Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
The List - cover

The List

Florian Dennisson

Publisher: Bloodhound Books

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

A man confesses to four murders—but will tell the police nothing more—in this stunning psychological crime thriller.I killed them all. The stranger who walks into the police station says it again and again, but the only information he will provide is a list of the victims’ names. Yet when officers go in search of the bodies, they find only empty rooms, forensic traces of blood, and more questions than answers. Could the victims in fact still be alive and held captive in some unknown location? Sgt. Michael Monroe, an expert in nonverbal communication, has just returned to the force after an extended leave. Sidelined from the investigation at first, Michael keeps fighting to be added to the team. But it’s not only his professional expertise that makes him especially qualified for this case—he has found a clue that may connect the suspect to a shadowy cult, one that Michael himself is all too familiar with . . .
Available since: 05/11/2022.

Other books that might interest you

  • Devil's Play - cover

    Devil's Play

    Sarah Sheridan

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    A secret society’s dark truths come to light when murder disrupts their circle in this riveting psychological mystery by the author of The Convent. 
     
    Four troubled students have come together as an unlikely group of friends after joining an underground society at university—based around the celebration and practices of New Satanism. It is run by a charismatic and beautiful sociopath named Dillon, who exerts a strange power over Eleanor, Hunter, Natalie, and Seth. 
     
    Now their unhealthy bond has set in motion a chain of events that no one could have seen coming. When one of the friends dies unexpectedly, the police initially believe it’s accidental. But the victim’s father is convinced otherwise, and a spotlight is turned on the secret society and its members. The question is not only who is responsible for the murder, but exactly what sort of darkness lies behind it . . .
    Show book
  • Submerged - cover

    Submerged

    Thomas F. Monteleone

    • 1
    • 3
    • 0
    “An epic thriller about a secret Nazi submarine and its mission . . . a tasty combination of Ken Follett and Clive Cussler” from the award-winning author (The Novel Pursuit).   Cruising from the sub pens of Trondheim under the cover of darkness—undetected by the sonar scans of Allied enemies—Kapitaenleutnant Erich Heinz Bruckner leads the experimental submarine U-5001 in a last-ditch effort for Nazi victory. But their sinister 1945 voyage ends mysteriously: Bruckner and his crew vanish, along with their classified weapon of mass destruction.   Seventy years later, ex-Navy diver Dexter Bucklin stumbles upon an unknown vessel in the depths of the Chesapeake Bay and is consumed with the need to discover its original, terrifying mission—inadvertently alerting a worldwide cabal that knows all about the U-5001 . . . and the keys it holds to even greater secrets.   A thriller in the tradition of Ken Follett and Robert Ludlum, Submerged follows both Bruckner and Bucklin in a narrative that spans generations of adventure and horror—Lovecraftian tales at their most strange. As these men’s lives converge, a third element surfaces, influencing the Kapitaenleutnant and the ex-Navy diver to make increasingly desperate decisions, ones that will shape the future of civilization.   Thomas F. Monteleone expertly blends history, fact, and fiction with a subtle dose of the supernatural in this Lovecraftian page-turner.  Praise for Thomas F. Monteleone   “Monteleone has a dark imagination, a wicked pen, and the rare ability to convey an evil chill with words.” —Dean Koontz, New York Times–bestselling author   “Tom’s an expert storyteller.” —F. Paul Wilson, author of The Keep and Deep as the Marrow   “A vastly entertaining novel of horror and suspense [that poses] difficult questions about the nature of man, God and the devil.” —Los Angeles Daily News
    Show book
  • Fallen Angel - A Novel - cover

