Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Introduction to Power System Protection - cover

Introduction to Power System Protection

Dr. Hidaia Mahmood Alassouli

Publisher: Dr. Hidaia Mahmood Alassouli

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

Power system protection systems have three basic components: Instrument transformers, Relays, Circuit breakers
The function of the CT is to reproduce in its secondary winding a current I’ that is proportional to the primary current I. The CT converts primary currents in the kiloamp range to secondary currents in the 0–5 ampere range for convenience of measurement.

The function of the relay is to discriminate between normal operation and fault conditions. The OC relay in Figure 2 has an operating coil, which is connected to the CT secondary winding, and a set of contacts. When |I’| exceeds a specified ‘‘pickup’’ value, the operating coil causes the normally open contacts to close. When the relay contacts close, the trip coil of the circuit breaker is energized, which then causes the circuit breaker to open.

System-protection components have the following design criteria:

	Reliability: Operate dependably when fault conditions occur, even after remaining idle for months or years. Failure to do so may result in costly damages.
	Selectivity: Avoid unnecessary, false trips.
	Speed: Operate rapidly to minimize fault duration and equipment damage. Any intentional time delays should be precise.
	Economy: Provide maximum protection at minimum cost.
	Simplicity: Minimize protection equipment and circuitry.

Since it is impossible to satisfy all these criteria simultaneously, compromises must be made in system protection.
The book consists from the following sections:
1.  Chapter 1: Power System Faults:
2. Chapter 2: Instrument Transformers.
3. Chapter 3: Overcurrent and Earth Fault Protection Relays.
4. Chapter 4: Radial System Protection.
5. Chapter 5: Zones of Protection.
6. Chapter 6: Differential Relays.
7. Chapter 7: Distance Relays.
8. Chapter 8: Transformer Protection.
9. Chapter 9: Generator Protection.
10. Chapter 10: Busbar Protection.
11. Chapter 11: Circuit Breakers.
12. Chapter 12: Fuses.
13. Chapter 13: References.
 
Available since: 04/27/2022.
Print length: 145 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The House of Owls - cover

    The House of Owls

    Tony Angell

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    “A charming personal account, accompanied by nearly 100 illustrations, that underscores how owls and other birds enrich our lives.”—Kirkus Reviews  Winner of the National Outdoor Book Award   For a quarter of a century, Tony Angell and his family shared the remarkable experience of closely observing pairs of western screech owls that occupied a nesting box outside the window of their forest home. The journals in which the author recorded his observations, and the captivating drawings he created, form the heart of this compelling book—a personal account of an artist-naturalist’s life with owls. Angell’s extensive illustrations show owls engaged in what owls do—hunting, courting, raising families, and exercising their inquisitive natures—and reveal his immeasurable respect for their secret lives and daunting challenges.   Angell discusses the unique characteristics that distinguish owls from other bird species and provides a fascinating overview of the impact owls have had on human culture and thought. He also offers detailed scientific descriptions of the nineteen species of owls found in North America, as well as their close relatives elsewhere. Always emphasizing the interaction of humans and owls, the author affirms the power of these birds to both beguile and inspire.   “Endearing…provides a lot of fascinating information about these reclusive creatures.”—The New York Times Book Review    “Angell writes (and draws) with the absolute authority of one who has studied, rehabilitated, lived with and loved the animals his whole life.”—The Wall Street Journal   “Steeped in the tradition of Alexander Wilson and John James Audubon, it blends taxonomy, ornithology, biogeography and autobiography.”—Times Literary Supplement
    Show book
  • Paradox Illusion and the Post-Spiritual Inquiry - A Conversation with Steven Harrison - cover

    Paradox Illusion and the...

    Steven Harrison

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In 2007, over the course of several days, Steven Harrison and Martin Frischknecht engaged in a lively conversation exploring a wide variety of subjects, including:
    Show book
  • Penguins Hate Stuff - cover

    Penguins Hate Stuff

    Greg Stones

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    From the adorable to the absurd, these playful paintings are a penguin lover’s delight. 
     
