Reading without limits, the perfect plan for #stayhome
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
An Old-Fashioned Girl - cover

An Old-Fashioned Girl

Louisa May Alcott

Publisher: Read & Co. Books

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Originally serialised in the “Merry's Museum” magazine in the July and August of 1869, “An Old-Fashioned Girl” is a novel by Louisa May Alcott that revolves around Polly Milton, an old-fashioned and outmoded young girl with rural manners. One day, she goes to visit her affluent friend Fanny Shaw in the city and is overwhelmed by people's fashion and strange way of life. A timeless tale of new meets old, “An Old-Fashioned Girl” constitutes a classic of American literature that is not to be missed by fans and collectors of Alcott's wonderful work. Louisa May Alcott (1832 – 1888) was an American short story writer, novelist, and poet most famous for writing the novel “Little Women”, as well as its sequels “Little Men” and “Jo's Boys”. She grew up in New England and became associated with numerous notable intellectuals of her time, including Nathaniel Hawthorne, Ralph Waldo Emerson, Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, and Henry David Thoreau. Other notable works by this author include: "Eight Cousins" (1869) and "A Long Fatal Love Chase" (1875). Many vintage books such as this are becoming increasingly scarce and expensive. We are republishing this volume now in an affordable, modern, high-quality edition complete with the original text and artwork.

Other books that might interest you

  • Touchdown Kid - cover

    Touchdown Kid

    Tim Green

    • 1
    • 14
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author and former NFL defensive end Tim Green comes a football story about a boy who is given a chance to prove that wealth and privilege don’t matter on the football field, as long as he has the skills to compete. Perfect for fans of Mike Lupica! 
    Cory has always been passionate about football. But life for him and his single mom has been hard, making it difficult for Cory to play. And though Cory is a good kid, he’s constantly surrounded by negative influences. But when the coach from an elite private school with one of the best football programs in the country recognizes his talents on the field, Cory is presented with an unbelievable opportunity. 
    Cory knows that football could be his ticket out. But leaving to attend private school also means struggling to fit into a world where most people look at him and just see a scholarship kid from the wrong side of town. Cory knows that if he can fight hard enough—both on and off the field—he may be able to secure a bright future that looks different from his unpromising past.
    Show book
  • Seven Wonders Book 3: The Tomb of Shadows - cover

    Seven Wonders Book 3: The Tomb...

    Peter Lerangis

    • 2
    • 44
    • 1
    Percy Jackson meets Indiana Jones in the New York Times bestselling epic adventure Seven Wonders! 
    The Tomb of Shadows is the third book in a seven-book series by master storyteller Peter Lerangis. This sequel to the bestselling Lost in Babylon and The Colossus Rises chronicles the adventures of Jack McKinley and his friends in a life-or-death race to the Mausoleum at Halicarnassus. In the rubble of this Wonder of the Ancient World, they have to face down their own demons and engage in an epic battle with foes long gone. But when promises are broken, blood is spilled—and the Select are left with no choice but to destroy the one thing that might have saved them all. 
    Rick Riordan, author of the Percy Jackson series, praised Seven Wonders Book 1: The Colossus Rises as "a high-octane mix of modern adventure and ancient secrets. Young readers will love this story. I can't wait to see what's next in the Seven Wonders series!"
    Show book
  • Hate That Cat - A Novel - cover

    Hate That Cat - A Novel

    Sharon Creech

    • 6
    • 58
    • 0
    Return to Miss Stretchberry's class with Jack, the reluctant poet, who over the course of a year encounters new and challenging things like metaphors, alliterations, onomatopoeia, and one mean fat black cat! 
    The Newbery Medal-winning author of Walk Two Moons, Sharon Creech, introduced Jack in Love That Dog, a New York Times bestseller. Both Love That Dog and Hate That Cat are approachable, funny, warm-hearted introductions to poetry told from the point of view of a very real kid wrestling with school assignments. 
    These books are fast reads that will be welcomed by middle graders as they too wonder how poetry and schoolwork connect with their interests and how to uncover their true voices. 
    In Hate That Cat, Jack is only trying to save that fat black cat stuck in the tree by his bus stop—but the cat scratches him instead! At school Miss Stretchberry begins teaching new poems, everything from William Carlos Williams to Valerie Worth to T.S. Eliot. 
    As the year progresses, Jack gradually learns to love that cat and finds new ways to express himself.
    Show book
  • The Elite - cover

    The Elite

    Kiera Cass

    • 10
    • 97
    • 0
    The second book in Kiera Cass’s #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series 
    With even more glamour, intrigue, and swoon-worthy romance, this sparkling sequel to The Selection will captivate readers who loved Veronica Roth’s Divergent, Lauren Oliver’s Delirium, or Renée Ahdieh’s The Wrath & the Dawn. 
    Thirty-five girls came to the palace to compete in the Selection, and to win Prince Maxon’s heart. Now six girls remain, and the competition is fiercer than ever—but America Singer is still struggling to decide where her heart truly lies. Is it Prince Maxon—and life as the queen—that she wants? Or is it still Aspen, her first love? 
     
    Show book
  • Big Nate: Silent But Deadly - cover

    Big Nate: Silent But Deadly

    Lincoln Peirce

    • 8
    • 235
    • 0
    NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR!Everyone’s favorite sixth grader is back for more misadventures, and Big Nate: Silent But Deadly smells like a winner! Whether he’s showing the ropes to a detention rookie, campaigning for the Student of the Month Award, or writing hilarious movie reviews for The Weekly Bugle, Nate Wright never fails to make his mark at P.S. 38. But middle school’s no bed of roses. In fact, sometimes it just plain stinks. Just ask the Great Nose-ini! Nate’s alter ego with a sense for scents can smell trouble a mile away . . . or at the very next desk. Was that you, Gina?Join Nate and the gang for nonstop laughs in this latest collection of Big Nate comics! 
    Show book
  • Trail of Secrets - A Jennifer Bannon Mystery - cover

    Trail of Secrets - A Jennifer...

    Brenda Chapman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    In the fourth and final instalment in the Jennifer Bannon mystery series, Jennifer begins Grade Eleven at Springhills High, where her life is far from settled. Her mother has moved to L.A. with her new husband, Jennifers boyfriend moves to McGill to study pre-med and Jennifer fears their relationship will not survive the separation. She’s worried about her best friend Ambie who has been secretly e-mailing the biological father she has never met. This story deals with themes of belonging, friendship and loss. While Jennifer struggles to find her place in a family separated by divorce and with friendships marked by change, she must learn how to rely on herself.
    Show book