Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Catch You Later Traitor - Special Preview - The First 8 Chapters plus Bonus Material - cover

Catch You Later Traitor - Special Preview - The First 8 Chapters plus Bonus Material

Avi

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 0
  • 6
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! From Newbery Medalist Avi comes the thrilling and suspenseful story of an ordinary American family who fall under suspicion. It’s 1951, and twelve-year-old Pete Collison is a regular kid in Brooklyn, New York, who loves Sam Spade detective books and radio crime dramas. But when an FBI agent shows up at Pete’s doorstep, accusing Pete’s father of being a Communist, Pete is caught in a real-life mystery. Could there really be Commies in Pete’s family? As Pete follows the quickly accumulating clues, he begins to wonder if the truth could put his family’s livelihood—and even their freedom—at risk. In the tradition of Who Was That Masked Man, Anyway?, Don’t You Know There’s a War On?, and Nothing But the Truth, Catch You Later, Traitor tells a funny, insightful story packed with realistic period detail of a boy in mid-twentieth-century America whose family is caught in the wide net of America’s Red Scare. Praise for Who Was that Masked Man, Anyway?: “Avi celebrates our dreams.” —Booklist, starred review Praise for Sophia’s War: “Outstanding historical fiction, bringing to dramatic life the human story behind extraordinary events . . . Rich in period detail, the atmospheric prose vividly re-creates old New York.” —School Library Journal, starred review Praise for City of Orphans: “Heroic deeds, narrow escapes, dastardly villains, amazing coincidences and a family rich in love and hope are all part of an intricate and endlessly entertaining adventure. Terrific!” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Who read this book also read:

  • Rules of Attraction - cover

    Rules of Attraction

    Simone Elkeles

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Carlos Fuentes doesn't want any part of the life his older brother, Alex, has laid out for him in Boulder, Colorado. He wants to keep living on the edge, and carve his own path-just like Alex did. Unfortunately, his ties to a Mexican gang aren't easy to break, and he soon finds himself being set up by a drug lord.  
     
    When Alex arranges for Carlos to live with his former professor and his family to keep him from being sent to jail, Carlos feels completely out of place. He's even more thrown by his strong feelings for the professor's daughter, Kiara, who is nothing like the girls he's usually drawn to. But Carlos and Kiara soon discover that in matters of the heart, the rules of attraction overpower the social differences that conspire to keep them apart. 
     
    As the danger grows for Carlos, he's shocked to discover that it's this seemingly All-American family who can save him. But is he willing to endanger their safety for a chance at the kind of life he's never even dreamed possible?
    Show book
  • Garfield #29 - cover

    Garfield #29

    Mark Evanier, Scott Nickel

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    As everyone heads back to school, we’ve got a fun-filled issue of Garfield for you! First, Garfield and Odie go on a strange trip with their mailman. Then, guest artist Maris Wicks (All-New X-Men, Primates) joins us for a tale of Pooky being abducted by aliens. Grab a pumpkin spice latte, and curl up this fall with more all-new GARFIELD.
    Show book
  • Damage - cover

    Damage

    A. M. Jenkins

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    As the Pride of the Panthers, football star Austin Reid is a likable guy, good with the ladies. Lately though, he doesn't like his life -- or anything else -- so much. And the worst part is that he can't seem to figure out why.
    Show book
  • The Spellcoats - cover

    The Spellcoats

    Diana Wynne Jones

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Tanqui discovers she has the only means to conquer the evil Kankredin who threatens her own people and the Heathens who have invaded prehistoric Dalemark. 
    Tanaqui discovers she has the means to conquer the evil Kankredin who threatens her own people and the Heathens who have invaded prehistoric Dalemark.
    Show book
  • Dark Side of the Moon - Secrets of the Moon Series #4 - cover

    Dark Side of the Moon - Secrets...

    Kristy Centeno

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    During her darkest hour, will she find the courage to seek the light? 
    Marjorie has eluded both capture and death yet again, but her days are numbered. The old threat has resurfaced to endanger everyone she cares for and only a forged alliance with a member of royal blood will guarantee their safety and hers. However, in the midst of accepting who she is, Marjorie has to come to terms with the fact that those she considered friends may be anything but, and the mother she thought dead may have been missing against her will. 
    A relationship in turmoil, a storm brewing in the distance, a shattered tranquility...will she find the courage to save her loved ones even if that means losing her humanity?
    Show book
  • Garfield #33 - cover

    Garfield #33

    Andy Hirsch, David DeGrand, Kari...

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    WHY WE LOVE IT: In 1984, Jim Davis created a groundbreaking series of illustrated short stories called Garfield: His 9 Lives, setting the Fat Cat in various eras, that became an instant classic. We loved it so much we wanted to do it again!WHY YOU’LL LOVE IT: Even if you’ve never read the original His 9 Lives stories or watched the 1988 animated special, you’ll enjoy these unique interpretations by an all-star cast of cartoonists, including Andy Hirsch, Yehudi Mercado, Roger Langridge, Frazer Irving, and Genevieve FT, as they depict Garfield through the ages, from prehistoric times, to the reaches of outer space.WHAT IT’S ABOUT: "Garfield: His 9 Lives, Part 1." The journey begins with "Cave Cat," as David DeGrand (Spongebob Comics) takes us back to Garfield’s first life, during the earliest days of life on Earth! Then, Kari Smith (Plume) illustrates "King Cat," as we see how Garfield got down in Ancient Egypt.
    Show book