    Penguins hate zombies. They also hate serpents, bad haircuts, sock monkeys, leprechauns, Halloween, oil rigs, vampire penguins, and mermaids. They really hate clowns, but they really like capes, balloons, and free vacations. 
     
    This quirky collection reveals the discriminating tastes of these adorable flightless Antarctic birds who encounter odd foes (snow sharks, beavers, cowboys, samurai . . .), but still manage to enjoy the little things in life. With wit, humor, and the occasional alien invasion, Greg Stones’s paintings capture the playfully absurd life of penguins. 
     
    Praise for Greg Stones 
     
    “Stones’s panels have a cool way of collectively turning a grin into a chuckle (and perhaps, dare it be said, into a hearty guffaw).” —Publishers Weekly
    Show book
  • Did You Just Eat That? - Two Scientists Explore Double-Dipping the Five-Second Rule and other Food Myths in the Lab - cover

    Did You Just Eat That? - Two...

    Paul Dawson, Brian Sheldon

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Is the five-second rule legitimate?Are electric hand dryers really bacteria blowers?Am I spraying germs everywhere when I blow on my birthday cake?How gross is backwash?When it comes to food safety and germs, there are as many common questions as there are misconceptions. And yet there has never been a book that clearly examines the science behind these important issues — until now. In Did You Just Eat That? food scientists Paul Dawson and Brian Sheldon take listeners into the lab to show, for example, how they determine the amount of bacteria that gets transferred by sharing utensils or how many microbes live on restaurant menus. The authors list their materials and methods (in case you want to replicate the experiments), guide us through their results, and offer in-depth explanations of good hygiene and microbiology.Written with candid humor, this fascinating audiobook will reveal surprising answers to the most frequently debated — and also the weirdest — questions about food and germs, sure to satisfy anyone who has ever wondered: Should I really eat that?
    Show book
  • Genomics - A Very Short Introduction - cover

    Genomics - A Very Short...

    John M. Archibald

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Genomics has transformed the biological sciences. From epidemiology and medicine to evolution and forensics, the ability to determine an organism's complete genetic makeup has changed the way science is done and the questions that can be asked of it. Its most celebrated achievement was the Human Genome Project, a technologically challenging endeavor that took thousands of scientists around the world thirteen years and over three billion U.S. dollars to complete. 
    In this Very Short Introduction John Archibald explores the science of genomics and its rapidly expanding toolbox. Sequencing a human genome now takes only a few days and costs as little as $1,000. The genomes of simple bacteria and viruses can be sequenced in a matter of hours on a device that fits in the palm of your hand. The resulting sequences can be used to better understand our biology in health and disease and to "personalize" medicine. Archibald shows how the field of genomics is on the cusp of another quantum leap; the implications for science and society are profound.
    Show book
  • What's It Like in Space? - Stories from Astronauts Who've Been There - cover

    What's It Like in Space? -...

    Ariel Waldman

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Blast off and experience space travel with this collection of fascinating, funny, and sometimes weird anecdotes from real astronauts. 
     
    Everyone wonders what it’s really like in space, but very few of us have ever had the chance to experience it firsthand. This captivating illustrated collection brings together stories from dozens of international astronauts—men and women who’ve actually been there—who have returned with accounts of the sometimes weird, often funny, and awe-inspiring sensations and realities of being in space. With playful artwork accompanying each, here are the real stories behind backwards dreams, “moon face,” the tricks of sleeping in zero gravity and aiming your sneeze during a spacewalk, the importance of packing hot sauce, and dozens of other cosmic quirks and amazements that come with travel in and beyond low Earth orbit. 
     
    Praise for What’s It Like in Space? 
     
    “Houston, we have a winner.” —Oprah Magazine 
     
    “[A] captivating illustrated collection.” —Smithsonian Magazine 
     
    “A delightful mini-coffee table book about all the awkward and beautiful moments you can have in space, based on dozens of interviews with people who have actually been there. If you’re looking for a fun read about life outside the gravity well, check out What’s It Like in Space?” —Ars Technica 
     
    “This charmingly illustrated book is much meatier than its diminutive size would suggest. These snippets are so clear, so beautifully curated, that they really do leave you with a sense of what it must be like to float miles above Earth.” —Entertainment Weekly
    Show book