Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Duke in Danger - cover

A Duke in Danger

Barbara Cartland

Publisher: Barbara Cartland

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

One of the youngest Colonels in the Duke of Wellington's Army, Ivar Harling returns from the victorious Battle of Waterloo to Harlington House in London's Berkeley Square. Suddenly a very rich man now that he has inherited the Dukedom of Harlington from his cousin, who has been killed in the War, he is also tall and extremely handsome although his years as a soldier have left their mark on him. And perhaps too in the expression in his eyes, which is perfection to Society beauties such as the glamorous widow, Lady Isobel Dalton, who pursues him avidly and with some success.But although he needs to marry to prevent his scheming and dishonourable cousin, Jason, from stepping into his shoes, he resists Lady Isobel's desperate hints at marriage as she fancies herself as a Duchess.When a craven pawnbroker, Emmanuel Pinchbeck, approaches him for money to redeem several of his family heirlooms, which it seems that his young cousin, Lady Alvina, has been selling off secretly, he is outraged. But, arriving at a closed-up Harling Castle in the country, he finds not a devious dishonest woman but a beautiful yet tormented young lady who, unaware of the family's huge wealth, is in dire financial straits as well as his whole ancestral estate. The Duke is determined to find out how she has been so cruelly misled. And along the way he finds the love that he has always dreamt of finding – but not before the spectre of death steps into his path.

Other books that might interest you

  • Rules for Heiresses - cover

    Rules for Heiresses

    Amalie Howard

    • 2
    • 8
    • 0
    USA Today bestselling author Amalie Howard whisks you away with a historical romance full of drama, true love, and the perfect happily ever after. Readers will devour this tale of:A rebellious heiress determined to be independentA shunned duke forced to return to his family estateAnd a scandal between them that will have the whole town aflutter 
    Sometimes, finding love means flouting the rules...
     
    Born to a life of privilege, Lady Ravenna Huntley rues the day that she must marry. She's refused dozens of suitors and cried off multiple betrothals, but running away—even if brash and foolhardy—is the only option left to secure her independence.
     
    Lord Courtland Chase, grandson of the Duke of Ashvale, was driven from England at the behest of his cruel stepmother. Scorned and shunned, he swore never to return to the land of his birth. But when a twist of bad luck throws a rebellious heiress into his arms, at the very moment he finds out he's the new Duke, marriage is the only alternative to massive scandal.
     
    Both are quick to deny it, but a wedding might be the only way out for both of them. And the attraction that burns between them makes Ravenna and Courtland wonder if it'll truly only be a marriage of convenience after all...
     
    Praise for Amalie Howard:"Her writing sparkles."—LISA KLEYPAS, New York Times bestselling author"Smart, sexy, deliciously feminist romance that I couldn't put down."—SARAH MACLEAN, New York Times bestselling author, for The Beast of Beswick"Amalie Howard is the fresh voice historical romance needs right now."—KERRIGAN BYRNE, USA Today bestselling author
    Show book
  • A Wish to Build a Dream On - cover

    A Wish to Build a Dream On

    Vivian Vaughan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A warm-hearted tale of romance and adventure from “a superb writer who does Western Americana with flair and humor” (RT Book Reviews).   Reese Catlin is determined to get his herd from Texas to Kansas ahead of the rush so he can make enough money to buy the ranch of his dreams. An excellent chuck wagon cook is essential to the cattle drive, and after tasting the delectable lemon pies at the café in town, he knows he’s found the perfect man for the job in “Andy” Dushane.   The thing is, Andie Dushane is no man at all. And Reese has no intention of taking a woman on the trail. But it’s not so easy resisting Andie’s culinary skills . . . or her undeniable beauty.   Before long, her delicious cuisine is all the cowboys can talk about. But it’s the thought of her passionate embrace that keeps Reese up at night. Can he bring himself to profess his love for Andie before it’s too late?   Full of love and laughter, A Wish to Build a Dream On celebrates the magic of finding love where it’s least expected.
    Show book
  • Passage To Love - cover

    Passage To Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Demure young beauty Lady Imilda Harsbourne's stepmother, the Countess of Harsbourne, is determined to have Imilda married off to an eligible – and 'important' – bachelor as soon as possible. 
    But after enduring several Society balls as a debutante, Imilda is thoroughly disillusioned and vows never to marry unless it is for love alone.
    So she is horrified when her stepmother arranges for her to be wed to the Marquis of Melverley, who, although dashingly handsome, is a notorious 'ladies' man'. Despite her pleas, her father will not help her and she has no choice but to run away. But to where?
    Then Imilda has a cunning idea. Since his return from the War, the Marquis has never returned to his family seat, Melverley Park, which stands empty apart from a skeleton staff. 
     And so, clutching a forged a letter of introduction from the Marquis, Imilda arrives to take charge of the estate's Herb Garden. 
    While exploring The Park's library, though, she finds to her horror that a gang of cutthroat highwaymen has taken advantage of the Marquis's prolonged absence to use The Park as their lair. 
    When the Marquis arrives out of the blue, running away to hide in plain sight, Imilda keeps out of sight in The Park's secret passages – and, overhearing the villains plotting to kill the Marquis, she creeps into his room at night to warn him and help him escape. 
    In the ensuing adventure, in which they enlist the Army to fight off the criminal gang, Imilda realises that she has fallen head over heels in love with the man to whom she is reluctantly engaged.
    Show book
  • The Destiny Series Books One to Five - Rosie and Ruby Anna Tilly Grace and Destiny - cover

