Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Face - cover

Face

Benjamin Zephaniah

Publisher: Bloomsbury Childrens

  • 1
  • 536
  • 0

Summary

In the moving and compelling debut novel from Benjamin Zephaniah, a young man's life is completely changed when his face is badly scarred in a car accident.  
 
Martin seems to have it all. He's cool, funny, and he's the undisputed leader of the Gang of Three, who roam their East London estate during the holidays looking for fun. But one night after the Gang leave a late night rap club, Martin accepts a ride from Pete, a Raider's Posse gang member. Too late, he realises that the car is stolen, and that the police are after them.  
 
What happens next will change Martin's life and looks, and show him the true meaning of strength, courage, discrimination and friendship.   
 
Brilliantly written and with a real ear for dialogue, fans of Angie Thomas and Malorie Blackman will love Benjamin Zephaniah's novels for young adult readers:  
 
Refugee Boy 
Face 
Gangsta Rap 
Teacher's Dead

Other books that might interest you

  • Being Toffee - cover

    Being Toffee

    Sarah Crossan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    I am not who I say I am,  
     and Marla isn't who she thinks she is. 
      
     I am a girl trying to forget.  
     She is a woman trying to remember.  
      
     Allison has run away from home and with nowhere to live finds herself hiding out in the shed of what she thinks is an abandoned house. But the house isn't empty. An elderly woman named Marla, with dementia, lives there – and she mistakes Allison for an old friend from her past named Toffee. 
      
     Allison is used to hiding who she really is, and trying to be what other people want her to be. And so, Toffee is who she becomes. After all, it means she has a place to stay. There are worse places she could be. 
      
     But as their bond grows, and Allison discovers how much Marla needs a real friend, she begins to ask herself - where is home? What is a family? And most importantly, who is she, really?
    Show book
  • Never Look Back - cover

    Never Look Back

    Lilliam Rivera

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    "Expertly blends reality and fantasy to explore what's behind love and loss, what it takes to heal." - Randy Ribay, author of National Book Award finalist Patron Saints of Nothing 
     
    Acclaimed author Lilliam  Rivera blends a touch of magical realism into a timely story about cultural identity, overcoming trauma, and the power of first love. 
     
    Eury comes to the Bronx as a girl haunted. Haunted by losing everything in Hurricane Maria--and by an evil spirit, Ato. She fully expects the tragedy that befell her and her family in Puerto Rico to catch up with her in New York. Yet, for a time, she can almost set this fear aside, because there's this boy . . . 
      
    Pheus is a golden-voiced, bachata-singing charmer, ready to spend the summer on the beach with his friends, serenading his on-again, off-again flame. That changes when he meets Eury. All he wants is to put a smile on her face and fight off her demons. But some dangers are too powerful for even the strongest love, and as the world threatens to tear them apart, Eury and Pheus must fight for each other and their lives. 
     
    Featuring contemporary Afro-Latinx characters, this retelling of the Greek myth Orpheus and Eurydice is perfect for fans of Ibi Zoboi's Pride and Daniel José Older's Shadowshaper. 
     
    A Pura Belpré Honor winner!
    Show book
  • Day-Old Child - cover

    Day-Old Child

    Carol Lynn Pearson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Beloved author of The Lesson, Will You Still Be My Daughter, and I’ll Walk with You, Carol Lynn Pearson is known for her tender and heartfelt stories. Her newest book, illustrating her poem titled Day-Old Child, will enchant adults and children alike. Observe the moment of utter joy when a parent first looks into their newborn baby’s eyes.
    Show book
  • The Great Christmas Tales and Fables - cover

    The Great Christmas Tales and...

    Avneet Kumar Singla

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The Great Christmas Tales and Fables is a collection of stories to bring back "the true spirit of Christmas" to the todays world where whole day just passes for running for ones livelihood. In this book we try to redirect the days to schools and Sunday schools and had written 20 great Christmas tales and fables. It contains the Nativity story, of course, but other parts of yesterday's Christmas will be much less familiar to modern readers. The song "White Christmas" has not yet been written, and the expression meant something more than snow. The people gave white gifts, to symbolize purity. Children may have had visions of sugar beet, but the book contains the unsweetened versions of two weepers by Hans Christian Anderson: "The Tiny Match Girl" and "the Fir Tree."(The tree learns to appreciate Christmas too late-at the campfire afterwards.) And Tiny Tom has to learn that he is lucky enough to get new skates for Christmas, even if they are the wrong brand. The book brings back great-grandfather's Christmas as a present for today. Christmas always came with problems. But it always came anyway. This Stories are full of faith, sacrifice, joy, and hope to excite the heart and carry fragrance of love to a cherished winter holiday.ContentsPREFACEThe Legend of the " White gifts"YOUR BIRTHDAY DREAMFIR TREETHE TINY MATCH GIRLTINY IVORYTHE STORY OF THE SHEPHERDTHE STORY OF CHRISTMASTHE LEGEND OF THE CHRISTMAS TREETINY ALBERTHOW THE FIR TREE BECAME A CHRISTMAS TREE? THE THREE MAGI IN THE WEST AND THEIR SEARCH FOR CHRISTTINY GRETCHEN AND THE WOODEN SHOETHE TINY SHEPHERDBABOUSCKATHE BOY WITH THE BOXTHE WORKER IN SANDALWOODTHE SHEPHERD WHO DID NOT GOPAULINAS CHRISTMASFOR US A CHILD IS BORNSTAR
    Show book
  • Outlaws - cover

    Outlaws

    Jen Calonita

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    WANTED: ROYAL ACADEMY OUTLAWS
     
    Things are not looking great for Princess Devin Nile. In the past 24 hours, she and her four best friends have gotten kicked out of school, banished to the Hollow Woods, and declared as outlaws. (That's what happens when you accuse the Headmistress of Royal Academy of being in league with villains.) But Devin's not about to go down without a fight. Step one? Find the famous Red Riding Hood and her vigilante friends for backup. Step two? Come up with a plan to expose the truth about Headmistress Olivina to all of Enchantasia...or risk their homeland falling under villainous rule.
     
    No pressure, right?
    Show book
  • Girl from Nowhere - cover

    Girl from Nowhere

    Tiffany Rosenhan

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    "A fast-paced spy thriller with enough twists and turns to keep readers entertained." - Publishers Weekly 
     
    Red Sparrow meets One of Us Is Lying in this action-packed, romance-filled YA debut about a girl trying to outrun her past. 
     
    Ninety-four countries. Thirty-one schools. Two bullets. Now it's over . . . or so she thinks. 
     
    Sophia Hepworth has spent her life all over the world--moving quickly, never staying in one place for too long. She knows to always look over her shoulder, to be able to fight to survive at a moment's notice. She has trained to be ready for anything. 
     
    Except this. Suddenly it's over. Now Sophia is expected to attend high school in a sleepy Montana town. She is told to forget the past, but she's haunted by it. As hard as she tries to be like her new friends and live a normal life, she can't shake the feeling that this new normal won't last. 
     
    Then comes strong and silent Aksel, whose skills match Sophia's, and who seems to know more about her than he's letting on . . .  
     
    What if everything Sophia thought she knew about her past is a lie? 
     
    Cinematic and breathtaking, Tiffany Rosenhan's debut stars a fierce heroine who will risk everything to save the life she has built for herself.
    Show book