    Fallen Angel - A Novel

    Tracy Borman

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    The gripping conclusion to the historical trilogy featuring Stuart-era healer Frances Gorges—from the author of The King’s Witch and The Devil’s Slave.   Life has never been quiet for Frances Gorges at the court of King James, but after finding herself at the center of plots and conspiracies for many years both as an accused witch and a secret Catholic, by 1614 Frances hopes to distance herself from the decadence and ruthlessness of the aging and venal monarch. However, when a handsome stranger appears at a courtier’s country estate, he immediately draws the wandering eyes of the King, throwing the established order of the court into upheaval. George Villiers is ambitious and violent, ready to take down whatever—and whoever—stands in his way, including Frances and her husband Sir Thomas Tyringham. New friends and old alliances—from Francis Bacon and Prince Charles to Sir Walter Raleigh—will offer Frances ways to resist the treachery of Villiers, but danger and Catholic plotting always lurks just around the corner, and sometimes from unexpected sources. With her meticulous eye for detail and evocative storytelling, Tracy Borman’s The Fallen Angel is a riveting conclusion to her trilogy set during the first Stuart monarch’s reign.  Praise for The Devil’s Slave   “Gripping historical fiction with a daring character in Lady Frances.”—New York Journal of Books  Praise for The King’s WitchNamed a Best Summer Debut by Library Journal   “Vivid . . . Everything you would want to read in a novel, ranging from palatial royals and intrigues to betrayals to a love story.”—Washington Book Review, “Essential Novels for This Summer”
    Show book
  • Broken - A Heart Stopping Psychological Thriller with a Killer Twist - cover

    Broken - A Heart Stopping...

    Betsy Reavley

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A hauntingly horrific tale of a troubled young woman who escapes—into a nightmare . . . 
     
    Not everyone can be saved . . . 
     
    Annabel, a troubled young woman trying to put her life back together, decides to take a trip to England’s coast to clear her head and get away from her mother. But when she arrives in the little seaside town, she discovers a series of grisly murders have taken place and police are searching for a twisted killer. After a fateful meeting with a mysterious stranger, Jude, the course of her life changes, and soon she finds peace in a world away from the misery she has known. But when Jude comes under suspicion from the police, and her idyllic world is threatened, Annabel’s happy existence starts to become a nightmare. Can Annabel escape her painful past or is her fate sealed? And why is she haunted by horrific visions when she seems on the verge of finding happiness? 
     
    This astonishing novel will take you on a shattering journey through Annabel’s fight for survival and will ask if the greatest threat we pose is to ourselves. 
     
    This is a revised edition of a book previously published as Beneath The Watery Moon. 
     
    Suitable for readers over 18 only. This book contains graphic scenes and of acts of violence which some readers may find disturbing.
    Show book
  • Blood White and Blue - A Gripping Crime Thriller - cover

    Blood White and Blue - A...

    James Silvester

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    In this gripping spy thriller, post-Brexit tensions are high across the UK, and the fate of the nation is in the hands of a desperate agent.  
     
    Britain is a hotbed of racial discord and economic uncertainty. Only Sir Geoffrey Hartnell, an ageing but hugely respected Member of Parliament, can ease tensions. But as tenuous talks begin, a ghost from the past threatens to bring the UK to its knees. 
     
    Lucie Musilova is a young woman running out of places to hide. Half-British, half-Czech and rejected by both countries in the aftermath of Brexit, she has no choice but to accept an assignment with a secret branch of intelligence services. As the Hartnel case—and her mysterious role in it—spiral out of control, one false move could cost future of the nation . . . not to mention Lucie’s life.
    Show book
  • A Slice of Murder - cover

    A Slice of Murder

    Marissa De Luna

    • 0
    • 2
    • 0
    A groom-to-be is cut down at his engagement party, and solving the case won’t be a piece of cake . . . Shilpa Silanki’s talent is making sure that special occasions are accompanied by special cakes, and her first booking after her move to Devon, England—where she’s inherited a house in Otter’s Reach—is a posh engagement party for Mason Connolly and Harriet Drew. Unfortunately, a knife has been used for something other than cutting the cake. Now Shilpa is working to uncover layers of secrets and scandals in hopes of identifying the killer who permanently parted Mason and Harriet—and before she’s done, someone else might get iced . . .
    Show book