"There is more treasure in books than in all the pirates' loot on Treasure Island." - Walt Disney
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
A Defense of Honor (Haven Manor Book #1) - cover

A Defense of Honor (Haven Manor Book #1)

Kristi Ann Hunter

Publisher: Bethany House Publishers

  • 3
  • 11
  • 0

Summary

When Katherine "Kit" FitzGilbert turned her back on London society more than a decade ago, she determined never to set foot in a ballroom again. But when business takes her to London and she's forced to run for her life, she stumbles upon not only a glamorous ballroom but also Graham, Lord Wharton. What should have been a chance encounter becomes much more as Graham embarks on a search for his friend's missing sister and is convinced Kit knows more about the girl than she's telling.After meeting Graham, Kit finds herself wishing things could have been different for the first time in her life, but what she wants can't matter. Long ago, she dedicated herself to helping women escape the same scorn that drove her from London and raising the innocent children caught in the crossfire. And as much as she desperately wishes to tell Graham everything, revealing the truth isn't worth putting him and everyone she loves in danger.

Other books that might interest you

  • American Asshole - cover

    American Asshole

    Tara Sue Me

    • 6
    • 27
    • 0
    He’s a self proclaimed bastard with a double helping of lying asshole. He's also her new boss.From the New York Times and USA Today Bestselling author of the acclaimed SUBMISSIVE Series comes the first book in a new series perfect for fans of Helena Hunting and Maya Banks. Mia Matthews never thought much of big shot matchmaker Tenor Butler, but when she finds out he loaned her late business partner a quarter of a million dollars and no one told her, there aren’t enough four letter words to describe him. She’d like nothing more than to pretend Tenor doesn’t exist, but she owes him all that money, not to mention he’s hot as hell.Tenor doesn’t see why it’s his fault Mia didn’t know about the loan. In fact, he thinks he’s being very magnanimous when he offers to forgive the loan if Mia closes her own matchmaking business and works for him for five years.  But as he gets closer to Mia, he realizes two things: 1) he doesn’t want her as an employee and 2) she hates his guts.When an old flame threatens them both, Mia and Tenor find themselves working together and are unable to ignore their mutual attraction. But it might be too late for these two romance experts to create their own love story.This is a standalone romance. No cliffhanger. 
    Show book
  • Mentor’s Match - A Submissive Series Standalone Novel - cover

    Mentor’s Match - A Submissive...

    Tara Sue Me

    • 4
    • 19
    • 0
    One wild and crazy, we-won’t-tell-anyone, week of sex and submission was all old friends, Kate and Fritz, agreed to while in Berlin for work. When they wind up together on the same project in Delaware, Fritz makes it clear he’s more than happy to pick up where they left off.But Kate had already decided it would be best for her to give up BDSM altogether and she doesn’t expect a hardcore Dom like Fritz to do the same. However, she soon finds out she’s vastly underestimated Fritz because he’s not about to give up on the woman he’s fantasized about for years.
    Show book
  • The Shifter Romance Novella Collection - cover

    The Shifter Romance Novella...

    Becca Fanning

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    This massive collection features fifty-five novellas by USA Today Bestselling Author Becca Fanning. These bears look for love in all sorts of situations, and you're bound to find more than a few to fall in love with. These stories are packed with action, intrigue and great chemistry!
     
    Here are the series included and what you can expect:
     
    Bear Ranchers - Can a band of Bear Shifter rodeo stars find love when their world is turned upside down?
     
    Big Paw Security - These Bear Shifer bodyguards have their hands full with their jobs, so how will they handle finding their mates?
     
    Rodeo Bears - A clan of Bear Shifters tries to balance finding love and finding fame in the arena!
     
    Secret Baby Bears - A group of Bear Shifters donate their semen to a research facility, but it accidentally gets put into the donor supply of a sperm bank. A few years later, these men are on the prowl for the cubs they never knew they had!
     
    Star Bears - Intergalactic Bear Shifter smugglers cavort around the known universe, causing mayhem and finding love in unexpected ways.
     
    Grizzly Groomsmen - Five Bear Shifters find themselves on a tropical island to celebrate a wedding, but soon it turns into a nightmare.
     
    Bear Dating Agency - A matronly grandmother is sick of her Bear Shifter bachelor grandsons laying about their wilderness refuge. With the help of a friend she puts a plan into place to see them all matched up!
     
