Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Death Walks on Cat Feet - cover

Death Walks on Cat Feet

Dolores Hitchens

Publisher: MysteriousPress.com

  • 0
  • 0
  • 0

Summary

The senior super-sleuth is the odds-on favorite to discover if a killer stalks the Hollywood Hills in the final Rachel Murdock mystery.   Though not a professional private eye, Miss Rachel Murdock has gained notoriety in certain Los Angeles circles for her crime-solving skills. They come in handy after she witnesses an extraordinary event: a woman being thrown into the window of a pet store.   Said woman is Ruth Rand, an actress desperate to find her missing niece, Lila. She is convinced that Lila’s husband, a former jockey, killed her. It doesn’t help that he’s the one responsible for Ruth ending up on the pet store floor. When Rachel agrees to help her, she’s drawn into the sordid world of horse racing and gambling. But the more she learns about the lives of those involved, the more she’s willing to bet that the truth lies in the haunting figure of Lila’s one-eyed cat.  Praise for Dolores Hitchens and her mysteries   “You will never regret having made the acquaintance of Miss Rachel Murdock.” —The New York Times   “High-grade suspense.” —San Francisco Chronicle   “For those who enjoy Little-Old-Lady detectives, this should be a pleasing mystery, particularly if active LOLs are preferred . . . Both interesting and unusual is the motive for murder.” —Mystery File  
Available since: 01/18/2022.
Print length: 144 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Lucky Witch - A Beechwood Harbor Magic Mystery - cover

    Lucky Witch - A Beechwood Harbor...

    Danielle Garrett

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    It's St. Patrick's Day, and Holly's feeling lucky . . . 
    At least, right up until a dead body shows up in the woods behind the esteemed Beechwood Manor. 
    With the townspeople distracted by a mysterious shamrock-themed scavenger hunt, everyone seems content to chalk up the death as a tragic hunting accident. But when the clover-shaped clues lead back to the crime scene, things take a deadly turn. 
    With a rogue leprechaun on the loose and something sinister lurking on the edges of town, it's up to Holly to stop the murderer and keep secret paranormal powers from swallowing up the sleepy town she's grown to love.
    Show book
  • Death On a Budget - cover

    Death On a Budget

    Michael W. Sherer

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    After the apparent shotgun suicide of Emerson Ward's childhood friend Lou Barrett, the Chicago freelance sleuth heads back home to Huntley, Ill., for the funeral in Sherer's sixth whodunit (after 2006's Death Is No Bargain). Meanwhile, Emerson's girlfriend, Nell Reilly, threatens to leave for Seattle with their twoyearold daughter, Emily, to visit her cancerstricken mother. Emerson was planning to drive back to Chicago the afternoon of the funeral, but decides to stick around after Lou's sister, Meg Brodsky, asks him to investigate Lou's death. Danger erupts after Emerson asks too many questions about Lou's business partner, Pete Anderson, and a shady mall development that's left many investors in hot water. Emerson becomes increasingly alarmed as clues from the past dovetail with those from the present, leading to a surprising resolution.
    Show book
  • Teammates - cover

    Teammates

    Jack Erickson

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Former high school football teammates meet at a wedding ten years after a violent tackle on the football field crippled one. 
    The crippled teammate, whose promising tennis career was ruined, is a bartender at the wedding reception. His former teammate is the arrogant, drunken groom. Revenge becomes a deadly wedding present.
    Show book
  • The Ghost and the Witches’ Coven - cover

    The Ghost and the Witches’ Coven

    Bobbi Holmes, Anna J. McIntyre

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The mediums of Beach Drive don't take rumors of a witches' coven seriously—not until it threatens one of their own.Meanwhile, Officer Brian Henderson can no longer ignore the secrets of Marlow House. Can he handle the truth?
    Show book
  • The Pearl Dagger - cover

    The Pearl Dagger

    L.A. Chandlar

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Lane Sanders and her fiery boss, Mayor Fiorello “Fio” La Guardia, have managed to contain the explosive underground conspiracies of New York’s most sinister schemers. But after a seemingly harmless pinball racket claims the life of a trusted ally, a new ringleader signals the rebirth of an all-too-familiar crime network at home and across the pond. Spurred on by the possibility of a violent syndicate spreading like wildfire through Europe, Lane sets sail for London—the city where her parents began the undercover work that led to their tragic undoing. And this time, she won’t chase down childhood nightmares without Finn Brodie, who vows to dispel his own difficult secrets abroad. While Finn confronts a devious sibling’s plot that echoes Orson Welles’s Voodoo Macbeth, Lane discovers that a dazzling pearl dagger may wield the ultimate clue to guide their hunt for justice on both sides of the ocean. With terrors from the past and present converging, Lane can’t save herself unless she starts believing that, like her weapon of choice, she also has the power to be both beautiful and dangerous.
    Show book
  • The Trouble Girls - cover

    The Trouble Girls

    E.R. Fallon, KJ Fallon

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    The author of The Trouble Boys returns to the gritty streets of New York City as a new generation of the Irish mob battles for control.   Camille O’Brien’s father was an Irish gangster who was betrayed and murdered.   Violet McCarthy has inherited control of the Irish mob.   The two women were once friends, but their paths have made them enemies. Camille believes that control of the mob should be hers.   Now they must fight against each other as Camille strives to gain control of the mob in any way she can while Violet struggles to keep it.   Love and loyalty are tested as they push each other to the edge. No matter how brutal. No matter what the cost.   But who will come out on top?  Series praise   “Far more than a crime novel; a wise, carefully wrought narrative informed by a tragic sense of life.” —Stefan Kanfer, national bestselling author   “Captures the atmosphere and the feel of the period to absolute perfection. I can just see this being made into a film. Superb.” —Books Monthly Perfect for Fans of Martina Cole, Kimberley Chambers, and Jessie Keane
    Show book