Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced 7236434c7af12f85357591f712aa5cce47c3d377e8addfc98f989c55a4ef4ca5
Pale Guardian - A Vampire Mystery - cover

Pale Guardian - A Vampire Mystery

Barbara Hambly

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 2
  • 0

Summary

During the carnage of World War One, James Asher joins forces with the vampires of Europe to counter an even deadlier threat.

The vampires call them ‘The Others’. Neither living nor dead, the revenants are mindless and unstoppable – and in the carnage of the First World War, governments already running short of men to throw into battle might be very interested in soldiers who don’t ask questions and are hard to kill. Front-line volunteer nurse Lydia Asher is horrified to learn that someone has found a way to control revenants, and is creating them for this purpose.

Back in London, Lydia’s husband, former spy James Asher, is even more appalled to learn that revenants are beginning to show up in England, on the loose. Since revenants devour vampires, the vampires of Europe – most of whom are at the Front, feeding completely unnoticed on the dying – join forces with the Ashers to find the source of the threat before the world is overwhelmed.

Other books that might interest you

  • Blood Sweat and Tears - Blood Vice - cover

    Blood Sweat and Tears - Blood Vice

    Angela Roquet

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    (Blood Vice Book Six) 
    Jenna Skye, the new Duchess Tempus of House Lilith, is losing her mind. After spending eight months holed up in the duke's manor with her new sire, the slightly nutty and ever moody Ursula, all she wants to do is to get out of the house. She'll take any excuse she can to ditch the princess's etiquette lessons and do something worthwhile with her time—even if it means visiting a fancy blood finishing school where one of Dante's potential scions has gone missing. 
    Jenna's sudden jealousy forces her to take a closer look at the conflicted feelings she has for Dante, and the guilt she still harbors over Roman Knight's fateful farewell. Of course, a house full of new residents, preparations for the upcoming All Hallows' Eve ball, and unsolved murders don't leave much time for introspection.
    Show book
  • Once Upon a Vow - cover

    Once Upon a Vow

    Erin Lee

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Before you say “I do,” ask yourself: 
    What would I do if the monster was the one I pledged forever to? 
    How bad can ‘for worse’ get? 
    Meet Tendra, Colby, Aurora, Liza, Jackson, Daddy, August, Rich, Gina, Malcolm and Kate in six twisted tales that will send you running as far from love as you can get. 
    Show book
  • Letters from the Dead - cover

    Letters from the Dead

    Campbell Armstrong

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    “A satisfying dank and creepy chiller” about hauntings and horror in a broken-down beach house on the Virginia shore (Kirkus Reviews). A battered Ouija board promises entertainment for the renters of a crumbling seaside cottage a few miles outside Cochrane Crossing. But when they play, thirteen-year-olds Lindy and Tommy receive sinister messages about someone named “Roscoe”—and their mothers encounter even more disturbing visions in the tiny, gloomy town nearby.   Something terrible happened here long ago, and one of the vacationers is about to be drawn slowly into the grip of possession by a frightening force that may prevent them all from ever returning home . . .   From an international bestselling author of horror and suspense novels, including such titles as Concert of Ghosts and the Frank Pagan series, as well as the riveting personal memoir I Hope You Have a Good Life, this is a tale of the macabre for fans of Dean Koontz and Stephen King or anyone who enjoys a spooky occult thriller.  
    Show book
  • Demonic Dreams - Dreams and Reality #13 - cover

    Demonic Dreams - Dreams and...

    Hadena James

    • 1
    • 4
    • 0
    Aislinn Cain wakes up on a cold concrete floor having been drugged and kidnapped by serial killer Raphael Henders.  Despite the chaos, she has a few questions; is Gabriel still alive?  If so, for how long? And where exactly is she? 
    As the answers start to reveal themselves, Aislinn comes to the realization that Raphael Henders is unlike any serial killer she has ever faced before.  Not only is he brilliant, cunning, sadistic, and brutal, he is part of the organized ring of serial killers that the SCTU has been trying to eliminate.  More importantly, he is just one step removed from the leader of the organization and he has answers that Aislinn needs to put her past behind her. 
    To survive and get what she needs, Aislinn will have to play Raphael’s game.  Death is not an option, pitting Aislinn’s own desire to survive against her need to figure out who exactly was behind the murder of Aislinn’s father and sister all those years ago.
    Show book
  • Assassins and Victims - cover

    Assassins and Victims

    Campbell Armstrong

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In Campbell Armstrong’s chilling novel of suburban horror, something evil lurks in the garden behind an English boardinghouse Eric Billings is not a violent man—not really. It’s just that his temper sometimes gets the best of him. Eric has had fourteen apartments in the last two years. He isn’t sure why he keeps moving, but something always seems to go wrong. Take his latest residence, for instance. It’s a quiet room with a big window and a friendly landlady downstairs. But there’s a dog in the backyard that won’t stop barking at night. Eric is beginning to lose sleep, to miss work, to get angry. And when that happens, he can’t be sure what he’s going to do next.   A winner of a Scottish Arts Council Award, this chilling novel of suburban horror shows that evil can hide beneath even the most benign exteriors.
    Show book
  • Triggered Reality - Dreams and Reality #15 - cover

    Triggered Reality - Dreams and...

    Hadena James

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    For most of Kansas City, it was a beautiful spring day.  For Eric Clachan, it was the day he would get justice through bloodshed.  A rifle would ensure that the spree killer would never destroy another family.  He wouldn’t stop there.  Eric had a list of other targets inside the prison walls.  Targets that would ensure justice would change.  A single day would change the world and pave the way for the US Marshals to become the baddest serial killer hunters in the world.  Eric knew this as he looked down the scope and took aim.   
    Max Goff needed to relax.  His life had become overwhelming.  He should have gotten a massage and spent a day with friends.  Instead, he stole a car and began a killing spree that would terrorize an entire city.  Until the newly formed US Marshals’ Serial Crimes Tracking Unit would come hunting for him and he would learn what fear really was.
    Show book