Don't look for limitations, there are none.
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Face - cover

Face

Benjamin Zephaniah

Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens

  • 1
  • 421
  • 0

Summary

In the moving and compelling debut novel from Benjamin Zephaniah, a young man's life is completely changed when his face is badly scarred in a car accident.  
 
Martin seems to have it all. He's cool, funny, and he's the undisputed leader of the Gang of Three, who roam their East London estate during the holidays looking for fun. But one night after the Gang leave a late night rap club, Martin accepts a ride from Pete, a Raider's Posse gang member. Too late, he realises that the car is stolen, and that the police are after them.  
 
What happens next will change Martin's life and looks, and show him the true meaning of strength, courage, discrimination and friendship.   
 
Brilliantly written and with a real ear for dialogue, fans of Angie Thomas and Malorie Blackman will love Benjamin Zephaniah's novels for young adult readers:  
 
Refugee Boy 
Face 
Gangsta Rap 
Teacher's Dead

Other books that might interest you

  • The Deep 2 - Selkie Warrior - cover

    The Deep 2 - Selkie Warrior

    Finn Black

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A never-seen-on-screen series of original exciting adventure books featuring Ant, Fontaine, Kaiko and William, the stars of CBBC's number one programme The Deep, for 7+ readers. Watch the action, read the adventure! 
     
    The sea is deep and full of secrets ... The Nektons have been caught in a cyclone!  
     
    The family of daring underwater explorers manages to reach the shore of an island in the Arafura Sea. But something doesn't seem right. It looks like someone has been tampering with the Aronnax …  
     
     A secret discovery has caught the attention of a new enemy who will stop at nothing to get their hands on it. With danger lurking around every corner, can the Nektons escape using only their wits and their bravery? 
     
    Perfect for fans of Beast Quest, Sea Quest and Ninjago
    Show book
  • Perfect Season - cover

    Perfect Season

    Tim Green

    • 0
    • 18
    • 0
    In this sixth book of New York Times bestselling author Tim Green’s gripping Football Genius series, Troy must fight hard to win big. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica. 
    Troy's dreams of the big time have backfired. Sure, he's moved to New Jersey to start his new job as "genius" for the New York Jets, but his dad has taken his entire salary, leaving Troy and his mom broke. Instead of going to the private school of his dreams and playing for a football powerhouse, he's going to be part of a team with an unbroken losing streak. But Troy isn’t giving up without a fight. 
    As soon as he convinces Seth to coach his public school team, Troy feels ready for a perfect season. But when his knack for calling plays slips and his abilities as a quarterback are threatened, he has to dig deep to prove all the naysayers wrong. And it will take all of Troy's football genius to get this team to a perfect season.
    Show book
  • The Eighth Day - cover

    The Eighth Day

    Dianne K. Salerni

    • 0
    • 75
    • 0
    Fans of Percy Jackson will devour this first book in Dianne K. Salerni's time-bending series that combines exciting magic and pulse-pounding suspense. In this riveting fantasy adventure, thirteen-year-old Jax Aubrey discovers a secret eighth day with roots tracing back to Arthurian legend.  
    When Jax wakes up to a world without any people in it, he assumes it's the zombie apocalypse. But when he runs into his eighteen-year-old guardian, Riley Pendare, he learns that he's really in the eighth day—an extra day sandwiched between Wednesday and Thursday. Some people—like Jax and Riley—are Transitioners, able to live in all eight days, while others, including Evangeline, the elusive teenage girl who's been hiding in the house next door, exist only on this special day.  
    And there's a reason Evangeline's hiding. She is a descendant of the powerful wizard Merlin, and there is a group of people who wish to use her in order to destroy the normal seven-day world and all who live in it. Torn between protecting his new friend and saving the entire human race from complete destruction, Jax is faced with an impossible choice. Even with an eighth day, time is running out.  
    Stay tuned for The Inquisitor's Mark, the spellbinding second novel in the Eighth Day series!
    Show book
  • Warriors: A Vision of Shadows #3: Shattered Sky - cover

    Warriors: A Vision of Shadows...

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Erin Hunter’s #1 bestselling Warriors series continues in A Vision of Shadows #3: Shattered Sky. 
    ShadowClan has fallen. A group of rogues now rules the pine forest, and their cruel leader, Darktail, will not stop until he has conquered the rest of the Clans. Alderheart is more certain than ever that their only hope is to find the lost SkyClan and fulfill StarClan’s prophecy—before Darktail’s vicious reign puts an end to the warrior Clans forever. 
    Full of epic adventure and thrilling intrigue, this fifth Warriors series is the perfect introduction for readers new to the Warriors world—while for dedicated fans, it’s a long-awaited return to the era of Bramblestar’s ThunderClan, after the events of Omen of the Stars.
    Show book
  • Howl's Moving Castle - cover

    Howl's Moving Castle

    Diana Wynne Jones

    • 10
    • 208
    • 0
    Sophie has the great misfortune of being the eldest of three daughters, destined to fail miserably should she ever leave home to seek her fate. But when she unwittingly attracts the ire of the Witch of the Waste, Sophie finds herself under a horrid spell that transforms her into an old lady. Her only chance at breaking it lies in the ever-moving castle in the hills: the Wizard Howl's castle. To untangle the enchantment, Sophie must handle the heartless Howl, strike a bargain with a fire demon, and meet the Witch of the Waste head-on. Along the way, she discovers that there's far more to Howl—and herself—than first meets the eye.
    Show book
  • ABC's for Girls - Baby's Ages 1-3 - cover

    ABC's for Girls - Baby's Ages 1-3

    Patrick N. Peerson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    ABC's for Girls is a premium addition in the workbooks where it proves to provide a tremendous solution to all the little girls books for 1 year old out there by offerinng all that relates to them and renders them to learn with utmost persuation and enagagement with the book.• ABC's for Girls book has handwritten and rest of handcrafted content inside it which is comprised of all of such stuff which is usually considered as girls’ favorite on particular.• Best books for 2 year olds is fantastic for the little ages kids newborn baby books and also for the ones who are a progression from 0 to 5 years of age, it is ideally adequate for entire of such kids.• Best books for toddlers features letters with a vast variety of such things which are more closer to boys’ heart comprising of dolls, butterflies, castles and more.• Alphabet books for preschoolers is utterly magnificent present for several sorts of events including alphabet books for babies function to let you prove that you actually care for your loved ones.• Best Books for 2 Year Olds with whole of its attractive and exceptionals features is available at a cheap price without a financial burden.Patrick N. PeersonFunny Learn Play Team
    Show book