Enjoy 2020 without limits!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Appraisal - cover

The Appraisal

Anna Porter

Publisher: ECW Press

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In the vein of Kate Atkinson’s Jackson Brodie novels comes this year’s smart new thriller with literary chops
 
When wealthy octogenarian Geza Marton hires art expert Helena Marsh to buy back his family’s Titian painting, Helena flies to Budapest to close what she expects will be a reasonably simple sale. But nothing is ever simple in this beautiful, flawed city where corruption abounds. Helena discovers that there are multiple bidders for the painting, including some dangerous Slavs. Soon there are also dead bodies, and a complicated history that leads her to men Marton knew in Vorkuta, one of Stalin’s notorious gulags.
 
As she works to unravel the truth of the painting’s ownership and dodges her tail, the dogged ex-detective Attila Feher, Helena is forced to call on all her considerable skills to stay alive and out of jail. Smart, fast-paced, and wildly entertaining, The Appraisal is a terrific thriller set against Budapest’s corruption and lost promise.

Other books that might interest you

  • Strong Medicine - cover

    Strong Medicine

    Arthur Hailey

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    Master storyteller Arthur Hailey’s New York Times–bestselling novel takes readers behind the scenes of the billion-dollar pharmaceutical drug industry It starts as a routine case: Mary Rowe contracts hepatitis from unclean drinking water, and the infection should work its way out of her system in a few days. But when the illness worsens and she slips into a coma, Dr. Andrew Jordan is forced to tell Rowe’s husband that his wife is dying. It’s 1957 and there simply isn’t a drug that can save her. Pharmaceutical saleswoman Celia de Grey then offers Dr. Jordan a sample of an experimental drug that cures the dying woman overnight. This marks the beginning of an epic journey—and a great romance—for a dedicated internist and an idealistic, ambitious woman.   The miracle cure establishes de Grey as a rising star within the industry. But as the years pass, she and her husband, Dr. Jordan, begin to realize that her bosses are driven not by the desire to eradicate disease, but by greed. Millions can be made in matters of life and death—for those who don’t mind getting blood on their hands.
    Show book
  • The Sins of the Sons - A Gripping Hard-Boiled Mystery Thriller with a Surprise Ending - cover

    The Sins of the Sons - A...

    Vincent Zandri

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    WILL THE GRAVE SINS FROM YOUR PAST HAUNT YOU TO DEATH?
     
    Can you ever really bury the past?
     
    On a cold November evening back in 1982, real estate lawyer, Marty Finnegan and socialite, Tracy Reynolds, argued bitterly outside the dining room of the Wolforts Roost Country Club. Unbeknownst to them, three drunken teenage boys who attend the same prep school were witnessing their bitter exchange under the cover of darkness. When the boys decide to head out on a joyride that includes holding up Finnegan at gunpoint, their lives take a turn for the worse. Less than twenty-four hours later, the lawyer will be discovered dead in a patch of woods near his home. He died in subzero temperatures, without having worn a coat or boots, his car parked miles away in an airport parking garage.
     
    Now, it’s thirty five years later, and one of the “boys” involved in the original 1982 holdup has found God, and he is about to confess their story to the whole world. But another one of the now middle-aged boys is bent on doing everything in his power to stop the confession.
     
    Enter Jack "Keeper" Marconi, PI, who will reluctantly take on the job of persuading the confessor to keep his mouth shut. But at the same time, the police hire Marconi to delve deeper into the Marty Finnegan cold case file. They want him to determine once and for all, if the lawyer simply died while out for a walk in the freezing cold, or was he murdered in cold blood?
     
    For readers of Michael Connelly, Robert B. Parker, Ace Atkins, Lawrence Block, and more, Thriller Award Winning New York Times Bestselling author Vincent Zandri, brings you an action, suspense, and romance-filled PI novel that is unputdownable.
     
    Scroll up to purchase this tantalizing thriller.
     
