Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Bartleby The Scrivener - cover

Bartleby The Scrivener

Herman Melville

Publisher: MB Cooltura

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Bartleby´s work has to do with the handwritten copying of law documents. Bartleby is very good at it, but one day, unexpectedly, he obstinately refuses to go on doing the sort of writing demanded and turns the office upside down with the enigmatic phrase: "I prefer not to."
Available since: 01/03/2022.
Print length: 50 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Twelve Mile Bank - AJ Bailey Adventure Series - Book One - cover

    Twelve Mile Bank - AJ Bailey...

    Nicholas Harvey

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A mysterious shipwreck. A ruthless treasure hunter. A race against time. 
    Cayman Islands divemaster AJ Bailey is searching for a long forgotten WWII U-boat at the bottom of the Caribbean Sea. Armed with nothing more than an adventurous spirit and her late grandfather’s tale, she's determined to find the submarine and the secret it protects. 
    When a wealthy treasure hunter shows up with a ruthless crew, AJ becomes entangled in a frantic duel to find the precious piece of history. Diving into the path of merciless killers at treacherous depths, she must fight to keep her grandfather’s dream - and herself - alive. 
    Weaving between 1945 and present day, Twelve Mile Bank blends an intriguing historical tale with thrilling modern suspense in book one of the AJ Bailey Adventure series.
    Show book
  • The History of the Man in Black - cover

    The History of the Man in Black

    Oliver Goldsmith

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Oliver Goldsmith (1730-1774) was an Irish novelist, playwright and poet. In The History of the Man in Black he describes the cynical journey of a generous and benevolent young man from dire pecuniary circumstances to riches, achieved by divesting himself of any moral considerations for others.
    Show book
  • The Soul Thief - cover

    The Soul Thief

    Cecelia Holland

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A devastating Viking raid leads Corban on an epic quest – the first in an extraordinary adventure series.Corban and Mav are twins born to the lord of an Irish coastal farmstead. Mav has the Second Sight, and is her father's favourite; Corban, however, is a deep disappointment. Exiled for refusing his father's command to take up his sword in the name of the High King, he is long gone when the dreadful Viking dragon ships unleash fire and slaughter on his people.His home destroyed, Corban must embark on an epic quest to save his sister from slavery. From the far coast of Ireland to the occupied village of Dublin, all the way across the sea to the Kingdom of the Danes, Corban is drawn to the trail of his sister, fighting for his life and striving to earn the influence and money he will need to buy her freedom.In a violent and uncaring world, everything is at stake.The Soul Thief, first in the Life and Times of Corban Loosestrife series, is perfect for fans of Bernard Cornwell, Samantha Shannon and Giles Kristian.Praise for The Soul Thief‘A potent blend of fantasy, history, and romance… a rousing, vivid tale rich with Nordic lore’ Publishers Weekly‘Elements of romance, mysticism, and suspense are interwoven into one superlative, spine-tingling adventure’ Booklist‘Holland fleshes out a lively account of the time of Eric Bloodaxe. Recommended’ Library Journal
    Show book
  • Damon Runyon Theater - Big Umbrella & Earthquake - Episode 14 - cover

    Damon Runyon Theater - Big...

    Damon Runyon

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The Damon Runyon Theatre Hour.  Damon Runyon is acknowledged as one of the great writers to come out of twentieth century America.  Runyon's short stories are almost always told in the first person by a narrator who is never named, and whose role is unclear; he knows many gangsters and has no job that can be gleaned from his musings, nor does he admit to any criminal involvement; He’s a bystander, an observer, an average street-corner Joe.  Runyon described himself as "being known to one and all as a guy who is just around".  That line seems to say a lot about Runyon and his life.  It was like you were with him on some street corner hustle or some shady dive and he was filling you in on all the angles, all the gossip, all of life. He was who so many people wanted to be with……or so many people wanted to be.  Of course, the cliché about newspapermen and writers is that they are heavy drinkers, chain-smokers, gamblers and obsessively chase women with a sideline in the gathering of stories and facts and actually getting something written just before the deadline hits. That seems like Damon Runyon and his life summed up in one sentence.  His stories became legendary ways of looking that bit differently at America, of soaking up the atmosphere of a glamorous and rip-roaring age and distilling it into the black and white type or, in our case, The Damon Runyon Theatre Hour.
    Show book
  • Love Among the Haystacks - cover

    Love Among the Haystacks

    D H Lawrence

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    ‘Love Among the Haystacks’ was written by D H Lawrence in 1912. It was the eighteenth of his sixty-seven short stories, all of which will be published individually in audiobook format by the Blackthorn Press. In this story, Lawrence returns to the scenes of his young manhood with farming scenes and life he experienced when courting Jessie Chambers at Haggs Farm in Nottinghamshire. Two brothers find love in two different women, both out of the ordinary for farm lads - one a German nanny, the other the wife of a tramp who begs food from the farmers. Both men are redeemed from their rivalry for each other and their suppressed sexuality by the first experiences of love on the same night.
    Show book
  • Noah's Ark - cover

    Noah's Ark

    C. J. Korryn

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Called by God to live by a faith that falls dangerously close to insanity, Noah begins a grand project that will consume him. Noah refuses to listen to reason and insists that his faith is real. His family doubts him, and he is ostracized from his city. One by one, those that he loves begin to understand and grow a faith of their own that will forever change their lives. 
    As their world ends and a new world begins, so do their trials. Along with their new life at sea comes new adversity. Adversity that they had never imagined and new experiences that they would never forget.
    Show book