Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Catch You Later Traitor - Special Preview - The First 8 Chapters plus Bonus Material - cover

Catch You Later Traitor - Special Preview - The First 8 Chapters plus Bonus Material

Avi

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 0
  • 10
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! From Newbery Medalist Avi comes the thrilling and suspenseful story of an ordinary American family who fall under suspicion. It’s 1951, and twelve-year-old Pete Collison is a regular kid in Brooklyn, New York, who loves Sam Spade detective books and radio crime dramas. But when an FBI agent shows up at Pete’s doorstep, accusing Pete’s father of being a Communist, Pete is caught in a real-life mystery. Could there really be Commies in Pete’s family? As Pete follows the quickly accumulating clues, he begins to wonder if the truth could put his family’s livelihood—and even their freedom—at risk. In the tradition of Who Was That Masked Man, Anyway?, Don’t You Know There’s a War On?, and Nothing But the Truth, Catch You Later, Traitor tells a funny, insightful story packed with realistic period detail of a boy in mid-twentieth-century America whose family is caught in the wide net of America’s Red Scare. Praise for Who Was that Masked Man, Anyway?: “Avi celebrates our dreams.” —Booklist, starred review Praise for Sophia’s War: “Outstanding historical fiction, bringing to dramatic life the human story behind extraordinary events . . . Rich in period detail, the atmospheric prose vividly re-creates old New York.” —School Library Journal, starred review Praise for City of Orphans: “Heroic deeds, narrow escapes, dastardly villains, amazing coincidences and a family rich in love and hope are all part of an intricate and endlessly entertaining adventure. Terrific!” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Other books that might interest you

  • The Silver Horse - cover

    The Silver Horse

    Elizabeth A. Lynn

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Seeing the Silver Horse as a cute toy, Susannah gives it to her brother, Niall, as a present. One night Susannah awakens and finds neither her brother nor the Silver Horse; racing to the park, she sees her brother riding not a toy, but a stunning stallion. Susannah, Niall, and the horse are whisked away to a land unseen and unknown. This is how this unforgettable adventure through fantasy and lost toys begins. Now, lost in the Realm of Dreams, Susannah must fight for her brother or he will forget his entire life as a human.
    Show book
  • Scarface - cover

    Scarface

    Andre Norton

    • 0
    • 6
    • 0
    Few authors have achieved such renown as World Fantasy Life Achievement honoree and Science Fiction Writers of America Grand Master Andre Norton. With the love of readers and the praise of critics, Norton’s books have sold millions of copies worldwide.In Scarface, Andre Norton tells the story of a swashbuckling adventure with a pirate crew on the Spanish Main!The boy Scarface watched the lights of Tortuga dim as the Naughty Lass stood out for the open sea. The Spanish Main promised rich prizes for Captain Cheap and his pirate crew. And this time Cheap had set his sights high—for no less a prey than Sir Robert Scarlett, his lifelong enemy, and Her Majesty’s fleet at Bridgetown. His plan was daring. Muskets roared and swords flashed as redcoats and pirates fought savagely. The fate of Bridgetown hung in the balance—and with it the secret of Scarface’s true identity.
    Show book
  • Charming Novels of Classic Heroines - Pollyanna The Secret Garden Little Women Anne of Green Gables and Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm - cover

    Charming Novels of Classic...

    Louisa May Alcott, Frances...

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Prepare to see the world through new eyes: This inspirational collection offers up a healthy dose of optimism with five classic coming-of-age stories.   Featuring the youthful adventures of some of fiction’s most beloved heroines, this collection—which includes Pollyanna, The Secret Garden, Little Women, Anne of Green Gables, and Rebecca of Sunnybrook Farm—proves that, while growing up can be hard, the right attitude makes anything and everything possible.   Though the young ladies in these stories hail from all over the world and all walks of life, they share a common truth: In an ever changing world, the journey from childhood to adulthood can be full of challenges, especially for girls. But as Pollyanna finds happiness in every situation, Mary Lennox coaxes her garden to thrive, the March sisters navigate the pitfalls of love and loss, Anne Shirley conquers the hearts of Avonlea, and Rebecca Randall inspires her family with joy, each iconic character changes her life—and the lives of everyone around them—for the better with hopeful, persistent optimism.   The inspiration for numerous treasured film and TV adaptations, including Netflix’s Anne with an E, these timeless tales have captured the imaginations and hearts of generations of readers. Now collected in one delightful volume, these classic children’s novels will charm and enchant as their spirited heroines embark on the eye-opening adventure of growing up.
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #2: The Reptile Room - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 3
    • 58
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire are intelligent children. They are charming, and resourceful, and have pleasant facial features. Unfortunately, they are exceptionally unlucky. 
    In the first two books alone, the three youngsters encounter a greedy and repulsive villain, itchy clothing, a disastrous fire, a plot to steal their fortune, a lumpy bed, a deadly serpent, a large brass reading lamp, a long knife, and a terrible odour.  
    In the tradition of great storytellers, from Dickens to Dahl, comes an exquisitely dark comedy that is both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted. Never before has a tale of three likeable and unfortunate children been quite so enchanting, or quite so uproariously unhappy.
    Show book
  • Octagon Magic - cover

    Octagon Magic

    Andre Norton

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Few authors have achieved such renown as World Fantasy Life Achievement honoree and Science Fiction Writers of America Grand Master Andre Norton. With the love of readers and the praise of critics, Norton’s books have sold millions of copies worldwide. Lorrie discovers a strange and fascinating secret! Did a witch live in the eight-sided house? Was it haunted? There were lots of scary stories about the strange house—but none could match the secret Lorrie uncovered. One day, she climbed the high iron gate and escaped into the garden to save a kitten from some cruel boys—and met the mysterious lady of the house. The woman let Lorrie explore all the odd-shaped rooms. In one of them was a rocking horse and a large, eight-sided dollhouse—an exact miniature of the big house. The dollhouse was beautifully furnished and seemed so ready—as if someone lived there! It drew Lorrie back into exciting adventures that she had to face with courage and daring! This adventure should not be missed by fantasy lovers!Octagon Magic is the 2nd book in the Magic Sequence, but you may enjoy reading the series in any order.
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #1: The Bad Beginning - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 7
    • 166
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    Are you made fainthearted by death? Does fire unnerve you? Is a villain something that might crop up in future nightmares of yours? Are you thrilled by nefarious plots? Is cold porridge upsetting to you? Vicious threats? Hooks? Uncomfortable clothing? 
    It is likely that your answers will reveal A Series of Unfortunate Events to be ill-suited for your personal use. A librarian, bookseller, or acquaintance should be able to suggest books more appropriate for your fragile temperament. But to the rarest of readers we say, "Proceed, but cautiously."
    Show book