Join us on a literary world trip!
Add this book to bookshelf
Grey
Write a new comment Default profile 50px
Grey
Subscribe to read the full book or read the first pages for free!
All characters reduced
Murder at Bletchley Park - The thrilling wartime mystery series - cover

Murder at Bletchley Park - The thrilling wartime mystery series

Christina Koning

Publisher: Allison & Busby

  • 0
  • 3
  • 0

Summary

Spring, 1941. The Second World War has entered a dangerous phase, with British ships being torpedoed in the Atlantic and nightly bombing raids on major ports. At Bletchley Park, top secret home of the nation's code-breakers, the race is on to crack the German Enigma code and thus prevent further naval and military losses. This endeavour is suddenly very close to home for Frederick Rowlands, blind veteran of the Great War, when his daughter, Margaret, who works at 'the Park' as a cryptographer, is arrested on suspicion of betraying secrets to the enemy.
Then a young woman is found murdered, and Rowlands is drawn into a deadly battle of wits where he must decode a series of clues that will lead him to the killer and enable him to discover the real traitor at Bletchley Park.
Available since: 12/21/2023.
Print length: 350 pages.

Other books that might interest you

  • Murder Sky High - The DCI Gawn Girvin series Book 2 - cover

    Murder Sky High - The DCI Gawn...

    Linda Hagan

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    After a plane passenger fails to reach his destination alive, DCI Gawn Girvin must once again chase a dragonWhen pathology reports that a passenger found dead on arrival on a flight from Amsterdam to Belfast passed due to natural causes, it should be an open and shut case for the police.But detective Gawn Girvin, adept at smelling a rat, digs deeper and discovers that far from being clear cut, the man's death is indeed suspicious.After interviewing his fellow passengers, and shaking lose inconsistencies in their stories, she heads to the Netherlands intent on nailing the killer.Yet despite teaming up with her counterpart in Holland, rather than solving the mystery she soon has another murder on her hands.Gawn must see through the smoky haze of the Dutch capital to pinpoint exactly who is playing a deadly game.MURDER SKY HIGH is the second book by Linda Hagan, featuring headstrong sleuth Gawn Girvin. It can be enjoyed entirely on its own, or alongside the first, THE PERFUME KILLER.
    Show book
  • Dangerous Testimony - cover

    Dangerous Testimony

    Dana Mentink

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    She’s the last witness standing. And her faith in the face of danger propels this romantic thriller from the USA Today–bestselling author. 
     
    Four weeks before she’s set to testify at a gang murder trial, someone is determined to make sure that Candace Gallagher Andrews never takes the stand. When nowhere is safe for the private investigator or her little girl, Candace turns to the only person she can trust—longtime friend and former navy SEAL Marco Quidel. For Marco, protecting Candace is not just another duty. As the trial date nears and the killer stalks ever closer, Marco knows fear for the first time—the fear of losing Candace and her daughter. But while Marco begins seeing Candace as more than just a friend, her late husband’s memory is never far from her mind. So he must keep Candace alive—and not get emotionally involved—long enough to put away a killer. 
     
    Pacific Coast Private Eyes: Sisters fighting crime 
     
    “So many twists and turns! . . . well written suspense and romance. Plan for a sleepless night!” —Harlequin Junkie
    Show book
  • Murder Faux Paws - cover

    Murder Faux Paws

    T.C. LoTempio

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Dead men tell no tales, but in the riveting new Nick and Nora Mystery, they sure leave a lot of clues . . .When a local PI's untimely death is ruled a suicide by the police, budding sleuth Nora Charles has no intention of letting sleeping dogs lie—or sleeping cats, for that matter. Certain it was a case of foul play, Nora rouses her trusty sidekick Nick and launches an investigation of her own. Then a second PI is murdered, and Nora knows the two men were on to something—and that she's on to something too.Following the enigmatic clues left by her late predecessors, Nora soon uncovers a plot that involves a local politician, missing campaign funds, and what could be a bogus real estate deal. But when hints of treason surface, what started as small-time thievery soon balloons into a matter of national security. With the uncanny Nick sniffing out—and spelling out—leads, Nora follows a trail that will take her to the heart of a shadowy conspiracy, and into a trap set by a conniving culprit that will have her wishing she had Nick's nine lives . . .
    Show book
  • Steeplechase - cover

    Steeplechase

    James Patterson, Scott Slaven

    • 0
    • 1
    • 0
    Somewhere in time...a killer waits.Malfunctioning rides caused multiple deaths at Steeplechase Park in 1907...and in 2017. Katie Silver is sure she was working there--in both centuries. Could she hold the key to the darkest of secrets? Two worlds collide to reveal the astonishing truth.BookShotsLIGHTNING-FAST STORIES BY JAMES PATTERSONNovels you can devour in a few hoursImpossible to stop readingAll original content from James Patterson
    Show book
  • Sixteen Carved Pieces - cover

    Sixteen Carved Pieces

    Michelle Kidd

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    An absolutely gripping crime thriller with a massive twistBillie-Rose's bloodstained body is found in the kitchen of her ground-floor flat. She's been strangled to death, there's a deep laceration to her upper thigh, and a wooden chess-piece grasped tightly in her hand.Daubed on the wall in Billie-Rose's own blood is a strange symbol: a bishop's mitre. All Detective Jack MacIntosh can think is: He's back.Four years earlier, four young women were also strangled to death in their own homes, the same deep wound to the thigh, the same weird symbol scrawled on the wall.The work of the killer they call the Bishop. Is he back to kill again?Jack and his team are in a race against time to pull the pieces together and uncover the truth before more young women die.Perfect for fans of Helen H. Durrant, Biba Pearce, Lynda La Plante, Angela Marsons, and Rachel McLean.
    Show book
  • A Ghostly Shadow - cover

    A Ghostly Shadow

    H L Marsay

    • 0
    • 0
    • 0
    Sometimes the past comes back to haunt you . . .This Halloween, the notorious rivalry between York's iconic ghost walk tour guides spirals out of control when the body of one guide dressed as the infamous highwayman Dick Turpin is found hanging from a tree. A few days later, his partner, who plays Guy Fawkes, is killed by an explosion of gunpowder at their office.Detective Chief Inspector John Shadow is a man of contradictions. A solitary figure who notices the smallest details about other people, but endeavors to avoid their company. A lover of good food, but whose fridge is almost always empty. Although he would prefer to work alone, he is assisted by his eager and easygoing partner Sergeant Jimmy Chang. Despite a sprained ankle, a stray cat, and an impromptu trip to Oxford, the two men investigate the shocking murders that have York on edge. Are the murders the work of a madman or a business feud?And then the killer strikes again.
    Show book