her new boyfriend. The constant is Digger, his dog and best friend. He's the glue that holds the two halves of James's life together.
    So when James finds a lump on Digger's leg, everything changes. Digger is the one he can talk to about anything. But when it's Digger he needs to talk about, where can he turn?
    A touching story about family, friendship and finding your voice, for readers of Jacqueline Wilson, Lisa Thompson and I, COSMO.
    Show book
  • Iqbal - A Novel - cover

    Iqbal - A Novel

    Francesco D'Adamo

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When young Iqbal is sold into slavery at a carpet factory, his arrival changes everything for the other overworked and abused chidren there. It is Iqbal who explains to them that despite their master's promises, he plans on keeping them as his slaves indefinetely. But it is also Iqbal who inspires the other children to look to a future free from toil...and is brave enough to show them how to get there.  This moving fictionalized account of the real Iqbal Masih is told through the voice of Fatima, a young Pakistani girl whose life is changed by Iqbal's courage.
    Show book
  • A Home for Myrtle - cover

    A Home for Myrtle

    Leela Hope

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    This children's book is relatable for kids of any age. 
    Do your kids struggle with making friends? Do they sometimes feel like they don't belong? 
    A Home for Myrtle tells a tale about a friendly red monster who needs a place to live. 
    Myrtle the Monster feels like she doesn't belong anywhere and faces rejection in her search for a place to live. 
    She learns that even someone who seems like an unlikely friend can be the one who helps you in the end. 
    Aimed for ages 0-6, A Home for Myrtle provides a fun and interesting story for kids of all ages and is told through rhyming verse. 
    The Myrtle the Monster series is ideal for enjoyable bed-time stories.
    Show book
  • Moonshiner's Son - cover

    Moonshiner's Son

    Carolyn Reeder

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Twelve-year-old Tom Higgins is learning the craft of making whiskey. Even though Prohibition forbids the production and sale of alcoholic beverages, Tom is determined to be a good apprentice. He is, after all, a moonshiner's son. His father has raised moonshining to an art, and Tom wants nothing more than to please this rough, distant man.Then a preacher comes to the wilds of Virginia's Blue Ridge Mountains to rid Bad Camp Hollow of the "evils of liquor." This is when Tom and his father begin their campaign to match wits with the preacher and try to outsmart the law officers he calls in. Tom's father is eloquent in defense of a way of life long and respectfully lived by the Higgins family. But the preacher and his pretty daughter make a powerful case against it. And when drink causes a tragedy in the community, Tom Higgins is torn....
    Show book
  • Guide to The Hunger Games - The World of The Hunger Games - cover

    Guide to The Hunger Games - The...

    Caroline Carpenter

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Guide to the Hunger Games offers a new way to interact with the enthralling world of the young adult publishing phenomenon that is Suzanne Collins's Hunger Games trilogy. This companion guide provides deeper insight into the inspiration behind the thrilling adventure series, as well as the contemporary social and political themes at its root. The book comes at the perfect time for Hunger Games fans, with Lionsgate Entertainment's announcement that they will release a highly anticipated blockbuster film adaptation of the first book in 2012. Covering all the aspects of the series that fans love, and including an exclusive guide to winning The Hunger Games, this companion guide brings the world of Panem to life and is a must-have for all aspiring Tributes.
    Show book