Subscribe and enjoy more than 800,000 books
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
The Vain Conversation - A Novel - cover

The Vain Conversation - A Novel

Anthony Grooms

Publisher: University of South Carolina Press

  • 2
  • 7
  • 1

Summary

Inspired by true events, The Vain Conversation reflects on the 1946 lynching of two black couples in Georgia from the perspectives of three characters—Bertrand Johnson, one of the victims; Noland Jacks, a presumed perpetrator; and Lonnie Henson, a witness to the murders as a ten-year-old boy.  Lonnie’s inexplicable feelings of culpability drive him in a search for meaning that takes him around the world, and ultimately back to Georgia, where he must confront Jacks and his own demons, with the hopes that doing so will free him from the grip of the past.

In The Vain Conversation, Anthony Grooms seeks to advance the national dialogue on race relations. With complexity, satire, and sometimes levity, he explores what it means to redeem, as well as to be redeemed, on the issues of America’s race violence and speaks to the broader issues of oppression and violence everywhere.

A foreword is provided by American poet, painter, and novelist Clarence Major. An afterward is written by T. Geronimo Johnson, the bestselling author of Welcome to Braggsville and Hold It ’Til It Hurts.

Other books that might interest you

  • Murder In Mayfair - A Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery - cover

    Murder In Mayfair - A Juliette...

    Marilyn Clay

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    MURDER IN MAYFAIR, A Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery, Book 2 by Marilyn Clay takes place in London. 
    Fresh from her terrifying fortnight at Morland Manor, eight-and-ten-year-old Miss Juliette Abbott and her friend Miss Cathleen Haworth are cataloguing Lady Carstairs' priceless artifacts in preparation to sell. But before they even approach the curiosity dealer, the handsome gentleman turns up dead! 
    With only two likely suspects and no funds to hire a Bow Street detective to investigate the crime, Juliette is left to unravel the mystery herself. Attempting to uncover who could have killed the kind gentleman, who made female hearts flutter and whom everyone declares was the most thoughtful man alive, keeps Juliette awake at night and on her toes each day. 
    Can Miss Abbott succeed without putting herself in jeopardy, or will the killer strike again before she sorts out the puzzle and brings the real killer to justice? 
    "Cleverly written with enough twists and turns to keep readers guessing! The final twist surprised even me, a voracious reader of British cozy mysteries..." Elizabeth Morrison 
    “I LOVED it! Author Marilyn Clay has penned a refreshing read from a different perspective, not the same old, same old. Marilyn Clay’s Regency-set mysteries breathe new life into the genre! Well done!!!  -A. Hall. 
    "You won't be able to put this one down!" -Hailey Stanhope 
    Look for MURDER AT MORLAND MANOR, Book 1 in the Juliette Abbott Regency Mystery Series, Book 2, MURDER IN MAYFAIR and Book 3, MURDER IN MARGATE. Coming soon Book 4, MURDER AT MEDLEY PARK. 
    Best-selling author MARILYN CLAY has written many Regency romances, all originally published in print and now as ebooks. The Wrong Miss Fairfax, Felicity’s Folly, Bewitching Lord Winterton, Miss Darby's Debut, Hyde Park Spectacle, Miss Eliza’s Gentleman Caller, Brighton Beauty, A Pretty Puzzle, The Uppity Earl, and The Unsuitable Suitor. 
    NEW! THE WRONG MISS FAIRFAX by Marilyn Clay. Emma and her look-alike cousin Jemima are as different as chalk and cheese. Unfortunately, when Lord Townsend comes to call, he loses his heart to the wrong Miss Fairfax! 
    MARILYN CLAY’s historical romantic suspense novels set in the New World in the 1600s include: DECEPTIONS: A Colonial Jamestown Novel, originally released in hardcover. Catherine travels to the New World in search of her betrothed, but what she finds in Jamestown is not at all what she expects! 
    SECRETS AND LIES also published in hardcover and recently re-released in paperback and ebook as A PETTICOAT AND LAMBSKIN GLOVES features some of the same characters who appear in DECEPTIONS. The inspirational story of four young English girls who travel to the New World on a Bride Ship, all in search of love, a new life and the adventure of a lifetime. What they find instead is that someone in Jamestown wants one, or all of them, dead! 
    BETSY ROSS: ACCIDENTAL SPY Set in 1776 Philadelphia, Betsy Ross determines to uncover who killed her beloved husband John Ross, but can she bring down the ruthless double spy before he kills her, or her sisters? 
    STALKING A KILLER, a contemporary murder mystery by Marilyn Clay. Aspiring PI Amanda Mason's first case to solve is a murder charge against her own father! But, can she trust the handsome man who has agreed to help her? 
    All of Marilyn Clay’s non-fiction titles, and many of her Regencies have become online best sellers. 
    For more information visit the Marilyn Clay Author website.
    Show book
  • Merlin at War - A DCI Frank Merlin Novel - cover

    Merlin at War - A DCI Frank...

