Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Shenkin's Vengeance - cover

Shenkin's Vengeance

Davey Davies

Publisher: Clink Street Publishing

  • 1
  • 1
  • 0

Summary

It is 1834 and Daniel Shenkin a Welsh coal miner, political activist, and bare knuckle fighter has spent two years in the convict barracks prison of Sydney's penal colony. Together with his fellow convict Regan O'Hara they have been granted their 'Tickets of Leave' on the understanding that any misdemeanour would result in the removal of the Tickets and their full sentences imposed. Twenty years hard labour. They find themselves on the streets. Penniless but for the diamond pendant that Shenkin had hidden away in his ponytail head scarf. This together with the help of the woman he loves and Doctor Tarn from the convict ship The Runnymede, they go looking for the one time London fence Abe Goldspick to sell him the diamond. After a bare knuckle fight their sworn enemy Lord Feltsham, who wants both the woman and the diamond for himself, arranges a conspiracy headed by Feltsham's henchman Ketch. It results in Shenkin and O'Hara being sent to the notorious Port Arthur penal settlement. It is a brutal place from where few convicts ever return. But in a two-fisted action-packed story they plan an escape from what seems an inescapable prison. They do it in a way no one would dare risk. The hard way. It's a breathtaking adventure set in the grim world of the 19th century. Against all the odds Shenkin is a one-man fighting machine. Survival is his mantra he is not for the faint hearted. Take a deep breath and enter his harsh brutal world with great care.
Available since: 05/30/2023.
Print length: 330 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • The Novels of Lisa Alther - Kinflicks Original Sins and Five Minutes in Heaven - cover

    The Novels of Lisa Alther -...

    Lisa Alther

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Three wise and witty novels of the sixties, sexuality, and the South by a New York Times–bestselling “strong, salty, original talent” (Doris Lessing).Kinflicks: “An ambitious, funny, lucid and unfailingly honest” coming-of-age novel set in the 1960s American South (The New Yorker). Tart-tongued Tennessean Ginny Babcock seems to live in an idyllic world—and her mother documents every moment for the family’s home movies. But mother’s “kinflicks” don’t capture everything about Ginny. Not by a long shot.  Original Sins: In this “thoroughly endearing” novel, Sally, Emily, Jed, Raymond, and Donny are friends who dream big in rural Tennessee (Chicago Tribune). But the road to reality isn’t quite what they imagined. Some take the safe route; others drift away to reconsider their roots and traditions; and for Donny, an African American, fulfilling dreams is all about resilience. In the ever-shifting landscape of the 1950s and ’60s, they grow up, grow apart, and have every good intention of coming back together.  Five Minutes in Heaven: Raised in the Tennessee hills in the 1950s, Jude grows into a young woman who finds her soul mate in her new neighbor Molly. But when age and social convention intervene, she ventures north to pursue all that sixties New York has to offer—including a transitional comfort with a man in the midst of his own sexual discovery. With an endearing heroine and a smart consideration of what it means to love—and be loved—this coming-of-age novel is “a little bit of heaven” (Rita Mae Brown).
    Show book
  • The Prophet - cover

    The Prophet

    Martine Bailey

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Destiny, prophecy and murder weave an intricate web in this beguiling historical mystery. Could a dark prophecy spell danger for Tabitha De Vallory and her unborn child?Cheshire. May Day, 1753. Tabitha De Vallory believes her life is perfect: she has an imposing home with all the comforts she has ever desired, and is expecting her first child with doting husband Nathaniel De Vallory. But Tabitha's happiness is shaken when a girl is slaughtered beneath the Mondrem Oak on the family's forest estate. Recognizing the victim from her former scandalous life, Tabitha vows to find the killer.Nearby, enigmatic Baptist Gunn and his followers are convinced that a second messiah will be born, amid blood and strife, close to the oak on Midsummer's Day. Could the girl's murder be linked to Gunn's cryptic prophecy? Do his wild claims of a second saviour spell danger for Tabitha and her unborn child?As Midsummer's Day draws closer, Tabitha soon learns the destiny that threatens her and those she holds most dear...Has Tabitha's fate been decided? Beautifully crafted and alluring, full of dark deception, intrigue and terrifying foreboding, THE PROPHET is perfect for fans of THE MINIATURIST by JESSIE BURTON and SARAH DUNANT.
    Show book
  • The Winkler Case - cover

