Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Catch You Later Traitor - Special Preview - The First 8 Chapters plus Bonus Material - cover

Catch You Later Traitor - Special Preview - The First 8 Chapters plus Bonus Material

Avi

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 0
  • 10
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! From Newbery Medalist Avi comes the thrilling and suspenseful story of an ordinary American family who fall under suspicion. It’s 1951, and twelve-year-old Pete Collison is a regular kid in Brooklyn, New York, who loves Sam Spade detective books and radio crime dramas. But when an FBI agent shows up at Pete’s doorstep, accusing Pete’s father of being a Communist, Pete is caught in a real-life mystery. Could there really be Commies in Pete’s family? As Pete follows the quickly accumulating clues, he begins to wonder if the truth could put his family’s livelihood—and even their freedom—at risk. In the tradition of Who Was That Masked Man, Anyway?, Don’t You Know There’s a War On?, and Nothing But the Truth, Catch You Later, Traitor tells a funny, insightful story packed with realistic period detail of a boy in mid-twentieth-century America whose family is caught in the wide net of America’s Red Scare. Praise for Who Was that Masked Man, Anyway?: “Avi celebrates our dreams.” —Booklist, starred review Praise for Sophia’s War: “Outstanding historical fiction, bringing to dramatic life the human story behind extraordinary events . . . Rich in period detail, the atmospheric prose vividly re-creates old New York.” —School Library Journal, starred review Praise for City of Orphans: “Heroic deeds, narrow escapes, dastardly villains, amazing coincidences and a family rich in love and hope are all part of an intricate and endlessly entertaining adventure. Terrific!” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Other books that might interest you

  • TodHunter Moon Book Two: SandRider - cover

    TodHunter Moon Book Two: SandRider

    Angie Sage

    • 0
    • 9
    • 0
    Tod's story races on in this second book in the TodHunter Moon trilogy, a spinoff of the popular Septimus Heap series. Fans of Septimus as well as fantasy readers new to the world of Magyk will enjoy this next installment in the series ALA Booklist calls "warm and inventive." Full-page illustrations by renowned fantasy artist Mark Zug begin each section and add to the magic! 
    Great for readers of Harry Potter or Brandon Mull's Fablehaven series, TodHunter Moon offers something for every reader, regardless of gender or age. SandRider is also a dynamic pick for parents reading aloud to younger children before bedtime. 
    Taking place seven years after the events of the original Septimus Heap series, TodHunter Moon tells the story of Alice TodHunter Moon, a young PathFinder who comes to the Castle with a Magyk all her own. In this second book, Tod sets out for the Desert of the Singing Sands to retrieve the Egg of the Orm—a journey that will test not only her Magykal and PathFinding skills but her friendships, too.
    Show book
  • Empire of Storms - cover

    Empire of Storms

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 4
    • 12
    • 0
    Kingdoms collide in Sarah J. Maas's epic fifth installment in the New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series. 
     
    The long path to the throne has only just begun for Aelin Galathynius. Loyalties have been broken and bought, friends have been lost and gained, and those who possess magic find themselves at odds with those don't. 
     
    As the kingdoms of Erilea fracture around her, enemies must become allies if Aelin is to keep those she loves from falling to the dark forces poised to claim her world. With war looming on all horizons, the only chance for salvation lies in a desperate quest that may mark the end of everything Aelin holds dear.    
     
    Aelin's journey from assassin to queen has entranced millions across the globe, and this fifth installment will leave fans breathless. Will Aelin succeed in keeping her world from splintering, or will it all come crashing down?
    Show book
  • Hooray for Grandma - cover

    Hooray for Grandma

    Beatrice Masini

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Three Cheers for Grandma!   A young girl shares her keen and often hilarious observations about her grandmother. The story begins with "Grandma talks a lot. A lot." and continues with all of the things that make grandmas so wonderful. When the day is done, it's clear that grandmas make the world a better place and have a special role in every family.  Hooray for Grandma makes an excellent Grandparent's Day read aloud or just a treasured story to share.  
     Part of the Hooray for Family series, this book was originally published in Italy. Featuring charming insights about Mommies, Daddies, Grandmas and Grandpas, each of the Hooray for Family books celebrates families in a delightful way.  Xist Publishing is proud to present the Hooray for Family books in their first English publication editions. By bringing beloved stories from diverse cultures to new audiences, Xist Publishing celebrates childhood in all its beautiful forms. We hope your children will enjoy these stories and discover a lifetime love of reading and love for all the people and creatures of the world.
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 4
    • 69
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I'm sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. 
    In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits. 
    Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.
    Show book
  • 21 Stolen Kisses - cover

    21 Stolen Kisses

    Lauren Blakely

    • 4
    • 30
    • 0
    ***NOW A USA TODAY BESTSELLER!*** 
     
     
    When I first met him I resisted.  
    Like any forbidden love, I told myself he was a crush, and it would pass. 
    That was a lie. It never faded. 
     
    And I never expected he would fall for me just as hard.  
     
    There were so many reasons that should have kept us apart, least of all, the decade that separated us. 
    Growing up in New York City, I learned early on that love is a double-edged sword.  
    Love broke up my parents, love took away my friends, and love -- the big, intense, never-been-like-this-before 
    love -- landed me in therapy. 
    Now I'm heading to college, and it's time to give love a clean slate again. But, can I really start over when he's still in my life? 
    Because the one man I've always wanted, and also the only guy I absolutely can't have… 
    And he wants me just as fiercely.  
     
    Can I settle for anything less than the love of my life? 
     
     
    Reviews:  
     
    "21 Stolen Kisses captured my heart from the first page and didn't let go. It made my heart ache, leap from joy, and ultimately root for a love that's forbidden yet unstoppable." - NYT Bestselling Author Claire Contreras 
     
    "21 Stolen Kisses was a truly beautiful and genuine love story. This is romantic as it gets, people. Lauren Blakely brought it, and she brought it hard. Nothing will make you believe in true love more than this story right here." - Shayna Renee's Spicy Reads
    Show book
  • A Court of Wings and Ruin - cover

    A Court of Wings and Ruin

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 7
    • 3
    • 0
    Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series. 
     
    Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin's maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well. 
     
    As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.  
     
    In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.
    Show book