A world full of adventures is waiting for you!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Read online the first chapters of this book!
All characters reduced
The Heiress - cover

The Heiress

Evelyn Anthony

Publisher: Open Road Distribution

  • 2
  • 18
  • 1

Summary

Charles Macdonald and his parents, exiled Scots, take refuge at the splendid and decadent eighteenth-century Versailles court of Louis XV. Charles, a ruthless and degenerate young man, is soon forced by his gambling debts into an arranged marriage with his cousin, Anne. Anne is beautiful and wealthy—and in love with Charles. But none of this prevents him from carrying on with his mistress, the Baroness de Vitale, who in turn inflicts cruelties and humiliations upon Anne.   When Anne finds that her life is in danger, Charles must decide what sort of man he wants to be, and which woman he truly cares for.

Other books that might interest you

  • A Spy for the Redeemer - The Owen Archer Series - Book Seven - cover

    A Spy for the Redeemer - The...

    Candace Robb

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    “Fascinating…crisp, evocative writing…. The tapestry here is rich and varied.”—CLEVELAND PLAIN DEALER
    
    Late spring in the year of our Lord 1370, and Owen Archer is anxious to leave Wales for home. His mission for the Duke of Lancaster complete, he attempts to arrange safe passage on a ship sailing for England, but the hanging of a stonemason interrupts his plans. On the surface it appears the young man was driven to suicide by a broken heart, but to Owen the signs all point to murder. As his investigation stretches on, however, Owen finds himself drawn into the influence of the leader of a Welsh rebellion whose manifesto speaks to his heart, and a choice is offered to him: join or die. 
    
    Meanwhile, at home in York, Owen’s wife Lucie is troubled by rumors that her husband’s long absence is permanent, as well as threats by a customer who claims she was poisoned by a physic from the Wilton apothecary. Meanwhile, Lucie is tempted by the attentions of a friend’s steward, even as she uncovers a shattering betrayal in her own household.
    Show book
  • Stonehenge - A Novel - cover

    Stonehenge - A Novel

    Bernard Cornwell

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    From New York Times bestselling author Bernard Cornwell, the tale of three brothers and of their rivalry that created the mysterious Stonehenge.  
    One summer’s day, a dying stranger carrying great wealth in gold comes to the settlement of Ratharryn. 
    The three sons of Ratharryn’s chief each perceive the great gift in a different way. The eldest, Lengar, the warrior, harnesses his murderous ambition to be a ruler and take great power for his tribe. Camaban becomes a great visionary and feared wise man, and it is his vision that will force the youngest brother, Saban, to create the great temple on the green hill where the gods will appear on earth. Saban’ s love for Aurenna, the sun bride whose destiny is to die for the gods, finally brings the rivalries of the brothers to a head. But it is also his skills that will build the vast temple, a place for the gods, certainly, but also a place that will confirm for ever the supreme power of the tribe that built it.
    Show book
  • Bone Rattler - Duncan McCallum #1 - cover

    Bone Rattler - Duncan McCallum #1

    Eliot Pattison

    • 0
    • 4
    • 0
    "Hauntingly beautiful are the bonds between the cultures of the Scots Highlanders and the Indians" – Historical Novel Society 
     
    Aboard a British convict ship bound for the New World, Duncan McCallum witnesses a series of murders and apparent suicides among his fellow Scottish prisoners. A strange trail of clues leads Duncan into the New World and eventually thrusts him into the bloody maw of the French and Indian War.  
     
    Exploring a frontier world shrouded in danger and defying death in a wilderness populated by European settlers, Indian shamans, and mysterious scalping parties, Duncan, the exiled chief of his near-extinct Scottish clan, finds that sometimes justice cannot be reached unless the cultures and spirits of those involved are appeased. 
     
    Bone Rattler is a powerful historical mystery set against a backdrop of culture clashes, greed, deceit and murder as seen through the eyes of an honest Scot swept up in both the wonder and heartbreak of early colonial America. 
     
