Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Catch You Later Traitor - Special Preview - The First 8 Chapters plus Bonus Material - cover

Catch You Later Traitor - Special Preview - The First 8 Chapters plus Bonus Material

Avi

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 0
  • 9
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! From Newbery Medalist Avi comes the thrilling and suspenseful story of an ordinary American family who fall under suspicion. It’s 1951, and twelve-year-old Pete Collison is a regular kid in Brooklyn, New York, who loves Sam Spade detective books and radio crime dramas. But when an FBI agent shows up at Pete’s doorstep, accusing Pete’s father of being a Communist, Pete is caught in a real-life mystery. Could there really be Commies in Pete’s family? As Pete follows the quickly accumulating clues, he begins to wonder if the truth could put his family’s livelihood—and even their freedom—at risk. In the tradition of Who Was That Masked Man, Anyway?, Don’t You Know There’s a War On?, and Nothing But the Truth, Catch You Later, Traitor tells a funny, insightful story packed with realistic period detail of a boy in mid-twentieth-century America whose family is caught in the wide net of America’s Red Scare. Praise for Who Was that Masked Man, Anyway?: “Avi celebrates our dreams.” —Booklist, starred review Praise for Sophia’s War: “Outstanding historical fiction, bringing to dramatic life the human story behind extraordinary events . . . Rich in period detail, the atmospheric prose vividly re-creates old New York.” —School Library Journal, starred review Praise for City of Orphans: “Heroic deeds, narrow escapes, dastardly villains, amazing coincidences and a family rich in love and hope are all part of an intricate and endlessly entertaining adventure. Terrific!” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Who read this book also read:

  • Strange and Ever After - cover

    Strange and Ever After

    Susan Dennard

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare's The Infernal Devices series, this is the explosive conclusion to Susan Dennard's trilogy, which started with Something Strange and Deadly and continued with A Darkness Strange and Lovely. With supernatural forces, epic romance, and a mysterious Egyptian city, Eleanor and her team are set for an adventure they will never forget. 
    It has been a tumultuous time for Eleanor Fitt since life as she knew it in Philadelphia came abruptly to an end. Although the Spirit-Hunters—Joseph, Jie, and Daniel—have helped her survive, Eleanor has lost just about everything. 
    And now, Jie is missing—taken by the evil necromancer Marcus. Eleanor is determined not only to get her back but to finally end this nightmare. To do so, she must navigate the hot desert streets of nineteenth-century Egypt amid the rising Dead, her unresolved feelings for Daniel, and her volatile relationships with Joseph and Oliver, her demon. And it won't be easy. Because Allison, her friend from Philadelphia, has tagged along, becoming strangely entangled in Eleanor's mission. 
    It will take all of Eleanor's powers of black magic, and all of Daniel's and Joseph's trust, to succeed. But there will be a price.
    Show book
  • The Swap - cover

    The Swap

    Megan Shull

    • 1
    • 25
    • 0
    Now a Disney Channel Original Movie, Megan Shull’s smart and funny twist on Freaky Friday is perfect for fans of Wendy Mass, Jerry Spinelli, and Jon Scieszka! 
    With one random wish, Jack and Ellie are living life in each other’s shoes. He’s her. And she’s him. ELLIE assumed popular guys didn’t worry about body image, being perfect, or talking to girls, but acting like you’re cool with everything is tougher than it looks. JACK thought girls had it easy—no fights with bullies, no demanding dads, no power plays—but facing mean girls at sleepovers and getting grilled about your period is way harder than taking a hit to the face at sports practice. 
    Now they’re dealing with each other’s middle school dramas—locker room teasing, cliques, video game battles, bra shopping, and a slew of hilariously awkward moments—until they hopefully switch back! Told in both Jack’s and Ellie’s voices, The Swap offers a fresh and honest take on tween friendship, all while exploring more serious themes of family, loss, empathy, and what it really means to be yourself. And as Jon Scieszka says, it’s “seriously, truly, fearlessly funny!”
    Show book
  • Hate That Cat - cover

    Hate That Cat

    Sharon Creech

    • 3
    • 11
    • 0
    Jack 
    Room 204—Miss Stretchberry 
    February 25 
    Today the fat black catup in the tree by the bus stopdropped a nut on my headthunkand when I yelled at itthat fat black cat saidMurr-mee-urrrin a nastyspitefulway. 
    I hate that cat. 
    This is the story of Jackwordssoundssilenceteacherand cat.
    Show book
  • A Dark Faerie Tale Books 1 & 2 - cover

    A Dark Faerie Tale Books 1 & 2

    Alexia Purdy

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Shade’s destiny was never meant to be typical, no matter how hard she tried to avoid it. The inadvertent discovery of the bewildering Land of Faerie throws her into a perilous journey to find magic only she can wield. Along with a band of magical misfits and warriors, she must fight past innumerable dangers, surpass unimaginable hardships, and face all who are bent on sabotaging her mission to the very end. 
    The more Shade’s magic grows, the more the power of the Land of Faerie calls to her. Blood, memory, treachery, and most of all, love will push her past boundaries she never knew existed. All those she’s bound to must take arms against an unrelenting evil determined to rule all of Faerie and humankind, the Unseelie Queen Aveta, or all will be lost. 
    This set includes books 1 & 2 of A DARK FAERIE TALE SERIES 
    Also available in this series: 
    The Withering Palace 
    Evangeline 
    Ever Shade 
    Ever Fire 
    Ever Winter 
    The Cursed 
    Ever Wrath 
    History of Fire 
    Without Armor 
    Ever Dead
    Show book
  • A Series of Unfortunate Events #5: The Austere Academy - cover

    A Series of Unfortunate Events...

    Lemony Snicket

    • 1
    • 13
    • 0
    NOW A NETFLIX ORIGINAL SERIES 
    As the three Baudelaire orphans warily approach their new home Prufrock Preparatory School, they can't help but notice the enormous stone arch bearing the school's motto Memento Mori or "Remember you will die." This is not a cheerful greeting and certainly marks an inauspicious beginning to a very bleak story just as we have come to expect from Lemony Snicket's A Series of Unfortunate Events, the deliciously morbid set of books that began with The Bad Beginning and only got worse.
    Show book
  • The Loser's Guide to Life and Love - cover

    The Loser's Guide to Life and Love

    A. E. Cannon

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ordinary, boring Ed works a loser summer job at Reel Life Movies, where he doesn't even have his own name tag. He's stuck with "Sergio." Ed's only consolations are his two best friends. Shelving DVDs isn't so mind-numbingly dull with Scout cracking jokes, and after hours Ed hangs out with the superbrain, Quark. Life starts to look up when the girl of his dreams saunters into Reel Life. Ed knows he doesn't stand a chance . . . but maybe, just maybe Sergio does. All he has to do is pretend to be a smoldering Brazilian stud for the rest of his life. Simple, right? But . . . Ed's new dream girl has her own secrets, Scout wants to be more than Ed's best friend, and his buddy Quark wants Scout for himself.  
    Star-crossed crushes make for hilarious misunderstandings as Ed guides his life toward disaster in this fresh, contemporary twist on Shakespeare's Midsummer Night's Dream.
    Show book