Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Love is Innocent - cover

Love is Innocent

Barbara Cartland

Publisher: Barbara Cartland Ebooks ltd

  • 1
  • 8
  • 0

Summary

Wealthy, popular and famously handsome and dashing, Draco, the Duke of Atherstone has the world and most of its Society beauties at his feet. 
Yet, as his arrives on his yacht in Algiers he is dissatisfied. If only he could find the woman who would complete the other of him – as has his wise and supremely contented Russian friend, Nicholas Vlastov. 
Visiting what appears to be a slave market in the Kasba, the Duke notices that among the drugged girls being callously auctioned is a beautiful young waif who is utterly different from the rest – and when she whispers, “save me!”, he knows that she in English and that he must rescue her. 
So begins his and Selina’s flight from the evil slavers to Monte Carlo, then from murderous kidnappers who hold them for ransom and then from the Society beauty determined to claim the Duke in marriage. 
Not once, but twice, the dashing Duke puts his life on the line to save Selina, as he falls wholeheartedly in love for the very first time.
But how, Selina wonders desperately, can a noble Duke, possibly marry a girl he has found in a harem?

Other books that might interest you

  • The Rogue’s Seduction - cover

    The Rogue’s Seduction

    Lauren Smith

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    SOCIETY CALLS HIM THE DEVIL OF LONDON…Lord Vaughn, Viscount Darlington, has a dark reputation for sinful pleasures, putting off even the most ardent mamas who crave his title for their unmarried daughters They say he’s dangerous enough to ruin a woman with just one look…But he can’t resist the pleas of a woman who needs his help. This rogue might yet be redeemed.SHE’S THE DARLING OF THE TON…All of London adores Perdita Darby. She receives invites to every party and has eligible gentlemen willing to wait for her, but she has no desire to marry. When she discovers a cruel man wishes to entrap her into a marriage that could spell her doom, she has nowhere left to turn. She makes a bargain with the devil of London, hoping to save herself. But the cost of their false engagement may put them both in danger…
    Show book
  • The Tattooed Duke - cover

    The Tattooed Duke

    Maya Rodale

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    “Tantalizing passion…certain to delight.”—Publishers Weekly 
    Maya Rodale’s wonderfully witty Writing Girls series is a winner!  Her third delectable love story to feature a plucky Regency heroine with a pen, The Tattooed Duke follows a scandal sheet reporter posing as a common housemaid in order to uncover whatever nasty little skeletons an adventure-seeking Duke may be hiding in his closets—only to fall in passionate love with the nobleman whose secrets she’s been exposing to the world! The Tattooed Duke is deliciously fun historical romance fiction in the vein of Laura Lee Guhrke and Suzanne Enoch, and no true romance fan will want to write it off!
    Show book
  • From the Dangers of Russia To Love - cover

    From the Dangers of Russia To Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    The beautiful Alvita who had lost both her parents, was living quietly in her family home in Southern Russia. Her father had been Russian and her mother had been English.
     
                Alvita was pleased to receive a visit from her brother, Ivor, but shocked when he told her that they must leave Russia immediately, as a Revolution was inevitable and would start very soon.
     
                He had brought with him his friend, Nicholas, who said that he would help them pack up as many of their treasures as they could and make their way to England.
     
                Alvita felt a little unsure of Nicholas, but thought that perhaps she might be mistaken.
     
                Ivor insists that he should be a Russian Prince and Alvita a Princess as the English are always impressed by grand titles, although Alvita is none too sure about the deception.
     
                After packing her mother’s jewellery, some valuable pictures and silver, they know that they must avoid the dangerous Revolutionaries and travel as fast as possible to the nearest Port to find a ship to take them to England.
     
                This Nicholas arranges for them and, when they arrive in England, Ivor by chance meets an old friend, Charles, the Marquis of Harrington, who he was friends with when they were at Oxford University.
     
                Charles takes them to his impressive house in London and, when he learns that they want to sell their treasures, he arranges for them to be displayed in the ballroom and the stables.
     
                It is when Alvita sees a valuable painting being removed from its frame that she knows that Nicholas is attempting to cheat the Marquis.
     
                How she warns Charles of what is happening in his house
     
                And how she and her brother find the love that they both sought but believed would never be theirs is all told in this unusual romance by BARBARA CARTLAND.
     
     
    Show book
  • Bound by Light - cover

    Bound by Light

    Piper Davenport

    • 0
    • 12
    • 0
    18+ for language and sexual situations...
    
     
    Thane Allen is the biggest movie star on the planet. He has money, status, and the ability to make people do what he tells them to with just a word. But he's without his mate and is losing hope that he will ever find her.Sydney Warren has lost both her parents and makes a daring choice to move to London to live with her cousin. A chance encounter puts her in the path of what she considers nothing more than a fantasy, until that fantasy pursues her.Will Thane be able to convince her he's genuine?When a threat no one saw coming threatens Sydney's life, will Thane be able to save her?
    Show book
  • The Pretty Horse-Breakers - cover

    The Pretty Horse-Breakers

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Innocent young Candida is almost destitute after the death of her beloved father. 
    	Resolving to keep up the family’s modest Elizabethan manor house in Hertfordshire and support Ned, the family’s faithful servant, she sees no alternative but to sell her beloved pitch-black stallion, Pegasus. 
    	So, when the worldly Major Hooper offers to take her and her mount to Hyde Park where she will undoubtedly find a high price, she agrees, though with a heavy heart. 
    	Little does she suspect that Major Hooper trades in young women as well as horseflesh – and soon she finds herself and Pegasus ‘sold’ to the dashing but awe-inspiring Lord Manville. 
    	A terrible maze of misunderstanding ensues and just when Candida realises that she has lost her heart to his Lordship, the London Society that seemed so carefree turns cruel. 
    	Even as she flees astride Pegasus, she is heartbroken, knowing she may never again see the man she loves –
    Show book
  • Once Upon a Winter's Eve - Spindle Cove - cover

    Once Upon a Winter's Eve -...

    Tessa Dare

    • 1
    • 19
    • 0
    This novella was originally published in November 2011. It has been reissued with a new cover. 
    Some wallflowers bloom at night… 
    Violet is a quiet girl. She speaks six languages, but seldom raises her voice. The gentlemen aren’t beating down her door. 
    Until the night of the Spindle Cove Christmas ball, when a mysterious stranger crashes into the ballroom and collapses at Violet’s feet. He’s wet, chilled, bleeding, and speaking in an unfamiliar tongue. 
    Only Violet understands him. And she knows he’s not what he seems. 
    She has one night to draw forth the secrets of this dangerously handsome rogue. Is he a smuggler? A fugitive? An enemy spy? She needs answers by sunrise, but her captive would rather seduce than confess. 
    To learn his secrets, Violet must reveal hers—and open herself to adventure, passion, and the unthinkable… Love.
    Show book