Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Double-Daring Book for Girls - cover

The Double-Daring Book for Girls

Andrea J. Buchanan, Miriam Peskowitz

Publisher: William Morrow

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The follow up to the bestselling phenomenon The Daring Book for Girls—an even more daring guide to everything from making a raft to learning how to play football to the art of the Japanese Tea Ceremony.In response to the resounding success of The Daring Book for Girls comes a second volume with all original material that promises to be full of even more daring adventure than the first. Girls will learn how to surf, horseback riding tips, April Fools Day history and pranks, how to make a labyrinth, how to sing, all about cowgirls, and how to organize a croquet tournament. Just as packed with creative and exciting material as the original, but double the fun, The Double-Daring Book for Girls is an adventure guidebook of stories, activities, facts, and games for daring girls everywhere.
Available since: 04/02/2009.
Print length: 290 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Goat Song - A Seasonal Life a Short History of Herding and the Art of Making Cheese - cover

    Goat Song - A Seasonal Life a...

    Brad Kessler

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Acclaimed novelist Brad Kessler lived in New York City but longed for a life on the land where he could grow his own food. After years of searching for a home, he and his wife, photographer Dona Ann McAdams, found a mountain farmhouse on a dead-end road, with seventy-five acres of land. One day, when Dona returned home with fresh goat milk from a neighbor's farm, Kessler made a fresh chèvre, and their life changed forever. They decided to raise dairy goats and make cheese. Goat Song tells about what it's like to live intimately with animals who directly feed you. As Kessler begins to live the life of a herder -- learning how to care for and breed and birth goats -- he encounters the pastoral roots of so many aspects of Western culture. Kessler reflects on the history and literature of herding, and how our diet, our alphabet, our religions, poetry, and economy all grew out of a pastoralist milieu among hoofed animals.  Kessler and his wife adapt to a life governed by their goats and the rhythm of the seasons. And their goats give back in immeasurable ways, as Kessler proves to be a remarkable cheesemaker, with his first tomme of goat cheese winning lavish praise from America's premier cheese restaurants.  In the tradition of Thoreau's Walden and Annie Dillard's Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, Goat Song is both a spiritual quest and a compelling and beautiful chronicle of living by nature's rules.
    Show book
  • The Golf Lover's Guide to England - cover

    The Golf Lover's Guide to England

    Michael Whitehead

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Details the author’s selection of thirty-three premier English Golf Clubs. It is comprehensive, useful, well illustrated and an up-to-date reference book.” —West Sussex Golf Club 
     
    Every golf course around the world has one thing in common—they are all unique. Golf provides a different experience wherever you go. No two courses are ever the same and each has their own captivating story to tell. 
     
    Blessed with a rich and varied landscape, England has a prolific collection of coastal links and inland courses created by some of golf’s most cherished craftsmen; Sunningdale (Park Jr. & Colt), Walton Heath (Fowler), St Enodoc (Braid), Alwoodley and Moortown (MacKenzie) to name just a few. 
     
    This guide offers a golfer everything they would require to enjoy a great round of golf at the best courses England has to offer. All the information you need is right here—par scores, yardage, green-fee price indicators, booking procedure, history of each club and how best to play the course. 
     
    England is where golf’s greatest artists have gifted us moments to treasure for eternity. A young Ballesteros lifting the claret jug at Royal Lytham & St Annes, Bobby Jones storming to victory at Hoylake on his way to the grand slam, and who can ever forget Nicklaus and Jacklin bringing their titanic Ryder Cup battle to a close with a famous handshake at Royal Birkdale. 
     
    Sharing a border with its spiritual home, England is undoubtedly golf’s exquisite front garden. 
     
    “What really makes the book come alive is the amount of research Michael has clearly put in. Only the most ardent golf historian wouldn’t find out something new.” —UKGolfGuy.com
    Show book
  • A Chick in the Cockpit - A Life Up in the Air - cover

    A Chick in the Cockpit - A Life...

