Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The Greatest Children's Classics of All Time - Over 1400 Novels & Stories in One Volume - cover

The Greatest Children's Classics of All Time - Over 1400 Novels & Stories in One Volume

Lewis Carroll, Mark Twain, Louisa May Alcott, Oscar Wilde, Jonathan Swift, Daniel Defoe, L. Frank Baum, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Hans Christian Andersen, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Anna Sewell, Andrew Lang, Eleanor H. Porter, George MacDonald, E. Nesbit, Johanna Spyri, Kate Douglas Wiggin, John Ruskin, Howard Pyle, Thomas Bailey Aldrich, Susan Coolidge, Mary Lamb, Charles Lamb, E.T.A. Hoffmann, Emerson Hough, Mary Louisa Molesworth, Frances Hodgson Burnett, Rudyard Kipling, J.M. Barrie, Hugh Lofting, Kenneth Grahame, Thornton Burgess, John Meade Falkner, Carlo Collodi, Grimm Brothers, Margery Williams, Johny Gruelle, Gertrude Chandler Warner, Beatrix Potter, Evelyn Sharp, Maurice Maeterlinck, Carl Sandburg, E. Boyd Smith, Eva March Tappan, Marion St. John Webb, W. R. S. Ralston, Arthur Ransome, R. L. Stevenson, Ruth Stiles Gannett, Jennie Hall, Howard R. Garis, Dorothy Canfield, Jack London, Jules Verne, Miguel Cervantes, Georgette Leblanc, George Haven Putnam, Vishnu Sharma, Aesop

Publisher: DigiCat

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Greatest Children's Classics of All Time stands as a monumental anthology, bringing together an astonishing breadth of literary genius spanning several centuries. This collection not only showcases the rich diversity of storytelling methods and thematic explorations but also serves as a testament to the evocative power of children's literature. From the enchanting realms of fantasy and adventure to the poignant tales of growth and discovery, it encapsulates a wide array of literary styles. The anthology includes seminal works that have shaped the childhoods of generations, illustrating the universality of the human experience through the eyes of youth. The contributing authors and editors, hailing from diverse cultural and historical contexts, bring a wealth of perspectives to the anthology. Writers such as Jules Verne, Lewis Carroll, and Mark Twain, among others, have played pivotal roles in pioneering genres like fantasy, adventure, and the coming-of-age narrative. Their works align with various literary movements, encompassing Romanticism, Victorian literature, and the early forms of modern children's literature. This confluence of voices not only enriches the literary tapestry of the collection but also highlights the evolution of children's literature through different cultural lenses, offering insights into the societal values and educational philosophies of their times. This anthology is an indispensable compilation for readers seeking to immerse themselves in the world of classic children's literature. It offers a unique opportunity to engage with the works of literary titans, whose stories have transcended time and cultural barriers to speak to the universal qualities of youth. For educators, students, and enthusiasts of literary history, The Greatest Children's Classics of All Time provides a comprehensive survey of the genre's development, showcasing the depth and diversity of storytelling that has continued to enchant readers of all ages. The collection encourages exploration and reflection, inviting readers to ponder the lessons nested within these timeless tales.
Available since: 05/17/2022.
Print length: 15557 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • How to be Me - cover

    How to be Me

    Cath Howe

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A beautiful, moving story of family, friendship and self-discovery.
    
    Super rich. Super shy. Super lonely.
    
    Lucas is all alone.
    
    Since his mum died, Lucas and his dad don't seem to understand each other at all - it's almost as if they're speaking different languages. With a long, hot summer facing him, Lucas is dreading the drama club that his dad has signed him up for - he doesn't know how to be around new people and he can't stand performing. But the people Lucas meets at the club force him to open up and start talking, and when disaster strikes, Lucas is forced to step in and help. Can his new-found friends teach Lucas how to be himself?
    
    Filled with empathy and insight, and sensitively touching on issues including grief, anxiety, loneliness with great understanding and an incredible lightness of touch, How to be Me is a kind, heartwarming, and uplifting story, from the author of the high-acclaimed novels Ella on the Outside and Not My Fault - perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson and Lisa Thompson.
    Show book
  • The Pilgrims of Rayne - cover

    The Pilgrims of Rayne

    D. J. MacHale

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When Bobby Pendragon first arrives on the tropical world of Ibara, he finds paradise. There is beauty all around and the people of Ibara are blissfully happy. It's not long before Bobby discovers, however, that they are also blissfully...oblivious.  The leaders of Ibara are keeping a devastating secret from their people, one that gives Saint Dane all the opportunity he needs to launch his final assault on Halla.  While Bobby struggles to learn the truth in time to thwart Saint Dane, Courtney Chetwynde desperately searches for Mark Diamond. On the heels of a shocking tragedy, Mark has disappeared. Worse, he seems to be under Saint Dane's influence. It's up to Courtney to find Mark and stop him from making a grave mistake that could change the future of all existence.
    Show book
  • Rugby Rebel - Discovering History - Uncovering Mystery - cover

    Rugby Rebel - Discovering...

