Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Change Signals - cover

Change Signals

Ralph Henry Barbour

Publisher: Librorium Editions

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The Banjo and Mandolin Club, huddled together on the right of the platform in Assembly Hall, strummed diligently and with enthusiasm, their zeal atoning for shortcomings due to lack of practice. For this was the first night of the fall term, and many members had not touched their instruments since the final chord had been twanged on class day. (Brewster, playing second mandolin, was doing bravely with a silver dime, having lost his pick and not being able to borrow one!) Beyond the platform some two hundred and fifty clear-eyed, clean-skinned boys sang the words with vim. Many, unable to satisfactorily express their enthusiasm vocally, kept time with their feet. Across the platform from the musicians sat the Assistant Principal, Mr. Collins, the physical instructor, Mr. Bendix, the head coach, Mr. Payson, the president of the First Class, Lawrence Goodyear, and the football captain, Dan Vinton. The mass meeting had been called to formally open the football season at Yardley Hall School. The song ended in a final triumphant burst of sound and Goodyear arose. As he moved to the front of the platform the applause began, the stamping of feet and the long-drawn “A-a-ay!” repeated over and over until Goodyear’s upraised hand commanded quiet.
Available since: 11/30/2022.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Fandom - cover

    The Fandom

    Anna Day

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A compulsively readable and clever YA mix of fantasy and contemporary, it’s Inkheart meets Kill the Boy Band, for fans of Patrick Ness and Rainbow Rowell! 
     
    Violet is in her element. Cosplay at the ready, she can’t wait to feel part of her favorite fandom: The Gallows Dance, a mega book and movie franchise that she and her friends know EVERY WORD of (canon and fanfic included). But at Comic Con, a freak accident transports Violet and her friends into the story for real. And in just the first five minutes, they cause the death of the heroine, and get taken prisoner by the rebel group she was supposed to lead to victory. It’s up to Violet to take her place, and play out the plot the way it was written. But stories have a life of their own, and when you change the script in one place, the rest gets revised too . . . 
     
    “An absolute thrill to read. Turning so many conventions on their head, Day gives us a story that can make you rethink the world, make you laugh, and make you bite your fingernails off, all while falling in love with her characters. Highly recommended!” —James Dashner, #1 New York Times–bestselling author of The Maze Runner 
     
    “A glorious epic to fan culture . . . for fans of Fangirl and Caraval.” —BuzzFeed 
     
    “Day’s debut novel blends the joy of falling in love and the stark terror of actually becoming part of a fictional world, with no idea how to return home.” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Remember the Alamo - cover

    Remember the Alamo

    Harriet Isecke

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Henry McArdle uncovers disagreement as he researches the Battle of the Alamo by meeting with exiled Mexican President, Santa Anna, and Susanna Dickinson, the widow of a Texan officer slain in the battle. You be the judge as you step back in time to the brutal clash.
    Show book
  • A Super-Secret Not-So-Secret Valentine Surprise - cover

    A Super-Secret Not-So-Secret...

    Lissa Rovetch

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Valentine's Day surprise that Arizona plans for her parents is foiled when Tex can't keep a secret.
    Show book
  • Ladies on Adventure in Italy - cover

    Ladies on Adventure in Italy

    Sandra Henningsson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Doris lived in a beautiful pink house on the French Riviera, along with her eight chickens and her alpaca named Juan. One day, Doris and her best friend Martha were taking a trip to Italy, and they had barely stepped off the train before the adventure began. Suddenly, a stranger had put a treasure map in their hands, and Doris unexpectedly participated in a soapbox car race with her newfound friend, Molly.
    Show book
  • Look a Dolphin! - cover

    Look a Dolphin!

    Tessa Kenan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Carefully leveled text and fresh, vibrant photos engage young readers in learning about dolphins. Age-appropriate critical thinking questions and a photo glossary help build nonfiction learning skills.
    Show book
  • It's Snowy Today - cover

    It's Snowy Today

    Kristin Sterling

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Snow swoops and swirls. It drifts from the sky and blankets the ground. People bundle up by roaring fires. Animals snuggle together to stay warm. What else happens when the weather is snowy? Read this book to find out! Learn all about kinds of weather in the What’s the Weather Like? series - part of the Lightning Bolt Books™ collection. With high-energy designs, exciting photos, and fun text, Lightning Bolt Books™ bring nonfiction topics to life!
    Show book