    120 Proof Honey - Entrepeneurs. Businessmen. Bear Shifters. These guys know their honey and their moonshine, and they’ll be damned if they let a little competition run them out of town.
     
    Bearly Saints - The Four Saints are the hottest folk music band in Nashville, and only time will tell if these Bear Shifter musicians will be able to tame The Music City and the passion that burns deep inside them.
     
    FisherBears - Alaska is cold, but these Bear Shifter fishermen will keep you warm!
     
    Grit and Growl - Life on the road is simple for these Bear Shifter MC members. You respect your brothers and you respect the cut. Anyone who steps out of line gets put in their place. But when a rival group of bikers threatens their mates, will our Bears be able to keep them safe?
     
    Bearly Christmas - a Christmas Bear Shifter novella that will get you in the holiday spirit!
     
    55 novellas to sate your thirst for big protective Bear Shifters! 
     
    Keywords: bear shifter, bad boy, bbw, fated mates, paranormal romance with sex, pnr, curvy, gothic romance, new adult romance, clan, pack, series, fantasy, steamy romance, paranormal romance books for adults, reformed rake, contemporary romance, hot romance, hot shifter romance, shifter romance series, instalove, shifter conflicts, new adult, urban fantasy, alpha male, werebear, shapeshifter, wounded hero, romantic suspense, womens fiction, action adventure, military love, outlaw, rebel, thrilling, great chemistry, enemies to friends
    Show book
  • A Chance at Forever (Teaville Moral Society Book #3) - cover

    A Chance at Forever (Teaville...

    Melissa Jagears

    • 1
    • 9
    • 0
    In early 1900s Kansas, Mercy McClain, determined to protect Teaville's children from the bullying she experienced as a child, finds fulfillment working at the local orphanage and serving on the school board. When Aaron Firebrook, the classmate who bothered her more than any other, petitions the board for a teaching position, she's dead set against him getting the job.Aaron knows he deserves every bit of Mercy's mistrust, but he's returned to his hometown a changed man and is seeking to earn forgiveness of those he wronged.  He doesn't expect Mercy to like him, but surely he can prove he now has the best interests of the children at heart.Will resentment and old wounds hold them back, or can Mercy and Aaron put the past behind them in time to face the unexpected threats to everything they're working for?
    Show book
  • Phoebe's Light (Nantucket Legacy Book #1) - cover

    Phoebe's Light (Nantucket Legacy...

    Suzanne Woods Fisher

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    Phoebe Starbuck has always adjusted her sails and rudder to the whims of her father. Now, for the first time, she's doing what she wants to do: marrying Captain Phineas Foulger and sailing far away from Nantucket. As she leaves on her grand adventure, her father gives her two gifts, both of which Phoebe sees little need for. The first is an old sheepskin journal from Great Mary, her highly revered great-grandmother. The other is a "minder" on the whaling ship in the form of cooper Matthew Macy, a man whom she loathes.Soon Phoebe discovers that life at sea is no easier than life on land. Lonely, seasick, and disillusioned, she turns the pages of Great Mary's journal and finds herself drawn into the life of this noble woman. To Phoebe's shock, her great-grandmother has left a secret behind that carries repercussions for everyone aboard the ship, especially her husband the captain and her shadow the cooper. This story within a story catapults Phoebe into seeing her life in an entirely new way--just in time. In this brand-new series, bestselling author Suzanne Woods Fisher brings her signature twists and turns to bear on a fascinating new faith community: the Quakers of colonial-era Nantucket Island.
    Show book
  • The Skeleton Key - A Pandora English Novel - cover

    The Skeleton Key - A Pandora...

    Tara Moss

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    By day, Pandora English is a lowly fashion assistant. But by night, she is a supernatural scion. The Crow Moon is rising and Pandora has a date with Civil War soldier Lieutenant Luke, who will be flesh-and-blood for one night only. When Lieutenant Luke disappears, Pandora must unlock the mysteries of Number One Addams Avenue with her skeleton key and discover the secrets that lie in the forgotten laboratory of Dr Edmund Barrett. For Pandora has been warned: a powerful force is in the house. As Friday the Thirteenth looms, Pandora English and the citizens of Spektor are in grave danger. For the dead will rise and terror shall reign.
    Show book