    Gerard Siggins

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Eoin Madden's having a busy term with friend issues, schoolwork and new rugby challenges; he's been moved up to train with the Junior Cup team, which is hard work, plus there's trouble in his dormitory as mobile phones start going missing!
    But as usual there are ghostly goings-on in Castlerock school – what's the link between Eoin's history lessons and the new spirit he's spotted wearing a Belvedere rugby jersey? … Historical and modern mysteries combine in this intriguing tale of rugby, rebellion and ghosts.
    'Beautifully crafted by Siggins, this is a book that will thrill any rugby-mad youngster while delighting sports fans (of any age) with an interest in entertaining storytelling.' Irish Daily Mail on Rugby Warrior
    Show book
  • Lee has to Stop Eating Candy - cover

    Lee has to Stop Eating Candy

    Leela Hope

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Do your kids have trouble eating healthy foods? 
    Do they have a sweet tooth? 
    Everyone likes candy, but sometimes we eat too much of it. 
    Lee Has to Stop Eating Candy is the story of a young boy faced with a choice. 
    Lee finds a bag of candy while his mother is outside. What should he do? 
    Lee's choice sets off a chain of calamities for our hero. Will he ever be able to eat candy again? 
    The story provides a good way for parents and children to talk about the importance of eating right, and can also be used as a good tool by public health professionals. 
    It is a great story for bedtime and can played for the whole family!
    Show book
  • The Railway Children (Legend Classics) - cover

    The Railway Children (Legend...

    E. Nesbit

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “Her child characters are remarkable because they are so entirely human. They are intelligent, vain, aggressive, humorous, witty, cruel, compassionate... in fact, they are like adults” - Gore Vidal 
    The Railway Children, a much-loved children's classic, was first published in 1906 and has never been out of print. It is a classic tale of humanity, eternal love, and kindness. The lives of Roberta, Peter and Phyllis are shattered when their father is falsely accused of spying, forcing them to move away from their London home to a cottage in rural Yorkshire. They soon become enchanted with a railway that runs nearby. There follows a series of many adventures, including saving a train from disaster and befriending an old Gentleman (a daily commuter), who helps them in their struggle to prove their father's innocence. 
    One of the most famous stories of all time, enjoyed by millions of children and adults across the world. 
    The Legend Classics series:Around the World in Eighty DaysThe Adventures of Huckleberry FinnThe Importance of Being EarnestAlice's Adventures in WonderlandThe MetamorphosisThe Railway ChildrenThe Hound of the BaskervillesFrankensteinWuthering HeightsThree Men in a BoatThe Time MachineLittle WomenAnne of Green GablesThe Jungle BookThe Yellow Wallpaper and Other StoriesDraculaA Study in ScarletLeaves of GrassThe Secret GardenThe War of the WorldsA Christmas CarolStrange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr HydeHeart of DarknessThe Scarlet LetterThis Side of ParadiseOliver TwistThe Picture of Dorian GrayTreasure IslandThe Turn of the ScrewThe Adventures of Tom SawyerEmmaThe TrialA Selection of Short Stories by Edgar Allan PoeGrimm Fairy TalesThe AwakeningMrs DallowayGulliver’s TravelsThe Castle of OtrantoSilas MarnerHard Times
    Show book
  • Someday Angeline - cover

    Someday Angeline

    Louis Sachar

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From a Newbery Medal and National Book Award winner, a story of girl genius who struggles to fit in at school. 
     
    Nobody understands why Angeline is so smart. She could read the first time she picked up a book, she can play the piano without ever having had a lesson, and she even knows what the weather is going to be. But being smart is causing Angeline nothing but trouble. The mean kids in school call her a freak, her teacher finds her troublesome, and even her own father doesn’t know what to do with an eight-year-old girl who seems to be a genius. Angeline doesn’t want to be either a genius or a freak. She just wants the chance to be herself and be happy. But it’s only when she makes friends with a boy the kids call “Goon” and the teacher they call “Mr. Bone” that Angeline gets that chance.
    Show book