Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Catch You Later Traitor - Special Preview - The First 8 Chapters plus Bonus Material - cover

Catch You Later Traitor - Special Preview - The First 8 Chapters plus Bonus Material

Avi

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 0
  • 10
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! From Newbery Medalist Avi comes the thrilling and suspenseful story of an ordinary American family who fall under suspicion. It’s 1951, and twelve-year-old Pete Collison is a regular kid in Brooklyn, New York, who loves Sam Spade detective books and radio crime dramas. But when an FBI agent shows up at Pete’s doorstep, accusing Pete’s father of being a Communist, Pete is caught in a real-life mystery. Could there really be Commies in Pete’s family? As Pete follows the quickly accumulating clues, he begins to wonder if the truth could put his family’s livelihood—and even their freedom—at risk. In the tradition of Who Was That Masked Man, Anyway?, Don’t You Know There’s a War On?, and Nothing But the Truth, Catch You Later, Traitor tells a funny, insightful story packed with realistic period detail of a boy in mid-twentieth-century America whose family is caught in the wide net of America’s Red Scare. Praise for Who Was that Masked Man, Anyway?: “Avi celebrates our dreams.” —Booklist, starred review Praise for Sophia’s War: “Outstanding historical fiction, bringing to dramatic life the human story behind extraordinary events . . . Rich in period detail, the atmospheric prose vividly re-creates old New York.” —School Library Journal, starred review Praise for City of Orphans: “Heroic deeds, narrow escapes, dastardly villains, amazing coincidences and a family rich in love and hope are all part of an intricate and endlessly entertaining adventure. Terrific!” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Who read this book also read:

  • Mardok and the Seven Exiles - RoboTales - cover

    Mardok and the Seven Exiles -...

    Jill Williamson, Luke Williamson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Strange things are happening at the Space Force Military Academy. General Gruss believes the Ice Beast is responsible and asks cadet Riv Mardok to hunt down the menace. Mardok, always eager to “protect the helpless,” accepts the quest, but when he finds himself trapped, alone in the forest, his bravery isn’t enough to save him. Mardok has no choice but to call for help. The question is: will anyone answer? 
     
    If you enjoyed “Mardok and the Seven Exiles,” you’ll love book one, “Tinker!”
    Show book
  • Sky Rider - cover

    Sky Rider

    Nancy Springer

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Everything changes when a handsome stranger rides off into the night on Dusty’s horse There’s no way around it: Dusty’s horse Tazz needs to be put down. Once a champion jumper, Tazz can barely walk now due to hoof pain. And that’s not the only thing that’s wrong in Dusty’s life. Since her mother’s death, Dusty’s dad hasn’t stopped drinking—even after his drunk driving put Dusty in the hospital with a now-chronic back injury. Why don’t they just put me down too? she wonders. While Dusty is giving Tazz one last grooming, his ears suddenly prick up as a stranger approaches: a young boy with an otherworldly beauty. He offers to take Tazz with him, and the two race off into the distance as though Tazz were in perfect health, with the boy perched on his back. Who could this person be? And what is he doing here? It’s only when Dusty returns to school the next day that she hears about the boy who was killed. When she sees his photo in the newspaper, she knows that he’s the mysterious guy who rode off on Tazz. What she doesn’t know is that he will soon return.
    Show book
  • When I Dream of ABC - cover

    When I Dream of ABC

    Henry Fisher

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Enter the dreamy world of ABC in this soothing bedtime book. A humorous exploration of the many strange and extraordinary characters that inhabit a fantastical dreamworld, encouraging children to learn their ABC. From shy dragons and opera- singing mermaids, to bossy queens and hot chocolate-drinking vampires, learning the alphabet has never been so fascinating.
    Show book
  • The Beginning - The Legend of Oescienne #2 - cover

    The Beginning - The Legend of...

    Jenna Elizabeth Johnson

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Twelve years have passed since Jahrra arrived in Oescienne and became the responsibility of the old Korli dragon Hroombra; yet much can happen in twelve years. So far, Jahrra’s life has been filled with adventure, danger, friendship and even loss. Despite what she has learned in school and what she has learned from life, she has no idea that she is in fact human, a child of the race that has been absent from the world of Ethöes for five long centuries . . . 
    But the girl’s identity must be kept secret, even from Jahrra herself, for if the Tyrant King of the East knew of her existence all would be lost. And as time goes by those responsible for the young human girl grow anxious and cautious, for there is evidence of an unknown danger in their midst; a danger they cannot see or hear, but one they can sense like a bad omen.  
    As Jahrra continues to grow and learn about the world around her, facing personal dangers, challenges and enemies of her own, she will become aware of the prophecy that she is meant to fulfill and what she must sacrifice in order to survive what lies ahead.
    Show book
  • Kiss Away My Fears - cover

    Kiss Away My Fears

    Laurie S. Johnson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Kiss Away My Fears is a compassionate and sensitive rhyme for parents of a critically or chronically ill child. This story is a gentle and heartfelt reminder of hope and love.
    Show book
  • Epic: The Junior Novel - cover

    Epic: The Junior Novel

    Annie Auerbach

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    From the creators of Ice Age and Rio, Epic tells the story of a hidden civilization. The battle between good and evil rages until a teenage girl is magically transported into this forest kingdom to help save their world, and ours. 
    The Jinn are tiny forest creatures who love all growing things. Their enemies, the Boggans, want to destroy the forest by spreading decay. When a human girl named M.K. magically shrinks and joins forces with the Leafmen— the brave warrior Jinn—the Jinn may have a chance of survival. Join M.K., the Leafmen, and other curious creatures on a dangerous journey to save this miraculous forest world! 
    Epic: The Junior Novel retells the whole exciting story and features eight pages of full-color images from the movie!
    Show book