Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Catch You Later Traitor - Special Preview - The First 8 Chapters plus Bonus Material - cover

Catch You Later Traitor - Special Preview - The First 8 Chapters plus Bonus Material

Avi

Publisher: Algonquin Young Readers

  • 0
  • 10
  • 0

Summary

SPECIAL PREVIEW! From Newbery Medalist Avi comes the thrilling and suspenseful story of an ordinary American family who fall under suspicion. It’s 1951, and twelve-year-old Pete Collison is a regular kid in Brooklyn, New York, who loves Sam Spade detective books and radio crime dramas. But when an FBI agent shows up at Pete’s doorstep, accusing Pete’s father of being a Communist, Pete is caught in a real-life mystery. Could there really be Commies in Pete’s family? As Pete follows the quickly accumulating clues, he begins to wonder if the truth could put his family’s livelihood—and even their freedom—at risk. In the tradition of Who Was That Masked Man, Anyway?, Don’t You Know There’s a War On?, and Nothing But the Truth, Catch You Later, Traitor tells a funny, insightful story packed with realistic period detail of a boy in mid-twentieth-century America whose family is caught in the wide net of America’s Red Scare. Praise for Who Was that Masked Man, Anyway?: “Avi celebrates our dreams.” —Booklist, starred review Praise for Sophia’s War: “Outstanding historical fiction, bringing to dramatic life the human story behind extraordinary events . . . Rich in period detail, the atmospheric prose vividly re-creates old New York.” —School Library Journal, starred review Praise for City of Orphans: “Heroic deeds, narrow escapes, dastardly villains, amazing coincidences and a family rich in love and hope are all part of an intricate and endlessly entertaining adventure. Terrific!” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

Who read this book also read:

  • The Indian School - cover

    The Indian School

    Gloria Whelan

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    A critically acclaimed historical novel by the author of the National Book Award-winning novel Homeless Bird.  
    When shy ten-year-old Lucy comes to live with her aunt and uncle at their mission school, she's surprised at the number of harsh rules and restrictions imposed on the children. Why, she wonders, should the Indians have to do all the changing? And why is her aunt so strict with them? 
    Then a girl called Raven runs away in protest, and Lucy knows she must overcome her timidity and stand up to her aunt—no matter what the consequences.  
    With her trademark lyricism, spare prose, and strong young heroine, award-winning author Gloria Whelan has once again taken a chapter from history and transformed it into gripping, accessible historical fiction that is perfect for schools and classrooms, as well as for fans of Linda Sue Park and Louise Erdrich.
    Show book
  • What Happens in Paris - cover

    What Happens in Paris

    Jen McConnel

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    Four countries. 
    Three girls. 
    Three loves. 
    One adventure abroad they'll never forget. 
     
    Camie can't figure out what she wants, from college or life…until she meets Hunter. But will the magic of a romantic night in Paris last till the morning? 
     
    Fall in love with the second novella in the New Adult series, Adventures Abroad!
    Show book
  • What Happens in Berlin - cover

    What Happens in Berlin

    Jen McConnel

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    Four countries. 
    Three girls. 
    Three loves. 
    One adventure abroad they'll never forget. 
     
     
    Interrupting a summer of fun, Joelle takes a detour to Berlin for her older brother's wedding. Spending time with her family is enough to make anyone go a little crazy. She's ready to lose it...until she meets Vi, a girl ready to turn her world upside down. 
     
    Follow her journey in the third installment of the New Adult series, Adventures Abroad!
    Show book
  • Wings - A Fairy Tale - cover

    Wings - A Fairy Tale

    E.D. Baker

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Tamisin has always been a little weird. Her freckles actually look more like sparkles and occasionally, she likes to dance under the full moon. Then one day, wings sprout from her back, and Tamisin learns that her parents adopted her from fairyland. Inspired by A Midsummer Night's Dream, this fairy tale will delight fans of The Tales of the Frog Princess and new readers alike.
    Show book
  • Keepsake - cover

    Keepsake

    Paula Leyden

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Ella and Johnny are distraught when Johnny's horse Storm disappears from his field. Johnny knows that he has been taken by 'the pound man'. The horse pound's job is to round up neglected or feral horses and put them down, but Storm doesn't come into that category. This is plain stealing. Ella, Johnny and Ella's granny aren't going to let Storm go that easily. They round up the evidence and set off to the pound, where they confront the officials with proof that Storm was not wandering the roads causing mayhem and endangering the traffic, but is a well-cared-for animal who was snatched from a field. The pound officials try to bluff their way out of the situation, but Johnny goes snooping about and discovers where Storm is being kept. Together, the children stage a dramatic rescue. A fast-paced tale of two children in modern Ireland in a race against time to save their horse.
    Show book
  • Fetlocks Hall 4: The Enchanted Pony - cover

    Fetlocks Hall 4: The Enchanted Pony

    Babette Cole

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Penny Simms and her best friend Pip are both pony mad. Luckily they attend the equestrian boarding school Fetlocks Hall, but there is a mystery surrounding the disappearance of Pip's parents, and Penny and Pip are determined to solve it. 
     
    With the help of Princess Sophie, a Centaureen, Penny and Pip encounter a magical world of mythical horses, where they struggle to release Pip's parents from an enchanted spell and reunite the family.
    Show book