Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Traitors - cover

The Traitors

Vivian Stuart

Publisher: Jentas Ehf

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

IN THE MIDST OF BLOODSHED AND REBELLION A NEW GENERATION STRUGGLED TO BE BORN...
 
The fifth book in the dramatic and intriguing story about the colonisation of Australia: a country built on blood, passion, and dreams.
 
In the British colony of Australia, the obstacles are challenging and never-ending. The new governor, Bligh — better known for his command on the Bounty and the mutiny against him — has already gained a relentless enemy: The New South Wales Corps, also known as The Rum Corps due to their profitable side business. Governor Bligh's other enemies are the Irish rebels — who wish to end his life!
And what will be the fate of Jenny Taggart-Broome now? 
The hardships of life in the colony, as always, hit "regular" people the hardest.
 
Rebels and outcasts, they fled halfway across the earth to settle the harsh Australian wastelands. Decades later — ennobled by love and strengthened by tragedy — they had transformed a wilderness into a fertile land. And themselves into The Australians.
Available since: 08/18/2022.
Print length: 350 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Quinn's Book - A Novel - cover

    Quinn's Book - A Novel

    William Kennedy

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    In 1849, a boy saves a girl from the Hudson River in this story “of wonders and sweetness, magic and horrors [that] immerses itself in the marvelous” (The Boston Sunday Globe). A penniless Irish orphan, Daniel Quinn is among the crowds gathered at the Hudson River in Albany to watch a legendary dancer aboard the ferry. But when the boat strikes the ice that chokes the water on this wintry day, awe turns to terror. Though the dancer’s life is lost, Daniel risks his neck and rescues her niece, Maud Fallon.   But just as he’s falling in love with the beautiful, passionate girl, she’s snatched away from him. As the years pass and Daniel continues his quest for the beguiling Maud, he will witness the rise and fall of great dynasties in upstate New York, epochal prize fights, the exotic world of the theater, visitations from spirits beyond the grave, horrific battles between Irish immigrants and the Know-Nothings, the New York draft riots, the perils of the Underground Railroad, and the bloody despair of the Civil War.   Rich with nineteenth-century history and filled with flourishes of humor and magical realism, this is an “engrossing and eerily profound” novel (Time) from an author who, in the words of Stephen King, “writes with verve and nerve [and] paints a full and lively canvas.” In the tradition of E. L. Doctorow’s Billy Bathgate or Mark Helprin’s Winter’s Tale, it is a remarkable saga from the Pulitzer Prize–winning author of Ironweed.  
    Show book
  • The Lusiads - cover

    The Lusiads

    Luís Vaz de Camões

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Lusiads (Os Lusíadas) is a Portuguese epic poem, written in the 16th century by Luis Vaz de Camões. The poem tells the tale of the Portuguese discoveries in the 15th and 16th centuries, specially the voyage to India by Vasco da Gama. Modelled after the classic epic tradition, Camões' Lusiads are considered not only the first literary text in Modern Portuguese, but also a national epic of the same level as Vergil's Aeneid. In the 19th century, Sir Richard Francis Burton translated Camões' Lusiads, in what he considered "the most pleasing literary labour of his life". (Summary by Leni)
    Show book
  • Mr Britling Sees It Through - A Novel - cover

    Mr Britling Sees It Through - A...

