Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Arrow of Apollo - cover

The Arrow of Apollo

Philip Womack

Publisher: Unbound

  • 0
  • 5
  • 0

Summary

Philip Womack has written six acclaimed books for children including 2016's The Double Axe, which was chosen as one of the Telegraph's 'Children's Books of the Year'.He is a classicist by background, and the book spins fascinating new stories out of Greek myth in a gripping, fast-flowing style for readers aged eleven and up.For fans of Rick Riordan's Percy Jackson books, In the Shadow of Heroes by Nicholas Bowling, Troy by Adèle Geras and Wolf Brother by Michelle Paver.

Other books that might interest you

  • Crown of Midnight - cover

    Crown of Midnight

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 6
    • 30
    • 0
    She is the greatest assassin her world has ever known. 
    But does she have the heart of a killer? 
     
    After a year of hard labor in the Salt Mines of Endovier, eighteen-year-old assassin Celaena Sardothien has won the king's contest to become the new royal assassin.  But Calaena is far from loyal to the crown. Keeping up the charade - while pretending to do the king's bidding - will test her skills in an entirely new way.  And it certainly isn't the only point of confusion for the young girl.  Because though she's made her choice between Dorian and Chaol, the ways of the heart are never simple...
    Show book
  • Fox + Chick: The Sleepover - and Other Stories - cover

    Fox + Chick: The Sleepover - and...

    Sergio Ruzzier

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Fox and Chick are back in this newest book in the hilarious early reader series by Geisel Honoree Sergio Ruzzier.In the tradition of Frog and Toad, this critically acclaimed early reader series features Fox and Chick – two unlikely friends who despite their differences always manage to find a way to get along. In this third book in the series, Fox and Chick have a sleepover, search for a lost hammer and throw a surprise party that unexpectedly surprises everyone. The universal characters, humor and comic-style layouts make it ideal for both the picture book audience and emerging readers.• BUDDY BOOKS ARE PERENNIAL: From Frog and Toad to Elephant & Piggie to Ivy & Bean, kids of all ages respond to books about friendship.• PERFECT FOR NEW READERS: The universal characters, humor, and comic-style layouts make it ideal for both the picture book audience and emerging readers.• AWARD-WINNING: The first book in the series won a Geisel Award Honor for "the most distinguished book for beginning readers" by the American Library Association. It was also a New York Times Notable Children's Book and appeared on many Best Book of the Year lists.• KIDS LIKE GRAPHIC NOVELS:  This series will appeal to kids who are visually oriented readers as well as new readers who are eager to tackle graphic novels.Perfect for:• Parents, caregivers, and grandparents• Teachers and librarians • Fans of Frog and Toad, Elephant & Piggie, Bink & Gollie, Charlie & Mouse, and Barkus
    Show book
  • Touch - The Delta Girls - Book Five - cover

    Touch - The Delta Girls - Book Five

    Juliet Madison

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    In the astonishing conclusion to The Delta Girls series, the mystery that has haunted the Delcarta sisters will finally be answered, but discovering the truth may be the last thing they learn.When Talia and her sisters take part in a live studio audience for a television show, the last thing the eldest Delta Girl expects is for her psychic gift to be unwillingly broadcast to the nation. Now the media are hounding her, and the sisters’ secret life and the power they hold threatens to become public knowledge.As Talia seeks refuge in a sculpture class, she meets mysterious loner and talented artist Marco Rodriguez. He seems to be the only person who doesn’t treat her differently after discovering her apparent supernatural ability. But someone else has heard about Talia’s gift―someone dangerous―and he will stop at nothing to get what he wants from her. Talia realizes that the evil threatening her may be linked to her father’s disappearance. She is thrust into a conflicting dilemma of wanting to free herself from danger, but knowing that doing so may mean she never gets to find out the truth about her dad. When her investigations lead her to become unintentionally separated from her sisters, how will The Delta Girls use their gift without each of the five sisters being present? Talia will have to decide how much she is prepared to risk in order to bring about justice and put an end to the mystery that has haunted their entire family.
    Show book
  • Across the Floor - cover

    Across the Floor

    Natasha Deen

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Luc Waldon always figured he knew what his passion was: football. He lives it, he breathes it—and he thinks he has what it takes to go all the way to the NFL. So when his football coach orders him to sign up for contemporary-dance classes to improve his game, Luc's less than thrilled. When he realizes that dance might actually be his true passion, he faces a tough decision. Is he willing to leave behind the field and a real shot at professional sports, and disappoint his parents, his coach and his teammates, in order to pursue a new dream?
    Show book
  • Kingdom of Ash - cover

    Kingdom of Ash

    Sarah J. Maas

    • 4
    • 12
    • 0
    Years in the making, Sarah J. Maas's #1 New York Times bestselling Throne of Glass series draws to an epic, unforgettable conclusion. Aelin Galathynius's journey from slave to king's assassin to the queen of a once-great kingdom reaches its heart-rending finale as war erupts across her world. . .  
     
    Aelin has risked everything to save her people-but at a tremendous cost. Locked within an iron coffin by the Queen of the Fae, Aelin must draw upon her fiery will as she endures months of torture. Aware that yielding to Maeve will doom those she loves keeps her from breaking, though her resolve begins to unravel with each passing day… 
     
    With Aelin captured, Aedion and Lysandra remain the last line of defense to protect Terrasen from utter destruction. Yet they soon realize that the many allies they've gathered to battle Erawan's hordes might not be enough to save them. Scattered across the continent and racing against time, Chaol, Manon, and Dorian are forced to forge their own paths to meet their fates. Hanging in the balance is any hope of salvation-and a better world. 
     
    And across the sea, his companions unwavering beside him, Rowan hunts to find his captured wife and queen-before she is lost to him forever. 
     
     As the threads of fate weave together at last, all must fight, if they are to have a chance at a future. Some bonds will grow even deeper, while others will be severed forever in the explosive final chapter of the Throne of Glass series.
    Show book
  • Strawberry Moon - cover

    Strawberry Moon

    Becky Citra

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    The year is 1838 and Ellie's grandmother has arrived all the way from England. Ellie is horrified to discover that the forbidding old woman intends to take her back to Britain to be raised properly. Ellie is determined that she will not go, but what can a nine-year-old girl do in the face of an adult with her mind made up?
    Show book