    Mark Ellis

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    War rages across Europe. France is under the Nazi thumb. Britain has its back to the wall. In London, Scotland Yard detective Merlin investigates a series of disturbing events – a young girl killed in a botched abortion, a French emigré shot in a seedy Notting Hill flat, a mysterious letter written by a British officer, gunned down in Crete.
    
     
    With action spanning Buenos Aires, New York, Cairo and Occupied France, Merlin and his team are plunged into a dark world of espionage, murder, love and betrayal.
    Show book
  • Dragonflies - cover

    Dragonflies

    Grant Buday

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    After ten years the Trojan War is at a deadlock. Both sides are exhausted, and Odysseus, cleverest of men, wants more than anything to return to Ithaka and his wife and son and orange grove. He aches for home, but not without a certain fear that he will return a stranger to the son he hasn't seen in ten years. When Agamemnon, King of the Greeks, asks Odysseus to devise a scheme to settle the conflict once and for all, Odysseus comes up with the idea of the great horse. No Trojan, he thinks, can resist a magnificent horse. Yet many think the idea mad. The comic and iconoclastic Odysseus will have more than his ingenuity tested before he can set sail for home. This deeply imagined and exquisitely written novel details the last days of the Trojan War. Told from Odysseus' perspective, it fleshes out the myth and mystery of one of the greatest stories in the Western canon.
    Show book
  • The Walworth Beauty - cover

    The Walworth Beauty

    Michèle Roberts

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the Booker-shortlisted author comes a sensuous, evocative novel exploring the lives of women in Victorian London, for fans of Sarah Waters, Emma Donoghue and Kate Atkinson 
     
    2011: When Madeleine loses her job as a lecturer, she decides to leave her riverside flat in cobbled Stew Lane, where history never feels far away, and move to Apricot Place. Yet here too, in this quiet Walworth cul-de-sac, she senses the past encroaching: a shifting in the atmosphere, a current of unseen life.  
     
    1851: and Joseph Benson has been employed by Henry Mayhew to help research his articles on the working classes. A family man with mouths to feed, Joseph is tasked with coaxing testimony from prostitutes. Roaming the Southwark streets, he is tempted by brothels' promises of pleasure – and as he struggles with his assignment, he seeks answers in Apricot Place, where the enigmatic Mrs Dulcimer runs a boarding house. 
     
    As these entwined stories unfold, alive with the sensations of London past and present, the two eras brush against each other – a breath at Madeleine's neck, a voice in her head – the murmurs of ghosts echoing through time. Rendered in immediate, intoxicating prose, The Walworth Beauty is a haunting tale of desire and exploitation, isolation and loss, and the faltering search for human connection; this is Michèle Roberts at her masterful best.
    Show book
  • Dragon's Fire - Dragon Eggs #4 - cover

    Dragon's Fire - Dragon Eggs #4

    Emily Martha Sorensen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    When Rose decided to correct an arrogant woman about her wrongheaded belief that dragons were not intelligent, it resulted in an unexpected complication: now that woman wants a dragon egg of her own. 
    Hearing the news that two new eggs have awakened, Rose rushes with her dragon son to the museum in hopes of preventing such a catastrophe.
    Show book
  • Quicksilver - The Baroque Cycle #1 - cover

    Quicksilver - The Baroque Cycle #1

    Neal Stephenson

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Quicksilver is the story of Daniel Waterhouse, fearless thinker and conflicted Puritan, pursuing knowledge in the company of the greatest minds of Baroque-era Europe, in a chaotic world where reason wars with the bloody ambitions of the mighty, and where catastrophe, natural or otherwise, can alter the political landscape overnight. 
    It is a chronicle of the breathtaking exploits of "Half-Cocked Jack" Shaftoe -- London street urchin turned swashbuckling adventurer and legendary King of the Vagabonds -- risking life and limb for fortune and love while slowly maddening from the pox. 
    And it is the tale of Eliza, rescued by Jack from a Turkish harem to become spy, confidante, and pawn of royals in order to reinvent Europe through the newborn power of finance. 
    A gloriously rich, entertaining, and endlessly inventive novel that brings a remarkable age and its momentous events to vivid life, Quicksilver is an extraordinary achievement from one of the most original and important literary talents of our time. 
    And it's just the beginning ...
    Show book