    H. G. Wells

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A moving novel of one Englishman’s experience as his country goes to war, from the author of who gave us The Time Machine and The Invisible Man. Mr. Britling considers himself an optimist. But as the Great War begins, he finds himself forced to reassess many of the things he thought he was sure of. As refugees from Belgium arrive in the town of Matching’s Easy, telling frightening tales of what they have seen, Mr. Britling sees men dressed in khakis everywhere he looks. and his family’s tutor, a German, is forced to return home. Then comes the change that scares him the most: His own son, Hugh, only seventeen, enlists in the Territorials, the British Army’s volunteer reserve. Day by day and month by month, Britling observes the unfolding events and public reaction to the war as his ordinary life is shaken in ways large and small. As Wells’s characters try to keep their bearings in a world suddenly changed beyond recognition, Mr. Britling must wrestle with outrage, grief, and attempts at rationalization as he resolves to “see it through.” Whether science fiction or not, H. G. Wells’s stories always reflect deep human truths. Written in 1916, when the outcome of the conflict was still uncertain, this is both a fascinating portrait of Britain at war and a rare inside look at H. G. Wells himself, as Mr. Britling was a largely autobiographical character.
    Show book
  • White Peacock - cover

    White Peacock

    D. H. Lawrence

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Lawrence’s first novel is set in Nethermere (his name for the real-life Eastwood in Nottinghamshire). The plot is narrated by Cyril Beardsall and focuses in particular on the relationship of his sister Lettie with two admirers, the more handsome and down to earth George and the more effete gentleman Leslie. She eventually marries Leslie although she is sexually attracted to George. George marries the conventional Meg and both marriages end in unhappiness.The countryside of the English midlands is beautifully evoked and there is powerful description also of the impact of industrialisation on both town and country.(Summary by Simon Evers)
    Show book
  • Red Clay Yellow Grass - A Novel of the 1960s - cover

    Red Clay Yellow Grass - A Novel...

    Richard Barager

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A battleground and a rock festival... love and war in the age of aquarius. 
    BOOKLIST: “...Barager's dynamic, passionate, often moving exploration of the turbulent and politically divided 1960s... is striking. The cast of complicated characters adds arresting human dimensions.” 
    A startlingly vivid portrayal of the 1960s, as seen through the eyes of two ill-fated college lovers. The story of their generation spills across some of the era’s most iconic settings: the legendary battleground of Khe Sanh; a Midwestern campus riven by dissent; and Altamont Speedway, scene of the notorious rock festival that ended the Sixties. 
    KIRKUS INDIE: “Barager spins a compelling tale of youthful passion, both personal and political... a rich, satisfying experience. A well-written, gripping novel that expertly blends fact and fiction, love and conviction.” 
    EVOLVED PUBLISHING PRESENTS a startlingly vivid portrayal of the 1960s, as one reviewer put it: “the decade that changed us all.”Books by Richard Barager:Red Clay, Yellow Grass (A Novel of the 1960s)The Atheist and the ParrotfishMore Great Historical Fiction from Evolved Publishing:Invisible by Day by Teri FinkGalerie and Moon Path by Steven GreenbergThe Shining Light's Saga Series by Ruby Standing DeerFresh News Straight from Heaven by Gregg SappSoul of the Elephant by Pam Laughlin
    Show book
  • The Ravenscar Dynasty - A Novel - cover

    The Ravenscar Dynasty - A Novel

    Barbara Taylor Bradford

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    On a bitterly cold day in 1904, the Deravenel family's future changes forever. When Cecily Deravenel tells her eighteen-year-old son Edward of the death of his father, brother, uncle, and cousin in a fire, a part of him dies as well. Edward and his cousin Neville Watkins are suspicious of the deaths. They vow to seek the truth, avenge the deaths, and retake control of their family's business empire. 
    As he grows into a handsome, charismatic man, Edward is torn between duty and desire. There are women in his life for whom he'll risk everything—and one woman who might destroy him. But madness and secrecy lie at the heart of the family, and Edward's enemies are far more ruthless than he knows. He will need his strength more than ever when the house of Deravenel is fatally rocked by betrayal from within. Who will become the ultimate ruler of the Deravenels?  
    Power and money, passion and adultery, ambition and treachery all illuminate a dramatic epic saga that brings to life the glittering Edwardian Era. The Ravenscar Dynasty is based on the familial factions of England's Wars of the Roses, brought to life by the magical, memorable storytelling power that is Barbara Taylor Bradford.A Macmillan Audio production.
    Show book