    The Destiny Series Books One to...

    Patricia Dixon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The heartwarming, complete five-book series about love, family, romance, and friendship, from the bestselling author of The Other Woman. 
     
    Book 1: Rosie and Ruby 
     
    Working-class Ruby and middle-class Rosie are cousins with a bond forged in childhood—and mothers who aren’t quite the best. But can Rosie and Ruby’s bond survive through time and hardship? And in Ruby’s hour of need, will Rosie keep her promise and come to her rescue? 
     
    Previously published as Three Mothers. 
     
    Book 2: Anna 
     
    The unremarkable rock of her family, Anna is content with her life until she discovers that Matthew, her husband of twenty-two years, is having an affair. But can Anna find peace and learn to love again? 
     
    Previously published as À Bientôt. 
     
    Book 3: Tilly 
     
    Matilda “Tilly” Parker is flying to France for her dream wedding. Beneath a sweltering summer sun, two clans, a naughty dog, a gaggle of relatives, and friends gather in the Loire. But between an unexpected guest from hell and Tilly meeting another man, her wedding plans are about to go up in smoke . . . 
     
    Previously published as A Perfect Summer Wedding. 
     
    Book 4: Grace 
     
    Singleton Grace loves Christmas and having all her family with her on the day. But this year things will be different. One by one, each of her three children announce that they have other plans for the holidays, leaving Grace home alone with a dilemma. Should she put on a brave face or admit she is hurt? 
     
    Previously published as The Christmas Cottage. 
     
    Book 5: Destiny 
     
    In this collection of short stories, we make a return trip to the Loire, catching up with old friends and finding out what life has had in store for Anna and Daniel, Grace and Max, and Ruby and Rosie. 
     
    Previously published as Return Journeys. 
     
    Be prepared to laugh and cry as you devour the bestselling Destiny series. The perfect read for fans of authors like Amanda Prowse and Diane Chamberlain.
    Show book
  • The Workhouse Children - A heartwarming saga - cover

    The Workhouse Children - A...

    Lindsey Hutchinson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Tears and tribulations, laughs and heartbreak, from an exciting new talent. Perfect for the fans of Jo Cox and Lyn Andrews. 
     
    Cara Flowers' mother disappeared when she was too young to realise, and when her grandmother dies she leaves not only an enormous fortune, but also a huge responsibility – she wants Cara to find their estranged family. 
     
    Her quest leads her to the doors of the looming Bilston workhouse where children are torn away from their families to toil for others. Shocked by the appalling conditions, Cara vows to find a way to shut down the building and rescue its residents. And then she discovers a link between the workhouse and her missing mother... 
     
    Can Cara overcome her past and save these children from their fate? 
     
    What people are saying about THE WORKHOUSE CHILDREN: 
     
    'A truly beautiful read, well done to the author for giving me such enjoyment' 
     
    'A very poignant, feel good novel' 
     
    'I laughed, cried and gasped, such a gripping story line' 
     
    'What an amazing story start to finish'
    Show book
  • A Theatre of Love - cover

    A Theatre of Love

    Barbara Cartland

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Having retreated to his country estate to escape the amorous attentions of his mistress Lady Fiona Faversham, who is determined to marry him, the dashing Duke of Moorminster out riding when he is captivated by the sound of a church organ being played beautifully. Entering the small church, he is equally captivated by a young woman of almost angelic loveliness who is leading her choir of children with her own wonderful voice.
    She is perfect for a special role in the play he has written – and which is to be the debut performance at his newly built private theatre with the Prince and Princess of Wales in attendance. 
    And so young Vicar's daughter Lavela Ashley finds herself and her choir of children rehearsing for the great event at Moor Park and becomes embroiled in the devious scheming of Lady Fiona and the Duke's wicked cousin Joscelyn – both of whom are plotting to force the Duke into a marriage by the foulest of means. For his part, as the romantic drama unfolds in his own Theatre of Love, the Duke comes to realise that Lavela is everything Lady Fiona is not – and that she is everything he ever wanted, if only he had understood his own heart.
    Show book