     
    "Having already won an Edgar for his Inspector Shan series, Pattison makes a strong bid for another with this outstanding mystery set in colonial America… Pattison's moving characters, intricate plot and masterful evocation of the time, including sensitive depictions of the effects of the European war on Native Americans, set this leagues beyond most historicals." – Publishers Weekly 
     
    ELIOT PATTISON is the author of The Skull Mantra, winner of the Edgar Award and finalist for the Gold Dagger, Water Touching Stone, and Bone Mountain. Pattison resides in rural Pennsylvania with his wife, three children, two horses, and two dogs on a colonial-era farm.
    Show book
  • The Cross-Legged Knight - The Owen Archer Series - Book Eight - cover

    The Cross-Legged Knight - The...

    Candace Robb

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    York, 1371. The Bishop of Winchester, William of Wykeham, is tasked with bringing home the remains of the powerful patriarch of the Pagnell family. But Wykeham’s arrival is fraught with tension. The Pagnells are reeling from their father’s death and they suspect Wykeham of having a hand in it. Days after his arrival, his townhouse burns to the ground—a terrible accident, or a threat.
    
    When the charred body of a woman is found in the remains, Wykeham fears for his reputation and his life. The Archbishop of York, John Thoresby, turns to the one-eyed spy, Owen Archer, for help.
    
    Archer, preoccupied by his wife’s tragic miscarriage, reluctantly agrees to investigate the case. But the attempt on Wykeham’s life runs deeper than anyone suspects. This tangled web includes knights, bishops, and even kings. When Archer discovers that the dead woman is a midwife known to all of York, including his wife, this dangerous plot is brought to his very home.
    Show book
  • Great Expectations - cover

    Great Expectations

    Charles Dickens

    • 2
    • 12
    • 0
    Great Expectations is Charles Dickens’s beloved, autobiographical tale of a poor boy haunted by a dark secret and harboring grand hopes for his future as a gentleman. When young Pip accidentally meets a convict out in the marsh one Christmas Eve, he has no idea that his life is about to change forever. The amazing events following that encounter, and the strange tale of Miss Havisham and her adopted daughter Estella, have made Great Expectations a must-read since it was first serialized in 1860.
    Show book
  • All the Ever Afters - The Untold Story of Cinderella's Stepmother - cover

    All the Ever Afters - The Untold...

    Danielle Teller

    • 1
    • 1
    • 0
    In the vein of Wicked, The Woodcutter, and Boy, Snow, Bird, a luminous reimagining of a classic tale, told from the perspective of Agnes, Cinderella’s "evil" stepmother. 
    We all know the story of Cinderella. Or do we? 
    As rumors about the cruel upbringing of beautiful newlywed Princess Cinderella roil the kingdom, her stepmother, Agnes, who knows all too well about hardship, privately records the true story. . . . 
    A peasant born into serfdom, Agnes is separated from her family and forced into servitude as a laundress’s apprentice when she is only ten years old. Using her wits and ingenuity, she escapes her tyrannical matron and makes her way toward a hopeful future. When teenaged Agnes is seduced by an older man and becomes pregnant, she is transformed by love for her child. Once again left penniless, Agnes has no choice but to return to servitude at the manor she thought she had left behind. Her new position is nursemaid to Ella, an otherworldly infant. She struggles to love the child who in time becomes her stepdaughter and, eventually, the celebrated princess who embodies everyone’s unattainable fantasies. The story of their relationship reveals that nothing is what it seems, that beauty is not always desirable, and that love can take on many guises. 
    Lyrically told, emotionally evocative, and brilliantly perceptive, All the Ever Afters explores the hidden complexities that lie beneath classic tales of good and evil, all the while showing us that how we confront adversity reveals a more profound, and ultimately more important, truth than the ideal of "happily ever after."
    Show book