    What the critics are saying about Vincent Zandri:
     
    A hugely successful series. Vincent Zandri’s The Guilty is a gripping combination of old-school hardboiled detective yarn and a 80s high-octane action movie. Immensely enjoyable. -Paul D. Brazill, Pulp Metal Magazine *****
     
    ˃˃˃ Tough, stylish, heartbreaking. - Don Winslow, bestselling author of Savages *****
     
    A riveting story..oh, what a story it is: grisly, surprising, and page-turningly suspenseful. A terrific old-school thriller. - Booklist (starred review) *****
     
    Captures readers’ attention from the opening scene...creates a story that... is hard to tear away from once a reader is hooked. - BookPage *****
     
    Sensational...Masterful...Brilliant. - New York Post *****
     
    The action never wanes.- Fort Lauderdale Sun-Sentinel *****
     
    Gritty, fast-paced, lyrical and haunting. -Harlan Coben, bestselling author of Six Years *****
     
    Non-stop action. - I Love a Mystery *****
     
    Vincent Zandri nails reader's attention. - Boston Herald *****
     
    (Zandri) demonstrates an uncanny knack for exposition, introducing new characters and narrative possibilities with the confidence of an old pro...Zandri does a superb job interlocking puzzle pieces. - The San Diego Union-Tribune *****
    Show book
  • The Parchment Notebook - cover

    The Parchment Notebook

    Jo Chumas

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    Cairo, Egypt, 1919Hezba, the rebellious seventeen-year-old daughter of the Sultan of Egypt, lives a life of luxury in a mansion overlooking the river Nile. Locked away in the harem, she has everything she wants, except the one thing that will keep her from madness; her freedom.The Sultan has ordered Hezba back into the care of her husband, the ageing and abusive Khalil al-Shezira, but Hezba's secret lover has other ideas, so does Hezba. She wants al-Shezira gone from her life and she wants change. She'll stop at nothing to achieve her desires.In 1919, Egypt, and in a world reeling from the devastation of the First World War, Hezba is considered a dangerous female; as the daughter of the Sultan of Egypt, she is expected to do as she is told.But for Hezba, submission is impossible; love, revolution and freedom from repression are worth dying for.The Parchment Notebook was originally published by Thomas & Mercer, USA as The Hidden, a novel that won the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award (ABNA) in 2013, in the Mystery/Suspense category and became an overnight bestseller.Now published by 8dpress, Edinburgh, The Hidden has been split into two stories, The Parchment Notebook being the first in The Hidden series. Aimee's War is the second book in the series; The Zephyr, the third; and The Unforgiven the last in the series. 
    Show book
  • The Antiquarian - A Novel - cover

    The Antiquarian - A Novel

    Julián Sánchez

    • 0
    • 3
    • 0
    In this gripping historical thriller, the search for a mysterious and powerful object hidden in the heart of Barcelona leads to ambition, desire, love—and murderAn intriguing letter from his adoptive father, Artur, turns novelist Enrique Alonso’s world upside down. Artur, a well-known antiquarian in Barcelona, reveals that he has discovered an ancient manuscript, but he feels uneasy, as though he’s in over his head. But before Artur can piece together the final part of the puzzle, he is attacked and murdered. Enrique rushes to Barcelona to investigate his father’s death and retrieve the book. His ex-wife, Bety, a philologist, comes to his aid and the two set about translating and deciphering the encrypted text. Written in Latin and Old Catalan, the manuscript holds the key to the location of a priceless object dating back to the Middle Ages, and a secret closely guarded by the Jewish community living in the city’s Gothic Quarter. When Enrique and Bety realize they are not the only ones following the trail, it becomes a race against time to find the mythical object that has the power to transform lives.
    Show book
  • The Vendetta Defense - cover

    The Vendetta Defense

    Lisa Scottoline

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Judy Carrier takes the case of her career to defend Anthony Lucia, fondly known as "Pigeon Tony," who freely admits to killing his lifelong enemy in order to settle a personal vendetta. Her client's guilt, however, is only the beginning of Judy's problems. The victim's family wants revenge and is determined to finish off Pigeon Tony and Judy before the case goes to trial. Then there's Pigeon Tony's hunky grandson, who makes Judy think about everything but the law. In a case steeped in blood and memory, it will take brains and a lot of luck to save Pigeon Tony. But if anyone will see justice done, it's this gutsy girl who'll risk everything to win -- including her life.
    Show book
  • Broken Angels - cover

    Broken Angels

    Graham Masterton

    • 1
    • 2
    • 0
    As they came nearer, the black-clad body came into view, lying on its side in the shallows... 
     
    One cold spring morning in County Cork, two fishermen find a body floating in the Blackwater River: the mutilated corpse of a retired music teacher. His hands and feet are bound, and his neck bears the mark of a garrotting wire. 
     
    The Garda want to wrap this case up before the press get hold of it. But when a second man is found murdered, the body bears all the same marks as the first. And Detective Superintendent Katie Maguire fears this case carries the hallmark of a serial murderer...
    Show book