The perfect plan for booklovers!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Pixie Piper and the Matter of the Batter - cover

Pixie Piper and the Matter of the Batter

Annabelle Fisher

Publisher: Greenwillow Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In this sequel to The Secret Destiny of Pixie Piper, Pixie Piper—who is a direct descendent of Mother Goose—and her adorable gosling, Destiny, head to Chuckling Goose Farm, where she bakes magical wishing cakes, makes new friends, and defends the farm from the evil Sinister Sisters. “A fresh new addition to middle grade stories of magic and friendship; recommended for fans of . . . Chris Colfer’s The Land of Stories.”—School Library Journal 
Pixie Piper and her best friend, Gray, are off to Chuckling Goose Farm, where descendants of Mother Goose spend the summer learning to master their magic. With her new friends, Rain and Pip, she makes up baking rhymes, plays with her goose, Destiny, and learns how to bake magic wishing cakes. The farm seems safe, but when Pixie finds a shard of glass that belongs to Raveneece, her old enemy, she begins to worry that the worrisome Sinister Sister isn’t as banished as she’d hoped. With multigenerational characters, an emphasis on family, a powerful portrayal of grade-school friendships, and lots of poetry, this is a truly original fairy-tale retelling. 
ALA Booklist said, “Pixie’s an engaging protagonist, who faces both fantastical challenges along with familiar issues . . . this will draw fans of classic tales with a twist.” Features black-and-white chapter openers and a recipe.

Other books that might interest you

  • Just Three - cover

    Just Three

    Lorna Schultz Nicholson

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Before Rory and Jillian's mother died two years ago, she hired Rebecca to be the family housekeeper. But Rebecca is a terrible cook and not so great at housework either. The weird lunches and laundry disasters drive the twins crazy. One day Jillian catches her father flirting with Rebecca and decides it's time to find him a girlfriend. Rory disagrees. But eventually he goes along with the idea, and they create a profile for their father on an online dating site. Dad is very reluctant, but Jillian gets him to agree to go on three dates before giving up. Each date turns out to be more disastrous than the last.
    Will Rory and Jillian manage to find their dad the perfect match? Or was the answer right in front of them the whole time?
    Show book
  • No Filter - cover

    No Filter

    Orlagh Collins

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This poignant, sweepingly romantic debut novel told in dual POVs is perfect for fans of Everything, Everything and All the Bright Places. 
     
    Anyone who follows Emerald on her social media accounts only sees a perfect life-her loving, wealthy family, tight-knit circle of friends, and devoted internet following. But the truth hides behind the scenes of her perfectly framed, filtered photos. . . Emerald's family is far from happy, and when she finds her mom unconscious on the bathroom floor, she can no longer keep it a secret.  
      
     Sent to stay with her grandmother in a small beach town while her mother recovers and her father works non-stop, Emerald fears the long, lonely summer ahead of her . . . until she meets Liam. He's an aspiring songwriter with his own baggage, but neither of them can deny their connection. With secrets and lies all that they're used to, can Emerald and Liam really fall for each other-brave and true-with no filter? 
      
    This fresh, funny, and poignant debut from Orlagh Collins is refreshingly grounded and sweepingly romantic all at once.
    Show book
  • When We Collided - cover

    When We Collided

    Emery Lord

    • 0
    • 64
    • 0
    "It is a book I wish could have written, but am  so much better for having read." --Julie Murphy, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Dumplin' 
     
    A thought-provoking, emotionally-compelling romance featuring a girl, a  boy, and the love that has the power to save or destroy them. 
     
    Seventeen year-old Jonah Daniels has lived in Verona Cove, California, his whole life, and only one thing has ever changed: his father used to be alive, and now he is not. With a mother lost in a deep bout of depression, Jonah and his five siblings struggle to keep up their home and the restaurant their dad left behind. But at the start of summer, a second change rolls in: Vivi Alexander, the new girl in town.  
     
    Vivi is in love with life. Charming and unfiltered, she refuses to be held down by the medicine she's told should make her feel better. After meeting Jonah, she slides into the Daniels' household seamlessly, winning over each sibling with her imagination and gameness. But it's not long before Vivi's zest for life begins to falter. Soon her adventurousness becomes all-out danger-seeking.  
     
    Through each high and low, Vivi and Jonah's love is put to the test . . . but what happens when love simply isn't enough?
    Show book
  • Pazienza Pizza - cover

    Pazienza Pizza

    Gabrielle Cinelli

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Anna is so excited to learn how to make her Nonna’s pizza this weekend! But as the hours and days pass, Anna begins to wonder if she will ever learn how to make pizza. Patience is a hard virtue to learn, but it might just make all the difference.
    Show book
  • Redwood and Ponytail - cover

    Redwood and Ponytail

    K.A. Holt

    • 0
    • 14
    • 0
    Kate and Tam meet, and both of their worlds tip sideways. At first, Tam figures Kate is your stereotypical cheerleader; Kate sees Tam as another tall jock. And the more they keep running into each other, the more they surprise each other. Beneath Kate's sleek ponytail and perfect façade, Tam sees a goofy, sensitive, lonely girl. And Tam's so much more than a volleyball player, Kate realizes: She's everything Kate wishes she could be. It's complicated. Except it's not. When Kate and Tam meet, they fall in like. It's as simple as that. But not everybody sees it that way. This novel in verse about two girls discovering their feelings for each other is a universal story of finding a way to be comfortable in your own skin.
    Show book
  • The Echo Park Castaways - cover

    The Echo Park Castaways

    M. G. Hennessey

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From the author of The Other Boy comes a poignant and heartfelt novel that explores what it means to be a family. Perfect for fans of Counting by 7s.  
    Nevaeh, Vic, and Mara are veterans of the Los Angeles foster care system. For over a year they’ve been staying with Mrs. K in Echo Park. Vic spends most of his time living in a dream world, Mara barely speaks, and Nevaeh is forced to act as a back-up parent. Though their situation isn’t ideal, it’s still their best home yet.  
    Then Child Protective Services places Quentin in the house, and everything is turned upside down. Nevaeh really can’t handle watching over anyone else, especially a boy on the autism spectrum. Meanwhile, Quentin is having trouble adjusting and attempts to run away.  
    So when Vic realizes Quentin just wants to see his mom again, he plans an “epic quest” to reunite them. It could result in the foster siblings getting sent to different group homes. But isn’t family always worth the risk?
    Show book