Add this book to bookshelf
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey 902feb64d8b6d481ab8ddda06fbebbba4c95dfa9b7936a7beeb197266cd8b846
Spinner ae25b23ec1304e55286f349b58b08b50e88aad5748913a7eb729246ffefa31c9
Tutenkhamen's Tracksuit - The History Of Sport In 100ish Objects - cover

Tutenkhamen's Tracksuit - The History Of Sport In 100ish Objects

Alan Tyers, Beach

Publisher: Bloomsbury UK

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

In this weird and wonderful museum catalogue, the optician's prescription for the 1966 World Cup Russian linesman appears next to a news report of an ear-biting scandal in the Roman Gladiatorial arena, and an advert for Roger Bannister's four-minute egg timer is featured alongside Andrew Flintoff's bar bill from the 2005 Ashes celebrations.  
 
  Tutenkhamen's Tracksuit ransacks the dusty lockers and forgotten corners of the world's dressing-rooms to present a unique collection of subverted reality. Satirical, surreal and completely invented, fans of every sport will enjoy this knowing and mischievous hijacking of the defining moments of popular sporting culture.  The book illuminates the most famous moments, lives, personalities and controversies in sport with a unique collection of found (i.e. made-up!) objects drawn from throughout history. From match-fixing in Ancient Egypt to Twittering kiss-and-tells, no sporting stone is left unturned. 
 
  The hundred objects are presented as a unique collection of sporting ephemera curated by Gideon Rupert, Acting Director of the National Museum for Sport and Fishing, Orkney. From spoof diaries, school reports, news articles and intercepted emails to postcards, seating plans, tactical diagrams and cave paintings, each tells the story of a well-known sporting event or personality in a completely irreverent way, alongside curator's notes and spurious academic references. After reading Tutenkhamen's Tracksuit, you'll never look at a museum catalogue in the same way again.

Who read this book also read:

  • Dr Jordan Metzl's Workout Prescription - 10 20 & 30-minute high-intensity interval training workouts for every fitness level - cover

    Dr Jordan Metzl's Workout...

    Jordan Metzl

    • 3
    • 13
    • 0
    Dr. Jordan Metzl's Workout Prescription is a compressed workout guide designed for busy professionals in toda''s world who have little time for fitness and want to maximize results. In this book, Dr. Jordan Metzl explains the science of the compressed, high-intensity workout and provides a series of progressive workouts ranging from 10 to 30 minutes that can be done anytime, anywhere, using minimal equipment.
     
    This book also guides you through topics like motivation, goals, and the importance of proper recovery. Dr. Metzl's high-intensity workout, combined with a scientifically designed and periodized training schedule, delivers maximum results in minimum time in a unique and compelling way that is equally effective for men and women, children and adults.
    Show book
  • Bounce - Mozart Federer Picasso Beckham and the Science of Success - cover

    Bounce - Mozart Federer Picasso...

    Matthew Syed

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In the vein of the international bestselling Freakonomics, award-winning journalist Matthew Syed reveals the hidden clues to success—in sports, business, school, and just about anything else that you’d want to be great at. Fans of Predictably Irrational and Malcolm Gladwell’s The Tipping Point will find many interesting and helpful insights in Bounce.
    Show book
  • Yachting Monthly's 200 Skipper's Tips (For Tablet Devices) - Instant Skills to Improve Your Seamanship: The Must-Have Guide for Every Yachtsman - cover

    Yachting Monthly's 200 Skipper's...

    Tom Cunliffe

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Dip into any of the 200 tips in this handy book to make yourself a better yachtsman. They are the very best of the Skipper’s Tips from the pages of Yachting Monthly magazine. 
    Each tip is a pearl of wisdom from Britain's foremost yachting writer, Tom Cunliffe.
    Discover practical skills that you won’t find anywhere else. Each tip is illustrated and there’s something for everyone – from complete beginner to ocean navigator. 
    Skipper’s Tips is a treasure trove of nautical know-how, covering everything from seamanship and life on board to navigation and safety, with lots more in-between.
    Show book