Which book are you going to read today?
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
Murder in July - Historical mystery set in New Orleans - cover

Murder in July - Historical mystery set in New Orleans

BARBARA HAMBLY

Publisher: Severn House

  • 0
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

Benjamin January investigates the murder of a mysterious Englishman in this absorbing New Orleans-set mystery.

When British spymaster Sir John Oldmixton offers Benjamin January a hundred dollars to find the murderer of an Englishman whose body has been found floating in the New Basin Canal, Benjamin turns him down immediately. As a free man of colour in New Orleans in the sweltering July of 1839, he knows this is not something he should get mixed up in.

But when clues to the dead man’s identity link the death to another murder, in another July in January’s past, he is reluctantly drawn into the investigation. Nine years ago in Paris he failed to catch a killer – with tragic consequences. Now in New Orleans he must unravel the earlier murder, the one that took place during the great revolt against the Bourbon kings, to solve the second killing. At stake is not merely a hundred dollars, but hidden treasure, the fate of an innocent woman – and the lives of January’s wife, son and unborn child.

Other books that might interest you

  • Fear In the Cotswolds - cover

    Fear In the Cotswolds

    Rebecca Tope

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Mystery and intrigue in the beautiful Cotswold countryside. 
    Following a string of disastrous house-sitting assignments, and with troubles in her recent personal life, Thea Osborne is understandably apprehensive about her latest commission: a wintery month in an isolated farmhouse with only an assortment of animals, including her loyal spaniel Hepzie, for company.
    
     
    With the summer lushness of the Cotswolds turned icy grey, Thea spends her first few days exploring the tiny but beautiful hamlet of Hampnett, and the nearby town of Northleach. While discovering more of the surrounding area she meets some of the mysterious local characters: the unappreciated au pair from Bulgaria and the elusive Kate from a neighbouring farm. But then the weather turns extreme, and so do events.
    
     
    When she stumbles across a man lying dead in a snow-filled field, Thea is once again at the heart of a mystery in the gorgeous Cotswold countryside…
    
     
    Exciting and thought-provoking, with a plot which will have readers’ minds working overtime, the latest in the Cotswolds series shows author and heroine on top form once again.
    Show book
  • Me Myself and Them - cover

    Me Myself and Them

    Dan Mooney

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Winner of the 2016 Luke Bitmead Bursary 
    'I've never quite read anything like it... funny, moving and terrifying all at once' Rick O'Shea 
    Struggling to cope with a tragic loss, Denis Murphy has learned to live a bit differently. Both his friends are used to it - the only problem is his monstrous housemates. 
    When his enigmatic ex-girlfriend comes back into his life, she threatens to shatter the finely crafted world around him. 
    As Denis begins to re-emerge from his sheltered existence and rediscover the person he used to be, things turn nasty, and he is forced to confront the demons that share not only his house, but also his head. 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'One part The Rosie Project, one part personal Heart Of Darkness, one part Stephen King - I've never quite read anything like it...There are many novels around in recent years with characters struggling with their mental health but none that I've read as original as this. Me, Myself And Them incredibly manages to be funny, moving and terrifying all at once ...I started thinking it was a story of the absurd but welled up by the time I got to the end. Dan Mooney has something quite unique here in a story of one man's journey through (literally) his own imprisoning demons of mental health. Give it a try. I hope it finds the audience it deserves.' Rick O'Shea 
    'As witty as it is unsettling ... I missed my train stop, twice, because of this book ... Dan Mooney has crafted a story of the strongest kind, that is, one that holds the power to prompt thought and dialogue. And this is a story much needed.' The BookBag 
     
    'Remarkable, fascinating and unnerving. Dan warmly invites us in and shows us to our comfy seat as he introduces us to a shocking post-trauma world where everything and nothing makes perfect sense.' Annie West
    Show book
  • Dead in the Water - A Novel - cover

    Dead in the Water - A Novel

    Stuart Woods

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Stone Barrington only wants a winter getaway from the chill of New York in the beautiful, tropical Caribbean paradise of St. Mark's. But what the lawyer and ex-cop gets instead is the chance to defend Allison Manning. The beautiful young woman stands accused of killing her rich husband on board their luxurious yacht and then burying him at sea. 
    Stone isn't exactly conversant with the island country's law, but this much is clear to him: Allison is being railroaded by the perverse sense of justice of a prosecutor who will do anything to stay in office. Donning the robe and wig of a British barrister, Stone does everything he can to save Allison—from publicizing the case all over the American press to conducting the kind of smart, tough investigation that money can't buy. Just when he has the jury in the palm of his hands, a shocking reversal of fortune changes everything. And what was once a sure thing begins to look a lot like a death sentence.
    Show book
  • Blood of the South - A medieval mystical mystery - cover

    Blood of the South - A medieval...

