Read as much as you want at your own pace!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Green Fairy Book - [Illustrated Edition] - cover

The Green Fairy Book - [Illustrated Edition]

Andrew Lang

Publisher: Cheapest Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

This is the third, and probably the last, of the Fairy Books of many colours. First there was the Blue Fairy Book; then, children, you asked for more, and we made up the Red Fairy Book; and, when you wanted more still, the Green Fairy Book was put together.   The stories in all the books are borrowed from many countries; some are French, some German, some Russian, some Italian, some Scottish, some English, one Chinese. However much these nations differ about trifles, they all agree in liking fairy tales. The reason, no doubt, is that men were much like children in their minds long ago, long, long ago, and so before they took to writing newspapers, and sermons, and novels, and long poems, they told each other stories, such as you read in the fairy books. They believed that witches could turn people into beasts, that beasts could speak, that magic rings could make their owners invisible, and all the other wonders in the stories.  Then, as the world became grown-up, the fairy tales which were not written down would have been quite forgotten but that the old grannies remembered them, and told them to the little grandchildren: and when they, in their turn, became grannies, they remembered them, and told them also. In this way these tales are older than reading and writing, far older than printing. The oldest fairy tales ever written down were written down in Egypt, about Joseph's time, nearly three thousand five hundred years ago. Other fairy stories Homer knew, in Greece, nearly three thousand years ago, and he made them all up into a poem, the Odyssey, which I hope you will read some day. Here you will find the witch who turns men into swine, and the man who bores out the big foolish giant's eye, and the cap of darkness, and the shoes of swiftness, that were worn later by Jack the Giant-Killer.   These fairy tales are the oldest stories in the world, and as they were first made by men who were childlike for their own amusement, so they amuse children still, and also grown-up people who have not forgotten how they once were children.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Crown - cover

    The Crown

    Kiera Cass

    • 26
    • 612
    • 0
    The spectacular happily ever after of the #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series 
     
    Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series has captured the hearts of readers from its very first page. Now the end of the journey is here. Prepare to be swept off your feet by The Crown—the eagerly awaited, wonderfully romantic fifth and final book in the Selection series. 
    In The Heir, a new era dawned in the world of The Selection. Twenty years have passed since America Singer and Prince Maxon fell in love, and their daughter is the first princess to hold a Selection of her own. 
    Eadlyn didn’t think she would find a real partner among the Selection’s thirty-five suitors, let alone true love. But sometimes the heart has a way of surprising you…and now Eadlyn must make a choice that feels more difficult—and more important—than she ever expected. 
    Don’t miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass’s legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!
    Show book
  • Warriors: Omen of the Stars #4: Sign of the Moon - cover

    Warriors: Omen of the Stars #4:...

    Erin Hunter

    • 0
    • 7
    • 0
    The end of the stars draws near. Three must become four to battle the darkness that lasts forever. . . .  
    The dark forces that have driven a rift between the four warrior Clans are growing stronger. Jayfeather, Lionblaze, and Dovepaw now know that unless they can unravel the true meaning behind the prophecy that binds them, the warrior code could be destroyed forever. 
    While Lionblaze remains focused on protecting ThunderClan from another deadly battle, Jayfeather receives a desperate plea for help from the Tribe of Rushing Water. He must travel to the mountains in search of answers that link the Clans to the Tribe in ways no cat could have imagined. But with the summons comes an ominous warning that suggests the power of the stars may not be enough to save the Clans.
    Show book
  • Hands-On Art: Things That Go - Drawing Painting and Printmaking - cover

    Hands-On Art: Things That Go -...

    Joe Fullman, Violet Peto

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Kids can get stuck into this fab activity book, packed with imaginative art projects surrounding things that go! With plenty of techniques to keep them engaged and excited, kids can rub, smudge, blow, and print amazing pictures. Projects include: • Printing car wheels with bottle caps • Using smudging to create race cars' motion blurs • Fingerprint-painting the passengers of a bus • And more! The combination of clever techniques, handy tips, and accessible step-by-step instructions make this book equally suited to beginners and more confident young artists. Perfect for rainy days, this book provides tons of creative fun for kids aged 4+.
    Show book
  • Elementals: Ice Wolves - cover

    Elementals: Ice Wolves

    Amie Kaufman

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author Amie Kaufman comes the first book in an electrifying series about a brother and sister who must harness their powers and find their place in a sharply divided world.  
    Everyone in Vallen knows that ice wolves and scorch dragons are sworn enemies who live deeply separate lives. 
    So when twelve-year-old orphan Anders takes one elemental form and his twin sister, Rayna, takes another, he wonders whether they are even related. Family or not, Rayna is Anders’s only true friend. She’s nothing like the brutal, cruel dragons who claimed her as one of their own and stole her away. 
    To rescue her, Anders must enlist at the foreboding Ulfar Academy, a school for young wolves that values loyalty to the pack above all else. But for Anders, loyalty is more complicated than obedience, and friendship is the most powerful shapeshifting force of all. 
    “If you’ve ever wanted to go on an adventure, read this book.” — Marie Lu, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Young Elites   
    Anders’s and Rayna’s adventures continue in Elementals: Scorch Dragons, and the dramatic conclusion to the trilogy, Elementals: Battle Born! 
    Show book
  • The Menagerie - cover

    The Menagerie

    Tui T. Sutherland, Kari H....

    • 0
    • 19
    • 0
    From the New York Times bestselling author of the Wings of Fire series, Tui T. Sutherland, and her sister, Kari Sutherland, comes the Menagerie series, perfect for fans of Brandon Mull’s Fablehaven series and The Spiderwick Chronicles.  
    In the small town of Xanadu, Wyoming lies the Menagerie, a top secret facility filled with unicorns, dragons, phoenixes, and other fairy tale creatures. At least, it was a secret—until six griffin cubs escaped. 
    If Logan and Zoe don’t get the cubs back fast, the entire Menagerie will be shut down. The race is on and the resulting adventure is only the beginning of a thrilling series that will leave readers wanting a magical menagerie of their very own. 
     
    Show book
  • Sanctum - cover

    Sanctum

    Madeleine Roux

    • 5
    • 107
    • 0
    In the chilling second book in the New York Times bestselling Asylum series, three teens must return to the asylum that still haunts their dreams to end the nightmare once and for all. With the page-turning suspense and horror that made Asylum such a standout, and featuring found photographs from real vintage carnivals, Sanctum is a mind-bending reading experience that's perfect for fans of the smash hit Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children. 
    Dan, Abby, and Jordan remain traumatized by the summer they shared in the Brookline asylum. Much as they'd love to move on, many questions remain, and someone is determined to keep the terror alive, sending the teens photos of an old-timey carnival, with no note and no name. Forsaking their plan never to go back, the teens return to New Hampshire College under the guise of a weekend for prospective students, and there they realize that the carnival from the photos is not only real, it's here on campus, apparently for the first time in many years. 
    Sneaking away from sample classes and college parties, Dan and his friends lead a tour of their own—one through the abandoned houses and hidden places of a surrounding town. Camford is hiding a terrible past, and the truth behind Dan's connection to the asylum's evil warden is more terrifying than Dan ever imagined. 
    Don't miss Madeleine Roux's all-new gothic horror novel, House of Furies.
    Show book