Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Escape from Freedom - cover

Escape from Freedom

Erich Fromm

Publisher: Open Road Media

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Why do people choose authoritarianism over freedom? The classic study of the psychological appeal of fascism by a New York Times–bestselling author.  The pursuit of freedom has indelibly marked Western culture since Renaissance humanism and Protestantism began the fight for individualism and self-determination. This freedom, however, can make people feel unmoored, and is often accompanied by feelings of isolation, fear, and the loss of self, all leading to a desire for authoritarianism, conformity, or destructiveness. It is not only the question of freedom that makes Fromm’s debut book a timeless classic. In this examination of the roots of Nazism and fascism in Europe, Fromm also explains how economic and social constraints can also lead to authoritarianism. By the author of The Sane Society and The Anatomy of Human Destructiveness, this is a fascinating examination of the anxiety that underlies our darkest impulses, an enlightening volume perfect for readers of Eric Hoffer or Hannah Arendt.  This ebook features an illustrated biography of Erich Fromm including rare images and never-before-seen documents from the author’s estate.   
Available since: 03/26/2013.
Print length: 301 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Ring of Power - Symbols and Themes Love Vs Power in Wagner's Ring Circle and in Us : A Jungian-Feminist Perspective - cover

    Ring of Power - Symbols and...

    Jean Shinoda Bolen

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A vivid grasp of the story and the characters in "The Ring of Niebelung" brings Richard Wagner's mythic four-opera cycle to life. The Ring Cycle has a hold on our imagination like no other operatic work because it is archetypal and has the power of myth as well as music to reverberate in the psyche. Bolen shows how myth illuminates psychology, and more - Ring of Power goes beyond the psychology of the individual, revealing dysfunctional families and patriarchal institutions.
    Show book
  • Where Does the Seed Go? - Level 1 - 11 - cover

    Where Does the Seed Go? - Level...

    Edward Zrudlo

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    e-future PYP Readers is based around three simple principles: explore, reflect and apply through literature. With 22 different stories per level, there will be no problem finding the right book for class.
    Show book
  • Gaslighting - Learn How to Recognize and Recover from Mental Manipulation the Gaslight Effect Narcissistic Abuse Syndrome and Toxic Relationships to Be Free Forever - cover

    Gaslighting - Learn How to...

    Rhonda Appleton

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Have you always felt uneasy around someone because of how they get you to do things you ordinarily wouldn’t agree to do but often can’t help it because of their manipulation and gaslighting? 
    And are you looking to learn how to spot such tendencies from a mile away and stop them in their tracks before they can get to you? 
    If you’ve answered yes, keep listening.... 
    You are about to discover exactly how to recognize and recover from mental abuse, gaslighting, manipulation, brainwashing and being used by toxic and narcissistic people and take back control for good! 
    By virtue that you are here, it is clear you’ve had enough of the manipulation and are looking for answers to all the questions in your mind.... 
    Why do narcissists and manipulative people gaslight? 
    How do you tell when someone is grooming you for manipulation? 
    How do you spot manipulative tendencies? 
    How can you break away from them and establish boundaries? 
    If you have these and other related questions, this audiobook is for you, so keep listening. 
    In it, you will learn:The most powerful tool in a narcissist or toxic person’s arsenal and why they use itSigns of narcissism and how to deal with themStrategies that covert manipulators use to get through to youHow to spot manipulation easily and deal with toxic peopleWhy it feels so hard to leave a narcissist and what to do about itHow to reduce self-doubt and care for yourself after breaking up with narcissistic, toxic peopleAnd much more! 
    Even if you feel trapped and helpless, there is hope of freedom and this audiobook will show you the way! 
    Click "Buy Now" to start listening!
    Show book
  • God's Chosen People Will Become a Great Nation - cover

    God's Chosen People Will Become...

    Pastor Philip

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    During Ezekiel's lifetime, the nation of Israel was in Babylonian captivity. The nation obviously needed deliverance not only from their exile in Babylon, but also from their own dejection. The valley of dry bones is a prophecy that is still relevant to the people of Israel today. As they were promised by God, the people eventually returned to Israel.
    Show book
  • knowing your power as a female - some tips and tricks that helped me - cover

    knowing your power as a female -...

    Parshwika Bhandari

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    I am going to share some tips and steps to know your worth as  a  female, that is personally done by me based on my own experience so far it worked well for me that's why I am sharing in this book to help you, all these are long term strategies it will going to take sometime to get the results but its doing it
    Show book
  • The Power of Apology - Healing Steps to Transform All Your Relationships - cover

    The Power of Apology - Healing...

    Beverly Engel

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    "Fresh and useful . . . excellent practical advice . . . thorough and lucid . . . will be welcomed by many who have struggled to ask forgiveness and to forgive."-Publishers WeeklyA finalist in the Books for a Better Life Awards competition!Discover the healing power of apology and put its magic to work in your lifeDo you have a difficult time apologizing or are you involved with someone who does?Do you tend to overapologize and appear weak in others' eyes?Do you want to reconcile with someone but feel they owe you an apology first?Do you need to apologize or make amends to someone but don't know how to go about it?In this inspiring book from internationally acclaimed therapist and self-improvement author Beverly Engel, you will learn why some people have difficulty apologizing while others tend to overapologize. You'll learn how to give a meaningful apology, how to ask for one, and how to receive one. From making amends with those you have hurt to dealing with someone who refuses to apologize to teaching children responsibility and empathy, this life-changing book shows you how to bring a healing new element of renewal into every relationship in your life."Beverly Engel has eloquently explained the power of apology in a remarkably insightful and perceptive manner. No one has been better able to explain what an apology means and its role in reconciliation."-Rabbi Charles A. Klein, author of How to Forgive When You Can't Forget: Healing Our Personal Relationships"Readers of this wise and lucid guide to the neglected art of authentic apology will acquire a powerful tool to help repair relationships with others and with themselves."-Jeanne Safer, Ph.D., author of Forgiving and Not Forgiving: A New Approach to Resolving Intimate Betrayal"An engaging and in-depth book on a subject that has rarely been addressed so intelligently and thoroughly. Ms. Engel offers the reader specific suggestions that can help you improve all your relationships."-Steven Farmer, M.F.T., author of Adult Children of Abusive Parents
    Show book