    Alys Clare

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    Apprentice healer Lassair encounters a mysterious veiled noblewoman who brings unexpected peril
    
     When Lassair encounters a veiled noblewoman on the quay at Cambridge one morning, set on by an angry mob, she assumes involvement with her will be brief. She has no idea that the woman, alone but for her infant child, brings both mystery and peril. Then a devastating flood hits the fens, and among the wreckage and debris washed up at Aelf Fen is a body; Lassair, in the company of a sheriff's officer, wonders if she is dealing with murder . . .
    
    Meanwhile, in the south, Lassair’s partner Rollo is moving with relief towards the conclusion of his mission for King William in the Holy Land. But then disaster strikes, and, with the mighty forces of an emperor on his heels, abruptly he turns from hunter to hunted. In order to escape alive, he risks help from a stranger, and embarks on a voyage that turns out to be far more dangerous than he could ever have imagined.
    Show book
  • Cosmosis - cover

    Cosmosis

    Rainer Rey

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    • Author: Rey’s contacts in the advertising industry will benefit his promotion of the book; his contacts were invaluable when he self-promoted his previous novels; he arranged for his own interviews on television and radio and appeared on multiple shows. He has appeared in a movie and on television for millions of viewers and has hosted his own TV show.
    
    
    
    • Topics: The energy crisis and discovering renewable energy sources continue to be constant hot topics both domestically and worldwide. Cosmosis will stir public interest with its thorough research and imaginative themes founded on acceptable scientific and historic realities. Earth’s energy crisis may find solutions based on current environmental research of Mars.
    
    
    
    • Tie-In: Turner is rereleasing Rey’s backlist titles, Replicator Run and Day of the Dove, in January 2015 with newly designed covers. Turner is also publishing Rey’s newest release, The Find, in January 2015.
    Show book
  • Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing and gripping’ a psychological thriller that will bring you to the edge of your seat… - cover

    Dare to Remember: ‘Intriguing...

    Susanna Beard

    • 0
    • 11
    • 0
    'I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened' --Tracy Buchanan 
    Reeling from a brutal attack that leaves her best friend dead and her badly injured, Lisa Fulbrook flees to the countryside to recuperate. With only vague memories of the event, she isolates herself from her friends and family, content to spend her days wandering the hills with her dog, Riley. 
    However, Lisa is soon plagued, not only by vivid flashbacks, but questions, too: how did their assailant know them? Why were they attacked? And what really happened that night? 
    As she desperately tries to piece together the memories, Lisa realises that there's another truth still hidden to her, a truth she can't escape from. A truth that may have been right in front of her all along. 
    A clever, sophisticated, psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, S.J. Watson, B A Paris and Sophie Hannah 
    What Reviewers and Readers Say: 
    'Dare to Remember is an intriguing and gripping debut novel. A perceptive exploration of the trauma of losing your best friend' --Rachel Abbott 
    'A tense journey into one woman’s struggle with the aftermath of a vicious attack that killed her best friend. I found myself frantically turning the pages, desperate to uncover what happened on the night of the attack. Susanna Beard is a thought-provoking, skilled debut writer who will no doubt win a new army of thriller fans with this clever novel.' -- Tracy Buchanan 
    'Beautifully taut and controlled writing - gripping all the way through' --Shelley Weiner 
    'Written with care and a deep level of understanding, while simultaneously building up the suspense until you are racing to find out what happened… a great read.' --Sue Fortin, bestselling author of 'The Girl Who Lied' 
    'A taut, compelling read. Full of atmosphere and humanity. Susanna brilliantly portrays through the central character the times in our lives that leave us guilty and emotionless and unable to move forward with purpose. A stunning and confident first novel.' --Sharon Bloom 
    'This is a great exploration into the psychological impact of a traumatic event. I warmed to Lisa immediately and felt every bit of her frustration as she struggled to remember the details of the night she and her best friend were attacked by someone they knew and trusted. It kept me reading into the night as I raced to find out how this twisty, shocking story would end.' --Sam Carrington 
    'A deep and dark look at how we can overcome trauma.' --Keeper of Pages 
    'The narrative is both uplifting and disquieting as Lisa pushes against her past attack, and dares not just to remember, but to hope as well. An impressive debut for Susanna Beard.' --Joy Kluver 
    'Sometimes you pick up a book and after reading only a few pages, you know that this book is going to be a worthy read. This is what happened to me when I picked up Dare to Remember.' --Day Dreamers Thoughts 
    'Susanna Beard unspools the story at just the right pace to keep interest and intrigue.' --Barbara Copperthwaite
    Show book