Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Storms Of Love - cover

The Storms Of Love

Barbara Cartland

Publisher: Barbara Cartland

  • 1
  • 19
  • 0

Summary

Handsome, wealthy and always hotly pursued by London’s Society beauties, the Duke of Wydeminster is a gentleman very much in demand – yet his affaires de coeur invariably leave him dissatisfied and feeling trapped, especially his current one with the beautiful Fenella Newbury, who is married to a much older husband. 
What he needs in his life is not more love affairs, but a new challenge and very much sooner than he could have expected one presents itself. 
First in the baffling form of a strange young woman called Aldora, who accosts him in unlikely circumstances and insists that her mother intends to force him to marry her, while also avowing her deep hatred of the Duke for reasons that he cannot fathom.
Next comes the revelation that Aldora’s mother, the ambitious Marchioness of Berkhampton has suggested to Queen Victoria that the Duke should become the new Viceroy of India – a position hardly less than that of a King! 
But there is a catch. 
Aldora indeed spoke the truth! 
In order to be considered for the supreme position of Viceroy, he must marry this young woman who despises and detests him –

Other books that might interest you

  • The Orphan Girl - A Beautiful World War One Saga of Found Family and Hidden Secrets - cover

    The Orphan Girl - A Beautiful...

    Chrissie Walsh

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    1901, West Yorkshire. When Eli Simmonite takes in a heavily pregnant woman fleeing from peril, he feels sure no good will come of it. After all, settled folk don't need much reason to take against the travellers, so having one seek safety amongst his people is unheard of.
     
    When danger comes knocking they leave devastation and a newborn child in their wake. Eli is left with the baby girl and his orphaned grandson; a reminder of the offer of aid that cost him his family.
     
    With no kin but the adopted family who hold her responsible for their demise, this girl named Rosie Nobody is filled with questions of her past. But with war looming in all of their futures, questions must be put aside: survival is the key.
     
    A compelling and beautifully written historical World War One saga of family secrets and triumph in the face of adversity. Perfect for fans of Dilly Court and AnneMarie Brear.
    Show book
  • The Curse of The Clan - cover

    The Curse of The Clan

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Waif-like and half-starved the beautiful eighteen-year-old Tara has no second name and no family.
    Orphaned when her mother died tragically in a carriage crash, she was raised in the appalling 'Orphanage of the Nameless' in London and has no knowledge at all of the world outside.
    The drunken Matron of the Orphanage, Mrs. Barrowfield, relies on Tara to control, feed and look after the many orphans while she spends most of the money intended for their food on drink.
    Then one day Mr. Falkirk comes to inform her that the Orphanage's owner and patron, the Duke of Arkcraig, has ordered her to Scotland to work in Castle Arkcraig.
    Arriving, timid and overawed to meet her new Master, she is appalled to find that she has been seriously misled.
    She is there not to work as a servant but to become the imperiously handsome Duke's bride – willing or not!
    All of a sudden she is embroiled in the terrible enmity between the McCraig Clan and the equally warlike Kildonnons and the curse that hangs over them like a black cloud.
    Worst of all, she finds that she has lost her heart to the husband for whom she had never asked and yet who now seems to be cold and aloof.
    Has she been rescued from poverty and the horrors of the Orphanage and brought to the Duke's majestic Castle only to spend a lifetime starved of love?
    Show book
  • Forbidden Moon - cover

    Forbidden Moon

    Jane Bonander

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    A childhood promise is kept when an old crush blossoms into blazing passion in this spellbinding historical romance set in the old West.  San Francisco, 1886. When Buck Randall met Molly Lindquist, he knew she was the only woman he would ever love. Only a girl when they met, the prideful Buck promised to wait for her until she is old enough to become his.   As an adult, Molly is looking for her ticket out of a life that she hates. Engaged to a powerful Texas rancher, she’s all but forgotten the pact she made as a child. But when Buck returns to her life, a romance is rekindled that burns too brightly to ignore, and a promise must be kept—at all costs . . .   “Jane Bonander reaches to her readers’ hearts.” —RT Book Reviews
    Show book
  • A Theatre of Love - cover

    A Theatre of Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Having retreated to his country estate to escape the amorous attentions of his mistress Lady Fiona Faversham, who is determined to marry him, the dashing Duke of Moorminster out riding when he is captivated by the sound of a church organ being played beautifully. Entering the small church, he is equally captivated by a young woman of almost angelic loveliness who is leading her choir of children with her own wonderful voice.
    She is perfect for a special role in the play he has written – and which is to be the debut performance at his newly built private theatre with the Prince and Princess of Wales in attendance. 
    And so young Vicar's daughter Lavela Ashley finds herself and her choir of children rehearsing for the great event at Moor Park and becomes embroiled in the devious scheming of Lady Fiona and the Duke's wicked cousin Joscelyn – both of whom are plotting to force the Duke into a marriage by the foulest of means. For his part, as the romantic drama unfolds in his own Theatre of Love, the Duke comes to realise that Lavela is everything Lady Fiona is not – and that she is everything he ever wanted, if only he had understood his own heart.
    Show book
  • The Tangled Ties That Bind (Hearts Entwined Collection) - A Kincaid Brides Novella - cover

    The Tangled Ties That Bind...

    Mary Connealy

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    While running from an angry buffalo, two friends, who always wanted more, reunite. Connor has returned home determined to pursue the woman he never stopped caring about. But Maggie wants to be a city doctor, and he is a rancher through and through. Will either be willing to give up their dream? Or will they both have to give up the love of a lifetime?
    Show book
  • The Last Season - cover

    The Last Season

    Jenny Judson, Danielle Mahfood

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    A Zibby Owens for Katie Couric’s Katie’s Picks Fall Must Read
     
    Set in Victorian England, The Last Season is a story of social upheaval, changing fortunes, and an unlikely romance that develops between a well-to-do heiress and a stable boy.
     
    When they meet as adolescents at Drayton Manor, the well-to-do Cassandra Drayton and the manor's stable boy, Crispin St. John, seem destined for very different futures. Yet, the two strike up a secret and forbidden friendship. Once discovered, they are forced apart, with Cassandra staying locked in her father's world and Crispin traveling to India to make his own way.
     
    Years later, when Cassandra's high-society London lifestyle is shattered by her father's spectacular fall from grace, she is surprised to reunite with her childhood friend, no longer a penniless boy but an enterprising young man who has risen through the ranks of the Indian cotton trade. As they navigate changing circumstances, fickle friendships, and social upheaval, Cassandra and Crispin find that the bond they developed as children is a lasting one.
     
    Praise for The Last Season
     
    “Old school historical romance is not typically my genre, but this sweeping, expertly-written narrative by two friends from St. Paul’s boarding school who split ways to go to Harvard and Yale is like a smart dose of Downton Abbey. Set in Victorian England, this story about a wealthy young woman and the stable boy at her “manor” as their fortunes rise and fall over the years has all the saucy ingredients for an epic escapist read.” —Zibby Owens for Katie Couric’s Katie’s Picks
     
    “Judson and Mahfood immerse readers in British high society...blending Regency romance with Dickensian themes of reinvention, unrequited love, and unexpected benevolence...”—Booklist
     
    “If you love a juicy, Victorian-era story of forbidden love, then The Last Season by Jenny Judson and Danielle Mahfood deserves to be at the top of your TBR pile.” —PopSugar
    Show book