Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Adam-2 - cover

Adam-2

Alastair Chisholm

Publisher: Nosy Crow

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

With incredible twists and turns and an action-packed story, this is a thrilling, unputdownable adventure.
The robot Adam-2 has been locked in the basement of a lost building for over two hundred years - until one day he is discovered by two children, and emerges into a world ruined by a civil war between humans and advanced intelligence.
Hunted by both sides, Adam discovers that he holds the key to the war, and the power to end it - to destroy one side and save the other. But which side is right?
Surrounded by enemies who want to use him, and allies who mistrust him, Adam must decide who - and what - he really is.
From the author of the highly-acclaimed Orion Lost, Adam-2 is an exciting and hugely gripping science fiction thriller - perfect for fans of Eoin Colfer, Anthony Horowitz, and Philip Reeve.
"Brilliant - one of the best middle grade books I've read this year ... Action, tension, a marvellous mix of characters, and incredibly thought-provoking while being huge fun to read. What more could you want?" - Jennifer Killick, author of Crater Lake
Available since: 08/05/2021.
Print length: 304 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Beware of the Purple Peanut Butter - cover

    Beware of the Purple Peanut Butter

    R.L. Stine

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Choose your fate out of a mysterious refrigerator in this scary GOOSEBUMPS adventure that’s packed with more than twenty super-spooky endings. 
     
    Your aunt and uncle told you to stay out of their basement. So, of course, you check it out. That’s where you find the dusty old refrigerator.  
     
    In the fridge there are two containers. One is filled with purple goop. It smells just like a peanut-butter-and-jelly sandwich. The other holds a piece of chocolate cake. Your stomach is growling. 
     
    If you eat the purple goop, you start shrinking. Pretty soon you’re battling it out with a gigantic monster—a mouse! If you choose the cake, you grow into a tall giant. Now you’re trying to escape from the police who are convinced you’re a mutant alien! The choice is yours . . .  
     
    Reader beware—you choose the scare! GIVE YOURSELF GOOSEBUMPS!
    Show book
  • Know-It-Alls! Wild Cats - cover

    Know-It-Alls! Wild Cats

    Diane Muldrow

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    As part of the unique, science Know-It-Alls! Series that features stunning covers and engaging text, this book puts the spotlight on Wild Cats! Did you know that lions are the only cats, that live in family groups called prides? Children will learn about the lion, tiger, jaguar, cheetah, leopard, clouded leopard, and snow leopard. Awesome life-like illustrations and informative stat boxes, filled with interesting facts, make this 24-page book fun and exciting for young science enthusiasts age 4 and up! Titles in the Know-It-Alls! Series  include: Butterflies, Crocodiles, Dinosaurs, Farm Animals, Safari Babies, Snakes, Sharks, Spiders, Whales, Wolves, Puppies, Wild Cats, Bugs, Birds of Prey, Fish, Frogs, Apes, Seals, Bats, Bears, Predators, Mummies, Volcanoes, Lizards, Kittens and Horses.
    Show book
  • Amorangi and Millie's Trip Through Time - cover

    Amorangi and Millie's Trip...

    Lauren Keenan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Amorangi and Millie lost their mum. Their only clue to her whereabouts is a carving on a tree that says I'm in the past! Rescue me! To do this, Amorangi and Millie must travel up every branch of their family tree and collect an object from each ancestor they meet. They must then be back in the modern day before the sun sets, or they'll all be trapped forever in the past. But can they do it in time?
    In their travels, the children experience aspects of events in New Zealand history, such as the invasion of Parihaka, the Great Depression, World War Two, the Musket Wars and the eruption of Mount Taranaki. They also experience changes in the town and landscape, the attitudes of people and the way people live their lives.
    Show book
  • Would You Rather? Eww! Edition - Funny Silly Wacky Wild and Completely Eww Worthy Scenarios for Boys Girls Kids and Teens - cover

    Would You Rather? Eww! Edition -...

    Crazy Corey

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    160+ hilarious, creepy-crawly, ooey-gooey, and smelly questions for hours of screen-free fun! Would You Rather? EWW Edition includes 160+ questions to make kids and teens stop, think, and say “Ewwwww!” Whether it’s a conversation starter, ice-breaker, or party game, it provides hours of family-friendly fun—at home or on the road.  How do you play? Take turns reading the EWW Would You Rather Questions aloud, then make your decision and in the goofiest way possible, explain why you chose that one. If your answer and explanation get a laugh, then mark down that laugh point. At the end of the game, the person with the most laugh points is crowned the Laugh Master! Enjoy this giggle-inspiring game—and the wonderful memories of quality time it provides. Have fun!
    Show book
  • The Summer of Mrs MacGregor - cover

    The Summer of Mrs MacGregor

    Betty Ren Wright

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A girl learns that glamour isn’t always what it seems: “Well written with humor, strong characterization, and a convincing plot” (School Library Journal). Twelve-year-old Caroline feels torn. She grieves over her sister who has a severe heart problem that keeps her in and out of the hospital. But at the same time, she is jealous of her sister’s beauty and sweet disposition, which causes everyone to admire her. Caroline longs to be beautiful, to get attention from her parents—just to be somebody, anybody, other than plain old Caroline Cabot.   Her self-image changes, however, when she meets glamorous seventeen-year-old Lillina MacGregor. Lillina makes her feel like somebody, but does Lillina tell the truth? Is she really 17? And married? And a model in New York? Caroline must rely on her inner strengths as she discovers the truth about Lillina, and will face several challenging situations during “the summer of Mrs. MacGregor.”
    Show book
  • RuneWarriors: Sword of Doom - cover

    RuneWarriors: Sword of Doom

    James Jennewein, Tom S. Parker

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Can life get any worse for Dane the Defiant?The same villagers who once praised him for his courage in defeating Thidrek the Terrifying now blame him for everything that has gone wrong since then: The torrential downpours. The dwindling food supplies. Even the rampant outbreaks of armpit lice. Dane's deceased father would never have let things get so bad, the village elders say. But then Dane is summoned to the fortress of King Eldred, where he receives the final piece of his father's legacy: an ancient secret written in mysterious runes that leads to no less than the treasure of the gods. But the treasure, he learns, is cursed, and his mother is kidnapped. And so, braving an army of angry trolls and warring frost giants (and other fantastic creatures there isn't space here to describe), Dane and his friends must decipher the cryptic clues and embark on a quest to find the enchanted treasure and save her life. Oh, and all the while battling ultimate evil. Can Dane be the hero he has always wanted to be? Or will he fall prey to the curse and betray those he loves?
    Show book