Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Catch You Later Traitor - Special Preview - The First 8 Chapters plus Bonus Material - cover

Catch You Later Traitor - Special Preview - The First 8 Chapters plus Bonus Material

Avi

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 0
  • 6
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! From Newbery Medalist Avi comes the thrilling and suspenseful story of an ordinary American family who fall under suspicion. It’s 1951, and twelve-year-old Pete Collison is a regular kid in Brooklyn, New York, who loves Sam Spade detective books and radio crime dramas. But when an FBI agent shows up at Pete’s doorstep, accusing Pete’s father of being a Communist, Pete is caught in a real-life mystery. Could there really be Commies in Pete’s family? As Pete follows the quickly accumulating clues, he begins to wonder if the truth could put his family’s livelihood—and even their freedom—at risk. In the tradition of Who Was That Masked Man, Anyway?, Don’t You Know There’s a War On?, and Nothing But the Truth, Catch You Later, Traitor tells a funny, insightful story packed with realistic period detail of a boy in mid-twentieth-century America whose family is caught in the wide net of America’s Red Scare. Praise for Who Was that Masked Man, Anyway?: “Avi celebrates our dreams.” —Booklist, starred review Praise for Sophia’s War: “Outstanding historical fiction, bringing to dramatic life the human story behind extraordinary events . . . Rich in period detail, the atmospheric prose vividly re-creates old New York.” —School Library Journal, starred review Praise for City of Orphans: “Heroic deeds, narrow escapes, dastardly villains, amazing coincidences and a family rich in love and hope are all part of an intricate and endlessly entertaining adventure. Terrific!” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Who read this book also read:

  • Shadowhunters and Downworlders - A Mortal Instruments Reader - cover

    Shadowhunters and Downworlders -...

    Cassandra Clare

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Explore the world of the Mortal Instruments with Cassandra Clare and moreJoin Cassandra Clare and a Circle of more than a dozen top YA writers, including New York Times bestsellers Holly Black, Rachel Caine, and Kami Garcia, as they write about the Mortal Instruments series, its characters, and its world.Inside you’ll read:• A cinematic tutorial on why the best friend (Simon) always loses out to the bad boy (Jace)• The unexpected benefits of the incest taboo• What we can read between the lines of Alec and Magnus’ European vacation• The importance of friendship, art, humor, and rebellion• And more, from the virtues of Downworlders to the naughty side of Shadowhunting
    Show book
  • M Is for Magic - cover

    M Is for Magic

    Neil Gaiman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Stories to delight, enchant, and surprise you. 
    Bestselling author and master storyteller Neil Gaiman here presents a breathtaking collection of tales that may chill or amuse readers—but always embrace the unexpected:A teenage boy who has trouble talking to girls finds himself at a rather unusual party.A sinister jack-in-the-box haunts the lives of the children who owned it.A boy raised in a graveyard makes a discovery and confronts the much more troubling world of the living.A stray cat fights a nightly battle to protect his adopted family from a terrible evil. 
    These eleven stories illuminate the real and the fantastic, and will be welcomed with great joy by Neil Gaiman's many fans as well as by readers coming to his work for the first time.
    Show book
  • My Weird School #11: Mrs Kormel Is Not Normal! - cover

    My Weird School #11: Mrs Kormel...

    Dan Gutman

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Something weird is going on! 
    First the school bus gets a flat tire, and then Mrs. Kormel is totally lost in the middle of nowhere! Mrs. Kormel is the weirdest bus driver in the history of the world, and she's driving everyone crazy!
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #6: The Ersatz Elevator - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I'm sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits. 
    Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket's uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warnings.
    Show book
  • A Breath of Frost - cover

    A Breath of Frost

    Alyxandra Harvey

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    In 1814, three cousins-Gretchen, Emma, and Penelope-discover their family lineage of witchcraft when a binding spell is broken, allowing their individual magical powers to manifest. Now, beyond the manicured gardens and ballrooms of Regency London, an alluring underworld available only to those with power is revealed to the cousins. By claiming their power, the three cousins have accidentally opened the gates to the underworld. Now ghouls, hellhounds-and most terrifying of all, the spirits of dark witches known as the Greymalkin Sisters-are hunting and killing young debutante witches for their powers. And, somehow, Emma is connected to the murders?because she keeps finding the bodies. Can the cousins seal the gates before another witch is killed?or even worse, before their new gifts are stripped away?
    Show book
  • The Sky of Afghanistan - cover

    The Sky of Afghanistan

    Ana Eulate

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    This Afghan girl doesn’t stop dreaming and her dreams flies towards all the regions, entering homes, families and hearts. Guided Reading Level: O, Lexile Level: 1160L
    Show book