    The Winkler Case

    David Green

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    When insurance salesman Elliot Blake calls at the home of fight promoter Walt Winkler to sell him a new insurance policy, it's handsome boxer Vito who comes to the door. 
    Vito wants something from Elliot, but it's not car insurance. 
    In this gay story inspired by the classic noir novel Double Indemnity, obsessive desire unfolds in an unexpected direction. 
    Set in Chicago in 1948, it's not a remake. You'll never see what's coming.
    Show book
  • Hannah From Loam Hill - cover

    Hannah From Loam Hill

    Marjorie R. Smith

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    In the rugged Appalachian Mountains of Kentucky, seventeen-year-old Hannah Mills plans her entire life around love. The young heroine of Hannah from Loam Hill is determined to meet her true love and raise a family. But for Hannah, fate has a different set of plans. Paralyzed after a terrifying ordeal in the woods, the innocent girl is suddenly forced to face life from the steel prison of a wheelchair. Soon Hannah must fight not just her own demons of despair and loneliness, but join her family in a struggle to survive poverty and the aftermath of war. The Mills family proudly bears the pain and worry when Hannah’s brothers are drafted to fight in World War II. Hannah finds comfort in writing to GIs fighting far away on the battlegrounds of Europe. Yet despite promises of new love, Hannah soon finds that emotional wounds are often deeper than physical ones as she meets soldiers devastated by the effects of combat. Will Hannah ever be able to find love, or will her disability stand in the way of her dreams?
    Show book
  • The Lost Orphan - A Novel - cover

    The Lost Orphan - A Novel

    Stacey Halls

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    A Sunday Times bestseller!Two women, bound by a child, and a secret that will change everything . . .London, 1754. Six years after leaving her illegitimate newborn at the Foundling Hospital, Bess Bright returns to reclaim the daughter she has never known. Dreading the worst, that she has died in care, she is astonished to discover someone pretending to be Bess has already claimed her. Her life is turned upside down as she tries to find out who has taken her little girl—and why.Less than a mile from Bess’s poor lodgings, in a quiet Georgian townhouse, lives Alexandra, a reclusive young widow. When her close friend—an ambitious doctor at the orphanage—persuades her to hire a nursemaid to help care for her daughter, she is hesitant to welcome someone new into her home. But her past is threatening to catch up with her and tear her carefully constructed world apart.From the Sunday Times bestselling author of The Familiars comes this captivating story of mothers and daughters, class and power, and love against the greatest of odds.“A gripping tale of motherhood, loss, and redemption. Hall’s distinctive characters and scrupulous historical detail drop us into a rich, Dickensian world full of desperation and lies, and shows us just how far a mother will go to hold onto her child.” —Serena Burdick, International bestselling author of The Girls with No Names“The new Hilary Mantel!”—Cosmopolitan
    Show book
  • Anne of Green Gables - Anne 1 - cover

    Anne of Green Gables - Anne 1

    L. M. Montgomery

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    As a child of imagination, Anne takes much joy in life and adapts quickly, thriving in the close-knit farming village. Her imagination and talkativeness soon brighten up Green Gables. The book recounts Anne's adventures in making a home: the country school where she quickly excels in her studies; her friendship with Diana Barry, the girl living next door (her best or "bosom friend" as Anne fondly calls her); her budding literary ambitions; and her rivalry with her classmate Gilbert Blythe, who teases her about her red hair. For that, he earns her instant hatred, although he apologizes many times. As time passes, Anne realizes she no longer hates Gilbert but cannot bring herself to speak to him ...
    Show book