    Erika Armstrong

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In the high stakes, ego-driven world of aviation, this is an extraordinary best-selling true story of how a level-headed, self-deprecating woman with an aviation addiction finds herself in jail, her baby ripped from her arms, her piloting career taken away, and every feasible exit leading to a very dark place...
    Show book
  • Cats: Cat Care: Kitten Care - How To Take Care Of And Train Your Cat Or Kitten - cover

    Cats: Cat Care: Kitten Care -...

    Ace McCloud

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Cats are some of the cutest, most adorable creatures on the planet when trained properly. Would you love to know the secrets to loving and caring for cats?Whether you want to (1) learn to care for your cat the right way, (2) decide if cat ownership is for you, or (3) discover how to turn your cat into a loving purr-machine, this audio book will teach you everything you need to know.Choose the right cat for you.The best cat for you will depend on your existing household, your other pets, and additional factors. In this book you’ll find what you need to consider when choosing the perfect cat for you. You’ll get descriptions of the different breeds and learn about the quirks and personalities of each type of cat.Healthy cats are happy cats!Cats are generally healthy creatures, but there are things you can do to ensure they stay that way. Learn to recognize the signs that indicate a health problem. Find out what you can treat and when it’s time for a vet visit.Yes, cats can be trained.Beyond litter-box training, all felines need the mental and physical stimulation of active training. I’ve provided a host of ideas for keeping your cat happy, mentally stimulated, and emotionally balanced.How to prepare for a cat.Cats generally don’t like change, so when you adopt a cat you are basically upsetting the cat’s entire life. But cats do get used to a new environment. In this audio book you will find easy-to-follow instructions for minimizing the stress of introducing your cat to its new home.Discover a whole world of delight when you train and care for your cat properly.Start feeling the love: Buy It Now!
    Show book
  • The Infinite Monkey Cage – How to Build a Universe - cover

    The Infinite Monkey Cage – How...

    Prof. Brian Cox, Robin Ince,...

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Infinite Monkey Cage, the legendary BBC Radio 4 programme, brings you this irreverent celebration of scientific marvels. Join us on a hectic leap through the grand and bizarre ideas conjured up by human imagination, from dark matter to consciousness via neutrinos and earthworms. 
    Professor Brian Cox and Robin Ince muse on multifaceted subjects involved in building a universe, with pearls of wisdom from leading scientists and comedians peppered throughout. 
    Covering billions of concepts and conundrums, they tackle everything from the Big Bang to parallel universes, fierce creatures to extraterrestrial life, brain science to artificial intelligence. How to Build a Universe is an illuminating and inspirational celebration of science – sometimes silly, sometimes astounding and very occasionally facetious. 
    This bestseller, popular among astronomy enthusiasts, humorously delves into the culture of scientific exploration. It's a top choice for those interested in the social aspects of cosmology, painting a vivid picture of the universe. 
    For fans of Stephen Hawking (Brief Answers to the Big Questions), Neil Degrasse Tyson (Astrophysics for People in a Hurry), Brian Clegg (Interstellar Tours), Brian Greene (Until the End of Time), and Carlo Rovelli (Reality Is Not What It Seems).
    Show book
  • How to Start Your Own Religion - Form a Church Gain Followers Become Tax-Exempt and Sway the Minds of Millions in Five Easy Steps - cover

    How to Start Your Own Religion -...

    Philip Athans

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Yes, world domination and eternal adoration can be yours!"The way to make a million dollars is to start a religion."—Attributed to L. Ron Hubbard, founder of ScientologyWouldn't you like to control countless worshippers with a single word? To call forth bountiful offerings of gold and silver? Wouldn't you love to make your acolytes bow in awe of your greatness?Starting a new religion can be fun and profitable. You'll laugh along with Philip Athans (founder, leader, and sole member of the Church of Phil), as he shows you how to:Gather the flock and keep 'em coming back for moreOrganize mysterious and complex ritualsInterrogate (or just ridicule) the hell out of nonbelieversRecruit celebrity spokespeople, from Tom Cruise to Uma Thurman If you've ever felt the need to sacrifice on an altar beneath a blood-red moon, or just make Friday a holy day (three-day weekend, anyone?), this is the only sacred creed you need.Live long and prosper.
    Show book